Jennifer Bosier's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Daily Crate Reviews: 25
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8.2
American Vampire: Second Cycle #1

Mar 22, 2014

This issue may feel largely like a reminder of previous events, but the series is so well done and such a welcome return to the comic landscape. Seeing Pearl and Skinner back in action is a treat, and we're bound to be in for one helluva ride this year. Blood and candy, anyone?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
American Vampire: Second Cycle #2

Apr 19, 2014

American Vampire continues to build upon the vampire mythology Scott Snyder has crafted for himself. It was what first drew fans to the series, with a rebirth of a tired genre, and it continues to intrigue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #29

Mar 13, 2014

After a few cross-over issues, it's nice to see Batgirl back in the fold. Yes, the supernatural elements make me a little wary, but Simone's writing is so spot on and sharp, it makes it easy to overlook. Plus, seeing Strix and Batgirl play off one another is a treat to me — in fact, I hope we see more of the silent Talon in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain Marvel (2014) #2

Apr 15, 2014

I was thrilled to hear Kelly Sue DeConnick's Captain Marvel was returning and so far it does not disappoint. Everything about her is just fun, and teaming up with the Guardians of the Galaxy has strong potential for high-energy hijinks. So long as Rocket and Chewie make peace, that is. But fat chance of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Death Of Wolverine #3

Oct 7, 2014

There are just a handful of issues left, and while I'm sure Dr. Cornelius has some foul plot afoot that will stretch beyond the confines of Death of Wolverine, I can't help but feel like I'm reading an amalgam of fanfictions crammed into a death arc.*Not really. But maybe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Fatale #20

Mar 4, 2014

Perhaps most disturbing however, is a revelation provided in the final pages. We know Jo's done some bad things and wrecked some lives, but this issue hints that we really have no idea. I'm not sure how many issues are left in Jo's story, but I'm more than a little anxious to see where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Fatale #21

Mar 28, 2014

Ed Brubaker's Fatale is one of my favorite series and this issue makes my heart hurt that it's clearly ramping up to a finale. The story is so well told, and so much is left to the reader's inference, it creates the most wonderful sense of foreboding. Nothing good is coming for Nicholas in the coming issues, and it's entirely possible that Jo's future isn't so shiny either.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Injustice: Year Two #5

Mar 12, 2014

With Sinestro literally whispering into Superman's ear, it's obvious we're in store for a Green Lantern conflict on a massive scale. The real question is on whose side Hal Jordan will find himself. Nothing good is in store for the Earth-born Lantern, but the question is how will this affect the rest of the galaxy?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Injustice: Year Two #6

Mar 26, 2014

I'm torn on Injustice: Year Two #6. If you've been keeping up with the series, this snail's pace will feel familiar and possibly “okay.” There are obvious, crucial pieces of information in here for future issues but it's hard to keep the spark alive for this series. I've ended the last two issues with an eyeroll, and that doesn't bode well for my interest. Surely I can't be the only one bored with this?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Injustice: Year Two #8

Apr 24, 2014

The most frustrating thing is that, to its credit, the issue is the first of several to progress the story. But that's also the problem. The pacing in the series has been off since Injustice: Year Two #1, and this doesn't do much to fix it. The next several issues need to progress the upcoming war and keep up a steady pace to redeem this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Injustice: Year Two #17

Aug 3, 2014

You may recall that every single event that has occurred in this series is within the deceased Joker's grand plan. He set out to break Superman (for the lulz), and broken he is. He has blinded himself to his actions, to the actions of his new-found friends and most importantly, his former friends. The pacing of this issue is disappointing, but Taylor takes a moment to reveal much in his interactions –something which has been sorely missing from this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ms. Marvel (2014) #3

Apr 19, 2014

Yet again, I find myself wishing something as complex and relatable had existed when I was a younger comic reader. Kamala Khan remains such a distinct and human voice, she is one of the most distinct female heroes. Watching her journey from awkward, ordinary girl into hero is sure to be a good ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Ms. Marvel (2014) #4

May 28, 2014

I've been rather evangelical about this new Ms Marvel series, and I will continue to be so. Each issue continues Kamala Khan's journey to hero with subtlety and charm. There is something irresistible about her humanity and now that she is starting to find her way, I feel confident her adventures will continue to intrigue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Pretty Deadly #5

Apr 4, 2014

Despite Ginny's presence throughout the story, this arc, and especially this issue, is the story of Sissy and Death. Watching Sissy mature and step into the dark side of the world has been such a grave yet edifying experience. The ending promises more to come and I am anxious to see what this year brings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Red Sonja (2013) #7

Mar 5, 2014

The issue's story is, as you can image, not particularly deep, but it's just the type of breezy affair needed after the heavy tone on which the previous 6-issues ended. If you haven't picked up the series yet, this issue is probably the thesis statement for why should you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Red Sonja (2013) #8

Apr 8, 2014

While Red Sonja #8 isn't ground breaking, it's a fun ride and Simone's sense of humor bolsters some of the rougher spots. It's not as good as the first issue, but it ends on a promising note and a victorious Sonja is always a good romp. Which may be all this series really needs — let the other heroes take themselves too seriously.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja (2013) #9

May 9, 2014

Red Sonja remains my favorite dose of frivolity each month. The stories aren't groundbreaking but Gail Simone has created in Red Sonja a delightfully humorous, rough character. This issue shows that she has a surprisingly keen realization and awareness of herself and that she's afraid to cast a critical eye inward. Though yet again the randy warrior remains unsatisfied in her current, um, “personal” life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Red Sonja and Cub One Shot #1

Apr 3, 2014

I adore Red Sonja in most of her iterations, but it's always a treat when she is given the chance to be more than just a fierce warrior. This is one of the most humanizing issues I can recall and her character is richer for her. Red Sonja and Cub is the type of story that I would be happy to extend beyond just a stand-alone story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Rocket Raccoon #1

Aug 2, 2014

As far as set-up issues go, Rocket Raccoon set out with its best foot (paw?) forward. The story is breezy and fun and sets up two intriguing plot threads to follow. What could have come across as a cheap cash-in (what with GoTG enjoying new found fame) looks to set up a fun series, so long as the humor and pacing keeps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #19

May 23, 2014

Saga‘s triumphant return brings with it some melancholy. Throughout the charm and happiness of our characters, there remains a dark shadow closing around them. Hazel's final words leave us on an uncertain note, made worse by the knowledge that her narration has been, up until now, utterly infallible.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Talon #17

Mar 30, 2014

DC has a penchant for cancelling series in their prime or when fans are most intrigued by them. Talon is not one of those series. It's hard to not feel like this series should never have been and will, most likely, be forgotten by time. On one hand, it's a shame because of how well it started but in the end, this is a series I'll be happy to forget about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The Wake #6

Feb 27, 2014

Scott Snyder has introduced, with The Wake, a series which fills a void in the current comic landscape. With a lofty story, and the lurking threat of monsters mixed with political machinations, it strokes the cerebral fancy in a delightful way.*Admittedly, his reference of Elaine Morgan's The Aquatic Ape Theory also helped my infatuation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wake #7

Mar 27, 2014

If you thought last issue ended with a shock, you've not seen anything yet. The ending opens just enough questions while balancing horror with a glimmer of hope. It's rare that series hooks me so completely and utterly and The Wake has surely done so. The next weeks between this issue and next are going to be long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Thor (2014) #1

Oct 2, 2014

However, I am still confident in the writers and the concept to hang in there. Thor #1 didn't alleviate all of my fears, but it did instill in me a cautious optimism which is pretty good. If all goes as well as promised, this is going to be a hero worthy of standing along side fellow Marvel lady badasses Captain Marvel and Ms Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Wytches #1

Oct 8, 2014

The issue ends on uncertain terms, and while we're offered little by way of explanation, it's clear that nothing good comes from the events. As always, Snyder knows just how much to reveal and feed to the reader, making the wait for next issue seemingly unbearable. This is going to be a helluva horror ride.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More