Kevin Gunn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News, DC Comics News Reviews: 15
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #940

Sep 14, 2016

It will be exciting to see if “The Colony” will return. It will be equally, if not more, intriguing to see how the team will cope and rally after the loss of one of their own. I hope Tynion and company can keep their audience captivated with the next arc like this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #941

Sep 28, 2016

Though this issue has some minor hiccups, they're not enough to deter me from seeing where this ride goes. I am anxious to see how this new and recently damaged “Team Batman” fend off the latest threat from Hugo Strange.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #943

Oct 28, 2016

Overall, Tynion and company have piqued my interest for this arc. And they needed to regain my interest after the last crossover event which I will not mention again. This is a great start!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #944

Nov 9, 2016

Once again, Tynion and Barrows have not disappointed. Another top notice effort of suspenseful storytelling. Detective Comics has grown to be one of my favorite Batman books. And this arc peels off layer after layer unveiling new twists and turns to uncover the mysterious Victim Syndicate. I hope Tyion doesn't put Stephanie through too much more. She just lost her boyfriend, for Pete's sake! Overall, a great story!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Detective Comics (2016) #945

Nov 23, 2016

The art in this issue seems out of place and jarring, and it left me wondering what happened to Eddy Barrows? The illustrationsseemed less like a comic book or graphic novel and more storybook. It just seemed out of place, and matters weren't helped by having 2 artists working on the story. Tynion has set the bar very high in previous issues, and I hope there is a big payoff coming in this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #946

Dec 17, 2016

Alright, Tynion, you've peaked my interest again. I can't wait to see how this all plays out in less than two weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #947

Dec 30, 2016

I won't reveal too many "spoilers" in this review, but this issue is DEFINITELY worth checking out. I am pleased with the overall execution, and look forward to Tim Drake's inevitable return. Oops! Spoiler!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #948

Jan 13, 2017

Providing graphics for this issue is Ben Oliver. Oliveris reunited with Bennett . The two worked together onJustice League #23.2 “Lobo.” In “Batwoman Begins,” Oliver uses an almost murky palette for this story. The style isa departure from past books in the series. The motif compliments Tynion and Bennett's writing. Again, this arc is shaping up into something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #949

Jan 28, 2017

So it looks like “Monster Men” or it's repercussions aren't going away anytime soon. It will be interesting to see how it will continue to play out in Detective Comics and Batwoman. This arc was a treat from start to finish… or should I say, new beginning?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Quest #2

Jul 6, 2016

Another action packed issue from Parker and Shanner. I can't wait to see what they pull from the Hanna-Barbera treasure chest for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #1

Jul 27, 2016

The art is slightly different fromEthan Van Sciver's work that was present inHal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth #1, but not in a bad way. JordiTarragonaandRafa Sandoval seem to hold their own. I would be curious to see how they decide who draws what. Maybe one does aliens and landscapes, the other humanoids. Either way, this book is a fun romp through different sectors. I'm excited to see Part 2 of “Sinestro's Law”.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #2

Aug 11, 2016

Better than the first issue of the series. The ride is still “pedal to the floor” as far as action, but you still get a peak into everyone's struggles. I can't wait to see if Soranak will change uniforms (and rings) or oppose her father to take command of the Yellow Lanterns. Again, we'll have to wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #3

Aug 25, 2016

An enjoyable read. And very much worth the $3 plus tax.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth #1

Jul 13, 2016

On the whole, Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth #1 does a great job setting up the series for future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans (2016) #2

Aug 25, 2016

Annett and company seem to be trying too hard to recreate a mesh of former Titans books by Wolfman/Perez and Winick. Unfortunately, it falls a little short.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

December

November

More