Kenia Santos's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 10
8.6Avg. Review Rating

9.2
Chrononauts #1

Aug 13, 2015

Chrononauts #1 opens with scientist Dr. Corbin Quinn's visit to a 6,000 year old temple in Southeastern Turkey. The temple is built around an F-14 Tomcat that went missing in the seventies. Artist Sean Gordon Murphy successfully conveys the scalding, discomposing heat of the area with his illustration.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Chrononauts #2

Aug 13, 2015

The characters' relationship issues are again addressed very subtly in Chrononauts #2 with Corbin revisiting memories of a happier married life. He might have had an omen the fun is about to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Descender #1

Mar 9, 2015

All things considered, Jeff Lemire hascertainly broughtupinteresting thoughts about our inner child, about the way we see the world's technological advances, about humanity, and about what makes us human.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Descender #2

Apr 21, 2015

Fortunately, we know from the end of #1 that Dr. Quon is coming to the colony for Tim, he'll be fully functional in the next issue, hopefully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invisible Republic #14

Jan 15, 2017

In Maia's journal timeline, we continue following her pathway in Kent with her dog Jo and now a baby in her womb after Christoph was arrested for crimes against the Commonwealth. She talks mostly about how she managed to survive alone in a war zoneand boy it is boring.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
RunLoveKill #1

Apr 22, 2015

Eric Canete told IGN they wanted to “explore themes of choice and consequence, the ideas of compartmentalization in the society (“You were trained for/educated in/came from this such-and-such background so your future *MUST* only be this…”), and the feeling of being purposefully disconnected” – and this is the only thing so far bringing me back for issue #2 – this, and apromise of robots and dinosaurs!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Saga #41

Jan 7, 2017

Saga has been described as Star Wars meets Game of Thrones meets Romeo and Juliet meets Dr. Spock's Baby and Child Care meets Firefly –sounds at least intriguing, doesn't it? What's more, it has been established as practically unfilmable because of its R-rated content and how costly it would be to bring the universe into life, which means you're really gonna have to read it. If you haven't started Saga yet, go do it. We've had my colleague Siobhan Dempsey discuss the importance of reading challenges this week, why not set you a comics reading goal for 2017!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #42

Feb 22, 2017

In conclusion, Saga #42 is an ingenious and also terribly sad must-read I'm afraid, and it stays at the back of your mind, areason why the two-month hiatus is welcome right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #43

Jun 4, 2017

Saga's creative team turns its story on its axis another time and we watch attentively as if we watched someone attempt to solve a Rubik's cube. These are flawed, broken heroes, I warn you. But then again, it's probably their resemblance to everything fallible in our human selves what makes Saga such beautiful and captivating reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sun Bakery (2017) #1

Jan 31, 2017

Overall, Sun Bakery is a book with a very particular sense of style that is likely to offer something to most shonen manga lovers in its 49 pages.I would only come back for issue #2 to find out what happens with the kids in Bat Rider. The stories didn't quite connect with me, but it's probably because I'm not the correct age or this young at heart. You will have to see how it works for you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More