Josh Heffington's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: FanboyNation Reviews: 9
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #1

Apr 29, 2016

4 Kids Walk Into A Bank is one of the funnest books in a long time Its a book that I have honestly read at least four times now. I'm still amazed how long it takes each time, and finding stuff that I didn't see the previous time. There is so much to process each time you read between the story, backgrounds, and the art and knowing you'll get your monies worth with this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Aliens: Defiance #1

Mar 29, 2016

Feeling too familiar, and not bringing anything new to the table until the last few pages hurts Aliens: Defiance #1. This series has a lot of promise, and the premise has some awesome potential, but this issue just didn't do it for me. There's just nothing we haven't seen countless times before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Conan: The Slayer #1

Jul 13, 2016

Conan The Slayer #1 lived up to his name. He is Conan, The Destroyer, The Barbarian, and now he is the also The Slayer. I lost count of how many bodies he killed in this single issue alone, but it was a good number. With an interesting last page of severed heads left on stakes in the desert, I'm ready for the next issue to find out more of this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harrow County #11

Apr 14, 2016

Harrow County is a book that is starting to grow on me. Even the bonus short story at the back of the book, exclusive to the single issues, are neat to check out. Cullen Bunn introduces us to an interesting new character and Tyler Crook's art is getting more awesome and scary. I look forward to the next issue and see where this adventure of the characters out in the woods takes us

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mae #1

May 10, 2016

Mae#1 turned out to be an awesome read. I highly recommend it. This could very well be today's comic book form of The Wizard of Oz. It's a good break from the usual action packed superhero books, and a fun trip on a fantasy adventure. I look forward to the next issue and see where this adventure of two sisters reunited takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #1

Aug 16, 2016

Predator Vs. Judge Dredd Vs. Aliens #1 is a book that is a great read for anyone that is a fan of either of the franchises, or a sucker of crossovers like myself. There isn't any action seen by the Aliens yet. The Aliens will have their introduction via mad scientist Dr. Reinstot, whose extracting the DNA from the Xenomorph skulls and creating Facehuggers to create his Alien army. I feel like this issue should have been double sized at least to include more meat to begin the story. But at least we are left with a cliffhanger of "trespassers" at the end of the issue to know that the next issue could be as action packed as the first.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Predator: Life and Death #2

Apr 7, 2016

Predator: Life and Death #2 was a fun and gory blood-fest. The body count goes up as our favorite trophy hunting extraterresrials go on the hunt. I'll also mention that I love the cover art. The cover is painted in a way the Predator is slightly camouflaged while hunting the marines. There is a moment that I would think all Predator fans will like. When they run into a character who got into their camp. They ask him how he got there and he says "The same way we stayed alive. We move quietly, and we're unarmed."

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Predator: Life and Death #4

Jun 8, 2016

Predator: Life and Death #4 is a series that was made for the AvP Fandom. It is eye candy for those that enjoy seeing their favorite Predators fighting with humans and ripping their spines out as trophies. Readers outside of the fandom may not enjoy it as much. For those ready for the Prometheus part of the story, the last few pages of this issue works as

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Weird Detective #1

Jun 13, 2016

Weird Detective #1 was a very fun story to read. With 52 pages of comic book, it was very much worth it. I am very interested to see where this next issue takes us as we find out more about Detective Sebastian Greene. Hopefully we will get more insight on his origins and his intentions. Maybe we also will get more comedic relief from him and his talking cat.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More