Jason Falter's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Techaeris Reviews: 46
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #1

Jul 12, 2018

Get in on the ground floor to what promises to be a fun ride through the Spiderverse!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #3

Aug 8, 2018

This is Spider-Man coming back home in the pages of his own comic book. The renewed romance between Peter and MJ, the fun nature of the story, and the brilliance of the art" This is what a Spider-Man book should be. It also proves that you can tell a good story without going ultra dark and depressing with everything. So yeah" check this book out!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #4

Sep 13, 2018

I can't think of a single reason why you shouldn't be picking up this book right now. It's fresh, it's vibrant, and most of all, it's fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #4

Aug 24, 2018

I can't think of a single reason why you shouldn't be picking up this book right now. It's fresh, it's vibrant, and most of all, it's fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ask For Mercy #2

Jul 7, 2018

Read this book. It's just kicking off, and so far, with just two issues out, I want more. The story has that occult-horror feel to it while the images create the mood. Together they both pull you in. It's a gem of a book that I'm happy to have stumbled across. comiXology better keep this one coming!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Bloodshot: Rising Spirit #1

Nov 14, 2018

This series seems to be nothing more than a marketing ploy and lead up for the movie. However, it is being released way too early for a movie that is coming out in 2020, especially when Valiant tends to kill series with just twelve issues or less in a run. I'm going to have to pass on this one and recommend anyone who is interested in Bloodshot, to go back and pick up the Jeff Lemire runs. There's really no reason to go back into a prequel after the character has come this far.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.3
Bloodshot: Rising Spirit #2

Dec 16, 2018

Skip this series. Go back and read any of the past series from Jeff Lemire and just spare yourself the boredom here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bloodshot: Salvation #10

Jun 16, 2018

This was a great book and a good story arc to jump in at, even though this run is coming to end. If you don't know, Valiant does running books that have a main story arc, or a few main story arcs, per creative team. The books tend to run a year or two, then come to a conclusion so other characters in the Valiant lineup can also have interesting runs. It makes collecting arcs easier and is really just a better way of storytelling than what the big two do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bloodshot: Salvation #11

Jul 12, 2018

If you've stuck to this story up until now, then you might as well finish it off. We've seen the artless black issue with word balloons (what may be the worst issue of any comic book I've ever read), a full issue given to the origin of Rampage that felt like filler, and a mid-point redneck family drama event that just felt so out of place" But we're still here and it's looking good right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Bloodshot: Salvation #12

Aug 9, 2018

So was this series worth it? I enjoyed it for the most part. There were about 3 or 4 issues that could have been done better but it was a good read. I'm not sure I'll be buying the next series on a monthly basis since it is basically a prequel (getting people ready for the Vin Diesel Bloodshot movie that just started filming this week most likely). Bloodshot is a really interesting character and I can think of several interesting directions for him to take from here, we'll just have to wait and see what Valiant writers will have in store for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith: Dreamside #1

Sep 24, 2018

This looks like it will be a fun 4 issue mini-series that just hits all the right marks that a Faith book should hit. I'm looking forward to number 2!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Faith: Dreamside #3

Nov 26, 2018

I've been critical of Valiant of late but Faith Dreamside is worth the price to get in on this 4 issues ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
God Complex (2017) #6

Jun 21, 2018

God Complexis why Image Comics is so great for creators and artists out there. You can come up with these new worlds or creative takes on worlds we've speculated about and just explode in all the creativity that major publishers would probably ignore. The only real downside ofGod Complex is that the creative team seems to push deadlines. I can give them a pass on that though because the creative work they are putting out is in a word: amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Harbinger Wars 2 #2

Jun 28, 2018

I hope that the next issue really kicks things off but right now, I'm tempering my anticipation. It's still worth buying to see where it goes but at this point, it has a long way to go to live up to the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Harbinger Wars 2 #3

Jul 25, 2018

The next issue concludes Harbinger Wars 2 and I hope it comes and goes quickly. There really is no saving this "event." I'm not sure how you open an ongoing Livewire book now that she and Bloodshot literally just murdered people left and right.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Harbinger Wars 2 #4

Aug 25, 2018

I really wanted to like this event but in the end, it just felt flat the whole way through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Harbinger Wars 2: Aftermath #1

Sep 23, 2018

The art by Adam Pollina, colors by Diego Rodriguez, and letters from Dave Sharpe all complete and perfectly illustrate this wonderfully written wrap up to the Harbinger Wars 2 event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Infinity Wars (2018) #1

Aug 4, 2018

Is this event worth the entry fee? That's going to be an individual answer based on your collecting. For those who want to get into comics and enjoyed the movies then I'd say, go for it. The story and the art is looking like they will make a great event, and with luck, people buying in will find characters they gravitate to and then hopefully they will start collecting the ongoing series that those characters are in. For the current collectors that already have a maxed out pull list to money ratio, I'd say that it isn't a necessity if you have a Marvel Unlimited subscription to read it later and certainly not worth dropping books you are already enjoying to follow along.eval(ez_write_tag([[580,400],'techaeris_com-medrectangle-4','ezslot_1']));

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Livewire (2018) #1

Nov 17, 2018

With Ninja-K, Quantum & Woody, and Shadowman soon to come to an end, Livewire will be joining X-O Manowar as the only real tent pole characters to show off the Valiant Universe for a bit of time. For Valiant fans, this book may need to be a tent pole property, but the jury is still out on whether it can be.Livewire#1 will be releasing in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Medieval Spawn / Witchblade (2018) #3

Jul 4, 2018

This is a good mini-series so far and if you are a fan of either Spawn or Witchblade then this is for you. I'd say just go ahead and pick up issue one and two if you are picking up this issue, just so you have the whole story up until now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ninja-K (2017) #8

Jun 21, 2018

NinjaK is my favorite Valiant character, in fact, this is my favorite current comic book character, so if the book starts going in the wrong direction, I will make noise. Thankfully, this book is awesome right now and it shows no signs of letting up. I'd highly encourage anyone and everyone to pick it up and check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ninja-K (2017) #9

Jul 20, 2018

This is a book that everyone should be buying and reading. Without a doubt, this is the BEST book that Valiant is currently putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ninja-K (2017) #11

Sep 8, 2018

Without a doubt, Ninja-K is the top book in the Valiant line-up right now and it is hitting on all cylinders. From the story, to art, to the equilibrium of all of the elements, this truly is a MUST READ series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Ninja-K (2017) #13

Nov 14, 2018

The writing in this series has been excellent, and until now, the art has been just as great. Maybe this issue's art will only be a blip on the run? We'll find out next month when Ninja-K concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninja-K (2017) #14

Dec 2, 2018

Ninja-K has been, without a doubt, the best Valiant book this last year and I would urge everyone to pick up these 14 issues and enjoy them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody (2017) #7

Jun 28, 2018

Quantum & Woody is such a good book that there really is no bad place to jump on board. Pick it up and you won't be sorry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody (2017) #8

Jul 19, 2018

Quantum & Woody! is a fun book, with fun stories, that take your mind off of real life and pull you into this wonderful dynamic that these two brothers exist in. It's just a completely enjoyable book to read and laugh out loud with, and you will most likely laugh out loud with the jokes within.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Quantum and Woody (2017) #11

Oct 18, 2018

Quantum & Woody! may be coming to an end soon but there is no reason at all that you shouldn't go back and check out their past adventures. It's seriously a great book!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody (2017) #12

Nov 19, 2018

I wholeheartedly recommend this series, and it is only 12 issues, so why not go back, pick them up and have a good time? There will be a hole in the Valiant lineup for humor now, so enjoy those Q&W back issues!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #53

Jun 28, 2018

The thing about Saga is that at the end of each book, I truly want more. If you start at the beginning, these characters feel like family. When something bad happens to them, you feel it. When they celebrate the good times, it brings a smile to your face. It's really the only comic book that I've ever read that feels like it is pretty much perfect with every issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Savage Game #1

Jul 7, 2018

This isn't my type of comic book in which to find entertainment. It may be something that someone else really loves, but for me, the story has been told before, and I don't think humans pitting animals against each other is something I'd call entertaining, even in a comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Scooby Apocalypse #26

Jun 17, 2018

Do you like the apocalypse? Do you like Scooby and the gang? Have you ever wanted a more adult take on Scooby-Doo? If so then this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Shadowman (2018) #4

Jun 21, 2018

I just hope the next issue gets back to good storytelling. This is in my subscription list and I would hate to have to drop it just because politics has infected something else. This issue is set up as being a good jumping on point but I'd recommend getting 1 " 3 first, then reading this one. This one is not the book to judge this series on. When Shadowman sticks to the voodoo, the arcane, and the horror feel, it really embraces everything that it should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Shadowman (2018) #5

Jul 18, 2018

Reading and collecting comic books, for me, is about the enjoyment and the journey you get from entering into another world. A bit of politics is fine, a lot, not so much. Sadly, this book is coming off of my subscription list. I just feel like this is the wrong direction for the character and I'm quite okay with Valiant fans being on the other side of me on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Shadowman (2018) #9

Nov 19, 2018

I believe there are only two more issues left in this series and I'm really okay with this one ending. I still don't think Shadowman has had a really good series yet, at least not one that does the character justice. So maybe, down the line, some other writer can take a crack at him and hopefully get it right.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spawn #287

Jul 4, 2018

It's a solid long running book (when it hits #300 it will be the longest running independent comic book ever), that even when it becomes shaky, still has far more positive reasons to keep following than negatives.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spidey: School's Out #2

Jun 25, 2018

The dialogue and story from John Barber are snappy and has a very easy going flow to it. The new take on the characters is fresh, and you don't have to worry about decades upon decades of history here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spidey: School's Out #3

Jul 5, 2018

I'll recommend this because it's a fun book that looks great, it updates Spidey in ways that are modern, yet holds to the personality of the Peter we all love and know. Those who watch the Marvel's Spider-man cartoon will easily enjoy this version too. So why not check it out and enjoy the issues between the wait for the next episode of the cartoon? It's a good read for all ages to enjoy. So check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Weatherman #1

Jun 18, 2018

The first thing that pulls you in is the art. It's Americana comic book art at its roots but it does run right up and flirt with a very cool manga style.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Venom (2018) #5

Aug 23, 2018

As far as the various Venom series go, I have to say that this is my favorite Venom book so far. I really like the dark horror vibe that is going on and I hope that continues into future arcs too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Web Of Venom: Carnage Born #1

Nov 26, 2018

I definitely want to see where Carnage goes from here and hopefully the Venom series will deal with this new resurrection and threat that has been loosed on the world. Let the carnage begin!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
X-O Manowar (2017) #16

Jun 28, 2018

This isn't a good jumping on point. The art by Trevor Hairsine and inks by Brian Thies looks great but the story is just not happening right now. Hopefully, this arc will end soon and something more interesting will take place in the next arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #17

Jul 26, 2018

This series of X-O Manowar has had its ups and downs but at this point, I think I'm going to remove it from my subscription list. Maybe I'll pick these issues up during a comiXology sale or something, but I'm tired of paying $3.99 per issue when nothing is happening. The value is just not there right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
X-O Manowar (2017) #19

Sep 23, 2018

I think that this is a good beginning to this new arc and after that long flashback arc, it is good to be excited once again for where the story is taking Aric. By the look of the way that the alien weapons can disrupt the X-O Manowar armor, it looks like we may be in for some serious battles here!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
X-O Manowar (2017) #21

Nov 27, 2018

This is still a good book, I just think it needs a new writer and a new direction so we can really see Aric being X-O Manowar.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #22

Dec 16, 2018

Maybe the next arc will be better. I seem to be saying that a lot with this book and as I said above, I'm starting to lose my patience. Right now, I can't really recommend this book until there is some sort of course correction to make it worthwhile.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More