Josh Sykes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 8
9.5Avg. Review Rating

8.2
Batman (2016) #81

Oct 16, 2019

Tom King is going out on Batman the way he came in: With style and poise. "City of Bane" puts a bow on quite a few tales that Mr. King has woven since picking up the pen on Bruce's cowl, and he doesn't disappoint. Nor has the foot come off the gas pedal when it comes to twists and turns with this issue. Batman #81 is another must-grab as Tom King wraps up his run on the main title, and I can't wait to see what he has planned next for Bruce (and Selina).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #82

Nov 6, 2019

King has cemented himself amongst the great Bat-writers of the 21st century with "City of Bane". He also reminds us that you cannot ever attempt to expect what happens next on his titles. Janin, as usual, works well with King and helps punch home every piece of this phenomenal story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Black Panther (2018) #16

Sep 27, 2019

It continues to amaze me I may be the only guy harping that this book needs attention, and that should change. Coates and Acuna's story is rightfully fit for a king, and should make any and everyone's pull list this week. I was worried, with the X-Men comics getting a ton of attention, that we would see Storm pulled slowly from this book, but that hasn't been the case, thankfully. This issue succeeds in places I was sure it would fail, which is my mistake for doubting Mr. Coates.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Panther (2018) #18

Nov 29, 2019

Black Panther #18 is another stellar installment that lays the groundwork for a major battle to come. One can't help but wonder if Book 3 will be the finale, or if Coates is going to spin his wheel further.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Go Go Power Rangers #26

Dec 13, 2019

Go Go Power Rangers #26 is a hard-hitting page-turner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
King Thor #2

Oct 24, 2019

King Thor #2 is a true showcase of the immortals, one that would make even Vince McMahon blush.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #43

Sep 27, 2019

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #43 is a solid but still spectacular addition to this run. Parrot and Di Nicuolo are in tip-top shape as they stretch the team wide and thin through the wringer. The addition of Dayne as a character and his ties to Rangers lore strengthen this book in the best way possible. This current story arc is an ideal leaping-on point for new readers, but I wouldn't waste much more time. The continued development of each ranger's character is solid bedrock for this issue and going forward as a whole. Excellent work from an excellent creative team and series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #44

Oct 29, 2019

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #44 continues a trend Parrot and Di Nicuolo have set in top-tier quality. The art and writing go hand in hand without hindrance. Jason, Trini, and Zack are more interesting than ever in this issue. Di Nicuolo's work on Dayne makes him feel every bit the threat Parrot needs him to be. The best part is that there is no way to predict where this story goes forward. Needless to say, #44 is a standout in a series full of the like.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More