Kyle David's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 10
9.1Avg. Review Rating

9.8
Afterlift: So What Really Happens When We Die? (First time in print!) #1

Feb 3, 2021

I hope to see both Loo and Alleyne on many works in the future, as their talents are undeniable and should be enjoyed by the masses.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Amazing Fantasy (2021) #1

Aug 4, 2021

If you are a fan of the Conan comics or the more fantasy themed Marvel books such as Thor or Doctor Strange, then Amazing Fantasy is definitely for you. From it's cover homage to classic fantasy novels you tend to find frayed and yellowed at the back of a secondhand book store to the longhaired muscled men and the half bird/half horse beasts it's one heck of a journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #23

Mar 3, 2021

I wish I understood baseball to use the terminology but Buffy often misses the first pitch and when it does hit, it's far from a home run. It has the potential to be so much more with the characters being much more interesting and nuanced to their television counterparts but it never gives what it sets out to deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #25

May 13, 2021

Though the art certainly makes Buffy a more enjoyable experience, on the whole the story is in desperate need of new life. There has been something lacking since the much-to-early crossover event, "Hellmouth," and it's as if we have been reading the same arc that has almost exceeded ten issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1040

Jul 27, 2021

Detective Comics seems to effortlessly flow from issue to issue without dipping, which tends to be the curse of the superhero on-going. Tamaki's genius timing and the strength of not only Mora but it's stand-in artists really push Detective Comics to the pinnacle of superhero comics goodness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jonna and the Unpossible Monsters #1

Mar 4, 2021

Over all, Jonna and the Unpossible Monsters is a breath of fresh air to Oni's catalogue. The team are on to a winner here and this is bound for the Eisners.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Orcs (2021) #1

Feb 11, 2021

Overall, ORCS! is a super fun book and just the right level of silly humour and adventure we need in these trying times. If you're a fan of orcs and sick of those pesky elves taking the spotlight then this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #3

May 26, 2021

Both Teen Titans Academy and Suicide Squad are taking risks with the lesser known characters taking the lead and the "big names" gently pushing the story forward from the side-lines but it seems to be paying off with plenty of fresh perspective and a direction that we may not see coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #4

Jun 22, 2021

Overall Teen Titans Academy continues to be a strong contender for one of the best Infinite Frontier titles. As ever with new titles featuring new characters there is a constant fear of "When will this get the sudden chop?" but hopefully that never comes to be as TTA is a strong title on it's own merit without the need for constant A list character appearances.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wasted Space #22

Jul 22, 2021

Throughout Wasted Space the creative team have managed to create a team of characters we are so completely invested in that they feel like legacy characters. They are the Guardians of the Galaxy of independent comics and will be so badly missed once it's all over. But for now let's pray it doesn't all end in tragedy for Billy Bane.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More