Kate Trippe's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 19
7.2Avg. Review Rating

4
Aliens vs Predator: Three World War #3

Apr 8, 2010

The bottom line is that if you like the Predator franchise you will probably find something to enjoy in this series, and if you dont like the franchise you probably werent thinking about picking up the series to begin with. I will probably flip through the next issue to see where it goes, but I am still hesitant about the quality of the story. I like the bones of the story, but the execution leaves something to be desired.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astonishing X-Men: Xenogenesis #2

Jun 14, 2010

If you like reading the X-Men characters pick up this comic. I would urge you to get past your reservations about the art and enjoy this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? #10

Apr 8, 2010

Go pick up the first issue graphic novel, and start expanding your mind with on this intellectual journey with Philip K. Dick. And how better to do it than with comics? This one wont rot your brain!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? #11

Jun 21, 2010

All I can say about Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? is: science fiction fans start enjoying and reading this series right away! Its one of the best examinations what it means to be human out there and as a bonus now fully illustrated!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Dust to Dust #1

May 25, 2010

I would say wait for the trade on this one, unless you really are very interested in the idea behind this prequel. I wasnt able to get a clear read on how this will unfold, from this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Fables #93

Mar 20, 2010

Overall this was an okay short bit of fluff, and a nice break after the conclusion of the last arc. But, it was not up to my (extremely high) standard for Fables. I usually enjoy the smaller arcs, but this one was a disappointment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Fables #94

Apr 19, 2010

This issue brings us back the the drama of the Farm after our hiatus with Fly and Haven. It promises a lot and, hopefully, this arc will deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fables #95

May 17, 2010

This issue shows us the love that was once unquestionable and untainted between Snow White and Rose Red, the moment where things began to change for them both, and what has led Red on her downward spiral into depression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Muppet King Arthur #4

May 4, 2010

Overall, this is a fun story that really captures the essence of the Muppets and makes for a charming parody of the King Arthur story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Muppet Show Comic Book #5

May 4, 2010

This issue was not up to snuff as the execution was ham-fisted. It lacked the finesse and wit I expect from the Muppets.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Muppet Show Comic Book #6

Jun 3, 2010

This is a great comic to pick up to read with a younger reader, or a good introduction to comic books for a very young child. And it wont be painful to read for an adult helping them along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Muppet Snow White #1

May 24, 2010

If you love, or even like, the Muppets I am begging you to give this comic a shot, you wont be disappointed. I wasnt expecting much, but this comic delivered and then some.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Muppet Snow White #2

Jun 17, 2010

This doesnt quite live up to the promises of the first issue, but I am willing keep reading for the enjoyment of reading about the Muppets. Plus, the artwork is top notch and makes this issue a joy to just experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nemesis #1

Mar 28, 2010

I am ready for this series to get started and take me to unexpected places. I look forward to getting to know both of the main characters, and what the intestines of those working under them look like. I will now sit in dread of what sort of horrible bullet-bending places Nemesis: The Major Motion Picture will take me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Predators #1

Jun 10, 2010

If you are planning to see the film why not pick up the comic? From this first issue it has the promise of being a fun ride, or it could end in tragedy, but that remains to be seen. I will stay optimistic because I want it to be entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Thanos Imperative #1

Jun 7, 2010

If you want an introduction to the Guardians of the Galaxy or an action packed comic this will fit the bill, but be ready to wade through this issues busy art and slow starting plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #73

Jun 21, 2010

This issue would be a great place to pick up and start reading The Walking Dead. But it also keeps up with the action of the last arc seamlessly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Turf #1

Apr 11, 2010

I wholeheartedly recommend this book to reader of non-traditional comic books, or to anyone just looking for a solid story in their picture books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Zatanna #1

May 23, 2010

Finally, if you dont try to actually read Zatannas backwards dialog aloud you are really missing out on part of the fun of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More