James L. Sarandis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 12
9.2Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Bane: Conquest #11

Jun 19, 2018

Bane is in classic form in this book both smart and strong and the art is kind of retro which is fun. I definately want to learn more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Elvira: Mistress of the Dark #1

Jul 10, 2018

Do you like Elvira? Do you like the campy humor, the harmless titillation, and the 4th wall breaking? I do and that's why I love this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns Annual #1

Jun 19, 2018

The art is fantastic, and the story reminds me of a great episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation. I also really liked how nuanced the personalities of Jessica and Simon were. I have never really read much on them and now I really like them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #1

Jul 10, 2018

I said this before an I will say it again the art is terrific ( this has been a great week for art) In particular there is some very lovely paneling, but the story seems to be giving me too much info on the things I don't want to know and too much on the parts I do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2018) #1

Jun 27, 2018

All in all it's a solid start that I am really interested to see where it goes. A bit anticlimactic should be better in the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers Annual #2018

Jun 19, 2018

This annual has a whole check of a lot going on. Multiple teams spread across time and space all of which have their own story of fighting Lord Dakkon. It has big action, big twists and lovely art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Dragon #234

Jun 19, 2018

This is an ongoing series in which every issue builds upon the next. It's a great issue and I recommend it but only after playing catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shanghai Red #1

Jul 10, 2018

If you don't like buckets of blood give it a pass, but for everyone else 10/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unexpected (2018) #1

Jun 27, 2018

This book is full of crazy fun and big action and has me hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unexpected (2018) #2

Jul 10, 2018

One highlight is the introduction of two new classic characters to replace the casualties from issue 1. I think the next will be better than this one, but and I'm still pretty excited to get there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unnatural #1

Jun 27, 2018

The art sells this book as it's not only cheesecakey fun but wonderfully expressive, but the story while simple is very energetic. A strong recommend for adult readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #2

Jun 27, 2018

The story for this annual is solid, but it's the art that really steals the show.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More