John Tuppen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geeked Out Nation Reviews: 44
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #1.5

Sep 25, 2014

It is a genuine shame that the main Amazing Spider-Man book cannot be of this quality. This book has made me very aware of editorial mandate and the necessity of mass appeal on the main titles. Dan Slott receives a lot of criticism for this with his Amazing Spider-Man books and we need to understand that he is writing a specific thing that has a specific aim and audience. It's a business after all. As fans of these characters we have to realise this, and thankfully from time to time creators are allowed to branch out and give us smaller titles like this that really show what their full range is. Amazing Spider-Man #1.1 through #1.5 has been an example of this and has been a pleasure to read from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #3

Jun 26, 2014

With the conclusion of Superior Spider-Man I felt that Dan Slott had worked himself to the point where he could have proverbially dropped the mic on his Spider-Man run and been proud with what he had achieved. With every new issue so far since Amazing Spider-Man's return I have become only more inclined to agree that would have been the best. While in no way a bad comic, the latest volume of Amazing Spider-Man has been and continues to be fun but non-essential reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #4

Jul 24, 2014

Where all of the Original Sin tie-ins for the most part have been fun, a lot of them feel like they can be carried or dropped after the event is out of the way, few of them really feeling like essential reading. The events started by Dan Slott in Amazing Spider-Man #4 however cannot be painted with that same brush. There's no great drama to be had here, but it's a fun issue with a quick pace, and one that will likely worth something down the line when Silk inevitably becomes a permanent Marvel character in her own right. Whether that's as a hero, a villain, a sidekick, a lover, or a hater, only time will tell. This is a strong debut though and I look forward to getting to know her in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #5

Aug 14, 2014

As events escalate towards Spider-Verse there is genuine excitement for the future. For now, Amazing Spider-Man continues to offer much of the same with each issue. As a reviewer it can become difficult to find new things to say about a book from one issue to the next, especially when the art is the same, and the plots have very much the same faults and the same shining moments. This is the case with Amazing Spider-Man's current direction. Its quirky moments and sheer vibrancy carry it while a routine lack of depth stops it from being great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #6

Sep 11, 2014

Amazing Spider-Man #6 incorporates all of these positives and negatives to make it an enjoyable read that was flawed and largely representative of this volume as a whole so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #7

Oct 9, 2014

This is without a doubt the strongest Amazing Spider-Man has been since before Superior started to feel like a worn concept. The breath of fresh air provided by Christos Gage has brought to life something in Amazing Spider-Man that is as compelling as it is fun. It is with a heavy heart then that he is only on board for this single issue. Dan Slott is back writing in Amazing Spider-Man #8 so enjoy this as an Amazing one off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #8

Oct 24, 2014

Given that Amazing Spider-Man #8 is the final prelude before Spider-Verse it could have probably done more to draw in readers and outline the stakes. The main story does end up feeling a little like it is filling space before the big event. For what it is though, each of the stories works as a fun, readable adventure in their own right, with just enough in plot developments in the main story to make the book seem significant.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Avengers (2012) #36

Oct 9, 2014

Avengers remains a book of very high quality. Despite this issue not containing very much forward momentum it still possesses every bit of the grandeur that Jonathan Hickman writes so well. This grandeur is something that is clearly building up to a second event that will perhaps be written by Hickman himself. From the strength of Infinity whatever that event may be was sure to be something worth reading. With the complexity of the narrative Hickman is weaving though I fear that time may have already run out for new readers looking to get in on this ongoing modern masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2012) #38

Nov 19, 2014

Hickman is taking his time to build suspense for what has been and I hope will be again a story of epic proportions. Right now though, after two consecutive issues of positioning and recaps I'm feeling like Avengers is in serious need of some action. Avengers #38 isn't without its charm; with brief moments of action in flashback form a real "oh-snap" moment to finish the issue, Avengers continues to be a book of high quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2012) #39

Dec 13, 2014

Hickman is writing some of his best work on this Avengers run. I've said before and it needs repeating again. This is a book that is a long way into a massive multiple thread story that to enjoy requires a lot of back reading to catch up on. The books having this barrier are a negative for certain, but one that is counteracted by just how great the content being created really is. Long form hard science fiction in comics does not get better than this, and those of us along for the ride are very lucky to be a part of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2012) #40

Jan 17, 2015

Avengers is must read for continuity followers, the fact that it is also some of the best hard science fiction available in comics right now is a bonus and seals its critical appeal.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Avengers (2012) #41

Feb 5, 2015

What is lacking from the flagship superhero titles from Marvel right now though is some good old fashioned heroing. The truth is that Time Runs Out is so deep into the lore Hickman has woven that there simply isn't any room for the story's heroes to battle any tangible evil, and maybe that is finally starting to take its toll for people who have been following the whole series. All in all though, Avengers #41 is another solid read and crucial chapter in the build up to Secret Wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Detective Comics (2011) #32

Jun 11, 2014

Those are but minor complaints and overall Detective Comics #32 is the second issue in a row where Manapul and Buccellato have completely delivered in all areas. Together they are weaving acompelling story here that may just have the potential to join the pantheon of Batman classics when Icarus sees its eventual trade release. It's a must buy " and that's before Batman gets into a one on one fight with a Giant Squid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2011) #33

Jul 11, 2014

A problem that persisted back during Brian Buccellato and Francis Manapul's Flash run was their ability to finish off their stories as well as they started. After a cautious take off, the flight of Detective Comics under Brian Buccellato and Francis Manapul has been a joyride. Now all that's left is for them to stick the landing. Fingers crossed that Icarus is the real deal. Meanwhile, Detective Comics #33 was another great Batman jaunt and one I can heartily recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Detective Comics (2011) #34

Aug 6, 2014

I never want to write reviews for books when I've been disappointed by them, even less so when it's by creators that I absolutely adore. Detective Comics #34 misses so many opportunities and leaves so much of the nuance at the door. It gives us the reveals and developments that pull the plot to a close, but stops at that providing nothing extra. Nothing to chew on. Nothing really to care about or get emotionally invested in. This was the final hurdle that could have seen Icarus become one of those must own Batman collected editions that there are so many of already. As it is though, in the end, it was just okay, and okay is okay, but it isn't great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Detective Comics (2011) #36

Nov 7, 2014

This two issue break in Brian Buccellato and Francis Manapul's run hasn't been wasted. Detective Comics #36 ends Terminal with a satisfying if somewhat light on the action conclusion. By all rights this is story that could have been thrown away and sold on the book's title alone. It's good to say firmly that Ben Percy has turned out a two issue story worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2011) #38

Jan 8, 2015

With every thing in place for it to be their best story yet, here's hoping that Anarky is the one to break the habit. As a singular iinstallment Detective Comics #38 is a near perfect comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Detective Comics (2011) #39

Feb 6, 2015

With one issue left to go I have strong hopes for the Anarky storyline. Anarky Part Four was its best instalment yet. I entirely recommend Detective Comics #39.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Detective Comics (2011) Annual #3

Jul 31, 2014

All said and done, what on paper is a throw away bonus chapter of a larger story becomes worthwhile done in one story of its own right in Detective Comics Annual #3. It's a well realised and carefully planned narrative that knows when to pull its punches and delivers just enough big bags to excite as well as intrigue. It's a rare story that reads well a first time but better the second time when you can see all the characters in their various places. So without anything else to add; I'm off to go and read it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2011) #32

Jun 27, 2014

The Flash #32 is a comic placed firmly in the central point of a larger narrative and as such doesn't lend itself to new readers. If you want to enjoy it for everything it is you will need to go back and read everything from The Flash #30 onwards. That said, by drawing out a future where everything has already gone wrong and slowly pulling us back towards the point where it went wrong we get the unique experience of the past and the future drawing in together to a central moment of conflict. As a single piece of a bigger story The Flash #32 keeps its head high in the race to its finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2011) #33

Jul 24, 2014

I'm in a really tough position now. Flash is my favourite DC character; Barry and Wally both. I get that it's tough to write a cookie cutter good through and through character, I get that there is an allure to being edgy and the appearance of being cool. But looking at how Geoff Johns and John Romita Jr. have transformed Superman and brought that air of humble goodness back to the character; I know it's not impossible. It's a problem far too prolific across the DC brand and seeing it in The Flash leaves me feeling disappointed. The Flash #33 is a great read in its own right but not necessarily one I'd want to find under the title of The Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Flash (2011) #37

Dec 24, 2014

Despite its many quality aspects I am not getting a lot from this run on The Flash. I don't like the take on the character of Barry Allen. It doesn't feel like him as I've known him. Conceptually though, each of the stories this team are choosing to tell are all interesting and worth a read for that reason. If nothing else what The Flash #37 does achieve is a harder edge that book has lacked in the past. I can't help but wonder though if that's because this book has never really required or been about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Guardians 3000 #1

Oct 1, 2014

For a first issue it was fun and certainly finished strong, delivering a lot of action along the way. Welcome home Dan Abnett. You've been missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lumberjanes #11

Feb 18, 2015

Lumberjanes is proving that it has more than the chops needed to take down trees and work in an ongoing format. Keep reading. And if you're not reading it yet, pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Miracleman #7

Jun 5, 2014

With all that content it becomes almost impossible not to recommend Miracleman #7. If you're familiar with the work of Alan Moore then you'll likely know already if this book is for you. Miracleman is amongst the very best of his writing. Honestly, if you've not read/reading Miracleman and you consider yourself a scholar of comic book history then you are doing yourself a disservice. Every issue of the rerelease so far has been excellent and worth the $4.99 price given how much content is in each book. Even better is the promise of stories from Neil Gaiman to come following the conclusion of Moore's run. With how rare original copies of the series remain, this remastered set is the perfect time to experience a truly game changing piece of comic lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Miracleman #10

Sep 4, 2014

Miracleman #10 continues to be a book of absolute supreme quality. While Mike Moran is constantly learning more about his dual life as Miracleman and adapting to life as a father, threats are gathering from all angles and with the news announcement that Marvel will be printing the first new Miracleman stories very soon by a set of legendary writers, now is a great time to be getting familiar with the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ms. Marvel (2014) #9

Oct 18, 2014

G. Willow Wilson never fails to surprise me with just how tapped in she appears to be. With Ms. Marvel every issue has maintained a contemporary fun personality that reads as something completely unique when compared to any other book being published. Just as Kamala Khan's morphogenic powers are continuing to be defined as its issues go on, so is Ms. Marvel's lasting place as an ongoing series. Ms. Marvel is a near flawless reading experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #19

Jun 11, 2014

The biggest problem with this book is how dense the story is. At this point there isn't much room for new readers if you've not been following it from the start and that's despite there recently being a new official jumping on point with Marvel Now Phase Two. If you're in then you are likely already in for the long haul. If you're not reading New Avengers there are so many other Avengers titles that are so much more immediately accessible that I'd struggle to recommend this book over them. The story being told is superb though; it's weird, it's suspenseful, it's serious to a fault, and the stakes are as high as they could possibly be. Hickman is playing a long game here, one that I expected to pay off in Infinity but still continues on. Perhaps the "Time Runs Out" event will be when this story reaches its conclusion. Until then there seems to be no end in sight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
New Avengers (2013) #20

Jun 27, 2014

There's a certain po-faced grandeur that presents itself with all of Hickman's work. It is clockwork opera on a grand scale, and while that makes him an essential writer for some, it leaves his work reading as pretentious to others. All of that is here in New Avengers #20 in its full force and it is kind of glorious. If you're a Hickman believer then this is a must read comic. If you remain unconvinced then this might just be a book that could convince you to get on board. There's still hope for Earth 616 but at what cost.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
New Avengers (2013) #21

Jul 31, 2014

New Avengers comes with some flashy punches and impressive looking fight sequences if that is what you look for in comics. What this book really brings in spades though is a real awareness of the responsibility heroes take on in their role as our great protectors. Hickman fearlessly exaggerates circumstances to bring these themes to their utmost extremes and ends the issue with a bang. New Avengers ends with developments that will likely come back to haunt the characters involved many times over in the future. New Avengers as a whole is not a book trying to appeal to as many people as it can. Its focus is tight on big themes and concise action; all of which is executed brilliantly by a Jonathan Hickman on good form.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #22

Aug 6, 2014

After a long stretch of feeling insignificant, the last few issues of New Avengers have peeked to perhaps the high point of this entire book's Marvel Now run. It is weighty significant drama that is being played for very high stakes. It's hard to see where the end game of this story will be. The Illuminati are fighting a threat with no villain they can punch to save the day. With growing rumours that Marvel might be gearing towards their first ever full brand wide reboot, the level of threat in New Avengers might just make New Avengers the most important comic book for fans that follow the ongoing continuity of the brand.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #23

Aug 20, 2014

It looked like this book was faltering for a while. After Infinity New Avengers took a slip into a period of monotony. For several issues now though New Avengers has been on fire and Jonathan Hickman is writing a comic book with such a consistent air of tension and high stakes that it feels completely essential. Of all the Avengers books being published by Marvel right now, this is the one that is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
New Avengers (2013) #25

Oct 17, 2014

Not only that but prior to the time skip New Avengers had reached a peak of quality that it hadn't seen in a while. The revival of The Cabal was riveting reading, seeing Namor humbled into seeking help to try and stop them was the best character development I've seen him have in years. There was a palpable momentum driving the events of New Avengers and this 8 month time skip, more than anything, has severed that momentum starting us as readers back from a standing position.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
New Avengers (2013) #28

Dec 27, 2014

The end twists have been consistent and heavy hitting. This issue's end is akin to that seen in Avengers #37 with a story developing reveal. It's interesting just in terms of how good Hickman is at pulling off these cliff hangers issue after issue. It has to be said though in a way he is just repeating himself like the book is stalling for time until the big finale we all know is leading into Secret Wars. I have no idea what the implications for this most recent issue will be but it is sure to be exciting finding out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
New Avengers (2013) #29

Jan 28, 2015

For people only vaguely following the events leading up to Secret Wars you could get away with only reading the last four pages of “New Avengers” #29. In the end that fact alone makes this issue a bit of a dud.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Original Sin #3

Jun 4, 2014

The ending has to be seen to be believed. It's shocking. It's grotesque. It's epic. And it's also what many suspected this event might have been conceived to deal with. Again, I'll refrain from details saying only that I feel it draws the actual purpose of the book into question. What we get at its conclusion is an impactful cliff-hanger that feels completely mandatory despite being the type of thing that at one time would have been cause for a major reaction. I imagine there will be more than a few people Furyous over this ending to say the least. While not a perfect outing, Original Sin #3 is an entertaining read that provides a considerable amount of content. Where it fails in places it manages to recover by maintaining the promise of more cliff-hangers still to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Original Sin #4

Jun 18, 2014

We have officially reached the half way point of Original Sin and Jason Aaron seems to have mastered the art of providing dramatic reveals whilst at the same time only creating questions rather than providing any answers. On top of all of this he is managing to tell a major Marvel event of the first order and doing it with a majority focus on characters usually relegated to B level roles. It's a unique creation because of all of these things and one I think represents an evolution for Marvel's regular big "events". I continue to look forward to where this book is going; right now, wherever that is, I have no idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Original Sin #5

Jul 4, 2014

From issue #1 people have speculated that Original Sin's true purpose was not in fact about the death of Uatu so much as it was an elaborate way to resolve some of Marvel's unresolved continuity problems. The events so far and most recent cliff-hanger seem to confirm this and provides a reason to return to the story for issue #6, at the same time though the heavy-handedness of Jason Aaron's tale is starting to take its toll. Original Sin #5 is probably the worst of the five issues out in the event so far but is still worth checking in for if you've been keeping up with it. When everything is concluded I have a feeling that Original Sin #5 will be able to be skipped from the eight issue run and not really make a difference. It makes it a hard book to recommend on its own despite its perfectly acceptable level of quality; a throw away stop gap in a series of endless mysteries.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Original Sin #6

Jul 17, 2014

The dramatic effect the scene is aiming for just fell flat for me when the issue was all said and done. It's hard to be enthusiastic about a story when it's so obviously biding its time. Yet again we're left with the promise of the next issue yielding answers and yet again it's after an issue that was supposed to fulfil that same promise. Original Sin #6 was an enjoyable enough comic book that set things up to be better in #7 in two weeks, but that's exactly what I said at the end of #5 so I guess we'll have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Original Sin #7

Aug 13, 2014

After how deep and operatic Infinity turned out to be I was so excited by the concept of Original Sin. To find it has become hindered by being too prolonged and near crippled by an almost insulting over use of cliff-hanger tactics is nothing but disappointing. There's still one issue left for the story to redeem itself and close doing justice to what seemed like such a sure thing back at the start. For now Original Sin #7 does deliver some bangs for our buck, but any revelations about the how and the why of this story it seems are being saved for its finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Original Sin #8

Sep 3, 2014

What was good about Original Sin was never given enough time to be great. What was bad about Original Sin was mostly in its structure and never got to the point where anything was as bad as awful. Mostly it was alright. Where alright is okay, I'm not sure if okay is good enough for what's supposed to be the big tent pole attractions that not only hold the shared Marvel universe together but often act like a gateway for new readers. If judged by those criteria, Original Sin failed to deliver. But yeah, overall, it was alright.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Original Sins #1

Jun 11, 2014

The final story 'Buried Memory' featuring Lockjaw finishes off Original Sins #1 and is an epic that features cameos from no less than Captain America, Luke Cage, Ms. Marvel, Emma Frost, Black Panther, Johnny Storm, Spider-Man, the Vulture, and Iron Man. It traverses from Earth, to underground, and to the moon. Truly it is a modern epic that will live on for decades to come. I jest; while all the locations and cameos are indeed there, it is really a bit of comic relief to round out the book. It is as inoffensive as it is charming and not a bad way to cap things off but in the end, like the rest of the content in Original Sins #1, it doesn't exactly feel like essential reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars #20

Aug 13, 2014

At times it really did capture the feeling that it was part of the original trilogy and that alone I think is a feat worthy enough of it earning its place amongst the years of soon to be axed extended canon. It is always hard to say good bye to something you love; a fiction that I love written by a writer I'm very fond of makes this now a part of that. But who knows; as Brian Wood is a regular writer for Marvel Comics, we may yet see him with a new Star Wars book of his own after the impending publishing rights switch takes place. That at least is the tiniest of consolations for what to a lot of people will be a difficult farewell.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Wildfire #1

Jun 11, 2014

For now I would say Wildfire is worth a look. My desire coming 100% from the strength of the premise rather than anything the book has done with its characters, yet. There are plenty of growing pains; most of them I suspect will fall away once the plot shifts into its post-apocalyptic phase. Then I think we will see exactly what Wildfire really has to spread.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More