Josh Dean's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Bin Reviews: 16
6.3Avg. Review Rating

9
Batman and Robin #9

Feb 27, 2010

There is an old adage in playwriting that goes something like this, If there is a shotgun hanging over the mantle in act one, it should be used to shoot someone by act three. Comic books, as long-form storytelling, can hang that shotgun in a tossed off comment four years earlier in another title. While Morrisons Blackest Knight storyline has gotten lots of buzz for revealing the true nature of the Bat-corpse Superman finds at the end of Final Crisis, few are pointing out the Crime Bible prophecy that has been hanging over the figurative mantle since 52.This is the divisive nature of Grant Morrisons writing in a nutshell: do you, as a reader, have the patience to follow Morrison across multiple titles to get the payoff to an idea that was seemingly tossed off years earlier? If the answer is no, you probably havent been reading Batman and Robin. But if you have been here for the long haul, this issue pays off in a variety of entertaining ways. The centerpiece is the insane Batman

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman, Inc. #7

Jul 1, 2011

If you are into the Leviathan storyline, by all means check this issue out. If you are a fan of Man of Bats, this is a great showcase issue for that character. Essentially, Batman is a guest star and doesnt get too many spotlight moments but that serves the story well. If you are easily offended by graphic violence, maybe give this a miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Daredevil (1998) #506

Apr 15, 2010

Unfortunately, the scripting is not handled quite so well. This issue is a rare stumble in an otherwise highly enjoyable run. If this is the first issue you pick up of Daredevil, try not to judge the whole series by it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flashpoint #3

Jul 9, 2011

We areofficially over the halfway mark of Flashpoint and we still seem to be gettingthe band together. This summers big DC crossover of alternate timeline comicsactually feels like a small story at this point despite all the titles involved.For those under a rock, the idea of this series is that the Reverse Flash hassomehow altered all the origins of the superheroes enough to change the mainDCU timeline. Only Kid Flash, Booster Gold and Barry Allen remember the waythings are supposed to be. Barry Allen is the star of this main mini-series ashe tries to gather up the heroes that can help him return things to normal. Oddly, thisall feels a bit like wheel spinning. At the end of last issue, Barry was nearlykilled after the alterna-Batman strapped him into an electric chair in anattempt to replicate the accident that gave him his powers as the Flash. Barrygives it another go and, this time it works, for some reason. Flash and Batmanthen recruit Cyborg and go to find this timelines version

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flashpoint: Legion of Doom #2

Jul 23, 2011

Since the only announced members of the new Squad are Deadshot, King Shark and Harley Quinn, I imagine Glass will give them lots of cool butt-kicking moments. I imagine the new series will be exciting and well plotted. I just hope he can deliver the heart and the brains that Ostrander provided that elevated the entire concept of the Suicide Squad. As a standalone bit of Flashpoint, this is pretty much pure, violent fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Flashpoint: Project Superman #1

Jul 2, 2011

Almost more than any of the other #1 issues I have read in relation to Flashpoint, this one is all set up. It is difficult to gauge the effectiveness of the story until it is complete. As a standalone issue, there is enough going on to keep a reader engaged but not enough to make it a must buy. I am on board for the rest of this mini so it did the job of hooking my interest. For fans of the Man of Steel, there really isnt much classic Superman in it. For fans of the exploration of the exploitation of super powers by the military industrial complex, this should entertain you insofar as it sets the scene for this scenario in the DC Universe in a unique way. I remain cautiously optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gotham City Sirens #10

Apr 3, 2010

If you have been missing the old school feel of comics, you could do worse than pick up Gotham City Sirens. This isnt a deep work of literature with symbolism and thematic resonance but it surely entertains. If this series falls through, a Dini-penned Riddler ongoing would be just as great a read. If you liked Dinis run on Detective Comics, pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Green Lantern Movie Prequel: Hal Jordan #1

Jul 7, 2011

I cant really recommend this for anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors #11

Jul 1, 2011

If you are bugged by stories that dont seem to adhere to current continuity or that exist in their own bubble without affecting the ongoing plot, you can skip this one. If you are like me, and like a good one-off or you want to know who Guy Gardner is, pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Justice League of America (2006) #43

Apr 3, 2010

Justice League of America resembles only Countdown to Final Crisis and nothing else. Say what you will about Cry for Justice but it told an uninterrupted narrative concerning a fairly set number of characters with a clear beginning, middle and end. The League is still lost in the desert and needs to be given some space to develop on its own terms.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Secret Six Vol. 2 #19

Mar 11, 2010

This story line has the potential to shock and surprise the readers or go exactly where it probably will go but, either way, it is worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Secret Six Vol. 2 #35

Jul 10, 2011

If you have been following the series, dont stop now. If you havent it is probably a little late to jump on board but I would highly recommend going back and collecting the entire run. This advice is especially true if you loved Ostranders Suicide Squad or Ruckas Checkmate.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Boys #56

Jul 9, 2011

All in all, way too late to jump on board but, if you are a longtime fan put off by that last arc you may be pleased to know that Ennis is back to the old format. It just may be a little too old.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2006) #141

Feb 24, 2010

Overall, this is a fun issue filled with action and some nice character work that is only bogged down by the editorial demands of working inside a crossover. Pick it up and stick around after Siege to enjoy one of Marvels best under-the-radar titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Thunderbolts (2006) #160

Jul 7, 2011

I am still on board because I know Jeff Parker is aiming us towards high thrills (his last arc before the Heroic Age and the Hyperion storyline demonstrate how flat out fun he can write this title). I will just be super happy when this latest crossover is done so he can get back to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Factor (2005) #222

Jul 23, 2011

If you like adventures set in the Marvel Universe that take full advantage of said universe, you could do much worse than checking out this title. I even think this whole storyline may be a stealthy Fear Itself tie-in although it is never explicitly stated.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More