Kyle Overkill's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Rhymes With Geek Reviews: 29
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
American Vampire: Second Cycle #1

Mar 20, 2014

American Vampire returns right where it left off. There might of been a long wait for Second Cycle but if issue one is an indication it will be well worth the wait. Reading issue one of Second Cycle feels like an old friend coming home. Do the right thing, pick up issue one, hold it tight, and pray it never leaves us again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Science #3

Jan 28, 2014

Telling a large story as a writer often means that there are times you need to get information to the reader or get the characters from one situation to another and this is the issue that does that. Most of the events we see in issue three is simply information that had already beenhinted at or could have been reasoned out by the reader within the context of the story. Ultimately the group finds a way to save Grant from his injuries and in the end that's what this issue was all about. You have to break a few eggs to make a cake or some shit like that, and this issue is that egg used to make a bigger better cake. As a single issue it was a bit of a lull but in context of the larger story it was probably needed for what's coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curse #1

Jan 14, 2014

This is a very strong first issue in this four part tale. There are glimpses of horror mixed with a heavy dose of human drama. Moreci and Daniel have written a story about a desperate man willing to do anything to save his son, which makes the possibilities of the depths we could see Laney go endless. Rossimo and Lorimer provide quality art that work hand in hand to provide the tone and imagery that make the grim tale that is Curse. If you miss this series you will surely be cursing yourself out later.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Deceivers #1

Dec 22, 2013

This book is not bad, but it is not good either. It falls with plenty of other comics that are just average. The plot and dialogue feel like it could belong on any number of USA Network shows. The art helps power the book through the many pacing issues of the book. When there are so many comic books on the shelf currently its not a stretch to say there is probably a better book sitting right next to this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
EGOs #1

Jan 14, 2014

There is a lot of love in the first issue of EGOs. When I say there is a lot to love I mean there is literally a lot to take in and all of it is incredible. Moore has laid the ground work for a plethora of stories all of which you will want to know more about when you reach the final page of EGOs #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Furious #1

Jan 28, 2014

Furious is a good first issue for a superhero origin story. Furious is a better first issue as one about a girl seeking redemption and struggling with her past, present, and future. I read Furious three times and each time caught a different line that made me feel like I caught another level of context to the story. Brian J.L. Glass has created a character that is trying to fix a past that was not super by trying her hardest to be a hero. Victor Santos' then slathers this great story in another layer of beautiful imagery with his art. You will be absolutely Furious if you do not give this issue a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight #5

Feb 4, 2014

If you enjoyed the first two stories in the Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight series then there is not reason not to like this next installment. If you are a fan of the rape and revenge genre of film then there is no reason not to enjoyment. If you are not a fan of either of those books, then well this is probably not for you. Alex has nailed the tone and look of each genre so far and she does so again with Bride of Blood. Manfredi provides the best art of the series so far. Just like a Grindhouse movie, the story wont blow your mind, the dialogue is far from Shakespearean and the look is not always the prettiest but its a fun experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hacktivist #1

Jan 21, 2014

If the topics covered in Hacktavist interest you, then you might be able to bypass the slow start, but if you go in with no added interest there is little to be had here. This is only issue one of a four issue mini series and if some of the ideas are fleshed out more it could come together in the end. However, a first issue is your chance to grab a reader and make them come back for more, especially with a book that only has four issues to tell its story, and Hacktavist just has no bite to it. Most readers will want to .sve_Urs3lf the 3.99 and wait to see how this story pans out as a whole

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jack Kraken One Shot #1

May 13, 2014

As an introduction to the character of Jack Kraken this issue does an outstanding job. Seeley and team establish a fleshed out character who looks great and a mystery to it worth learning about. The idea of H.I.M and other characters is an even bigger draw. If these are not ideas you are interested in this might be a flat issue for you. What makes this issue good is the promise of more and what is to come. Seeley works in a lot of hints at the bigger picture and world in which Jack inhabits. I look forward to more Jack, better get Kraken on it Seeley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Juice Squeezers #1

Dec 31, 2013

Juice Squeezers is an entertaining book for fans of David Lapham and 80s movies. If you like honest and lively dialogue and quirky action this is a book you should grab. With this being 1 of 4 issues you could easily wait till its collected in trade and possible save yourself some money if you are hesitant about it. If you are like me and love to crack open a fun comic mixed in with your superhero books or serious indie books then you should grab Juice Squeezers this and every week it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #1

Apr 8, 2014

Yes, this book is all about girls, each character so far are females but because the characters are approached in a way of people first it does not feel like the typical strong girls doing strong things. I think its important that these are strong independent girls doing adventurous things, but they are all individuals with their own personalities who I could see anybody taking a liking to them. This book wont be for every comic reader but for those who take the chance and give Lumberjanes a shot I think you will be surprised. Even if in the end you decide it is just not for you its still easy to recognize that this a well written, drawn, and conceived book. In the Lumberjanes scout pledge one line asks the girls "to be interesting and interested". Lumberjanes does exactly that, now give them a badge!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Manifest Destiny #4

Feb 11, 2014

The first three issues of Manifest Destiny moved at a blistering pace. In issue four the foot is taken of the gas peddle a bit but is in line with the context of the story when doing so. The issue may have lacked much of the excitement and fantastic reveals of the latter issues, but it progressed the story in a reasonable fashion. Manifest Destiny continues to stake its claim as one of the comics you need to be pulling and reading immediately every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nailbiter #1

May 6, 2014

Nailbiter will be that book you have to read first each month because you are dying to know what happens next. Issue one sets up a story and mystery that will be hard for any fan to ignore. The hook is there from the opening pages. You can't help but feel like you are in good hands, even if those hands are chewed down to the bone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revenge #1

Feb 25, 2014

For a story that at times might make you feel like it is predictable and draws many references from other works, Ross and Church have crafted a story that provides more than enough twists, intriguing characters, and outstanding artwork that make Revenge stand on its own two legs. Revenge feels like it is the book Avatar Press is always trying to make but can not seem to nail. Half way through Revenge I was on board with what was happening to Griffen and by the end I can't wait for issue two to root for Griffen to do some work to these mother fuckers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Avengers (2014) #1

Mar 13, 2014

For a team of covert agents, Ales Kot's Secret Avengers are loud, chaotic and wonderful. For a series that has always struggled to find a good team, tone or just place in the Avengers brand, Secret Avengers by Kot and Walsh is game to carry the load. The books is funny, exciting and all around an enjoyable experience. Secret Avengers is a comic that should be a secret to know one and be shared with anyone and everyone who loves comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skinned #1

Apr 16, 2014

Skinned takes a lot of risks and really pushes the edge when it comes to what a comic book can do and portray. I don't think Skinned is a comic book for everyone because it is markedly different. Daniel and Holt ask you to accept their world and place your trust in characters who refuse to accept theirs. Skinned looks different, it reads different and it attempts something new and for me it is a comic book unlike most you will find. Skinned is a comic that asks you to actively participate and to think and if you are willing to do that you may get to see the book for what it really is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #1

Apr 29, 2014

Southern Bastards is a book and creative team operating on another level. From the opening pages to the last panel Southern Bastards feels cinematic in its scope and presentation. Both Aaron and Latour are both well respected comic book creators and together as a team have produced one of most real and unique experiences in a comic book this year. It is hard after reading issue one to not get the sense that this is the start of a series we will be saying a lot of great things about for a very long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Starlight #2

Apr 1, 2014

From start to finish Starlight just feels special. I've seen many comparisons between Starlight and The Incredibles and, while at times there do seem to be some thematic inspiration, I think the real connection is that each property scratches a specific itch we have as adults to both connect with our families and not lose the glory days of youth. Starlight is a book that I enjoy as a father and I'm going to save it for my son to read because, while he may not get all the subtext of the story, I'm sure he will love it just as much! Starlight is why I read comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Auteur #1

Mar 3, 2014

The Auteur from Rick Spears, James Callahan, and Luigi Anderson is the type of comic the industries needs more of. Nathan states " We must be bold, be brave, and be amazing" and that is exactly what The Auteur is. The Auteur showcases a comic that can be funny, over the top, violent, but also incredible well made. The art is striking, the writing is slick and colors are psychedelic. The Auteur may not present ideas that will change your life but it sure will make your life my enjoyable. The next time you see someone passed out with a boner, make sure to place an issue of The Auteur gentle a top it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Life After #1

Apr 23, 2014

The Life After feels familiar until the world unravels and you are faced with something that is completely its own. The first issue of The Life After is like a classy lady on a first date. She lets you get to know her and might even give you a little kiss as a reward but she wont give you the whole show and she surely wont fuck you. I got my kiss from The Life After and am already excited for our second date.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Mercenary Sea #2

Mar 11, 2014

Ultimately if you liked the first issue of The Mercenary Sea you will probably like this issue. If you are like me and did not like issue one then issue two does absolutely nothing different to change your mind. The Mercenary Sea is a safe book that takes little to no risks. Both issues felt like a chore to read all the way to the end. Again, this issue is not so insultingly bad that I did not finish it, made me angry or even make me say I hate it. It just does nothing remarkably. In the same week where as an issue of Manifest Destiny and East of West comes out with issue two of Mercenary Sea there is an obvious contrast of must read and forgettable comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Translucid #1

Apr 14, 2014

Translucid is exactly how you start a comic series. The story and writing hits you hard and the art gives you little kisses of sweet sweet beautifulness. Translucid may examine concepts and ideas that have been tackled by others in comics before but with something that looks and sounds so good it is clear this series has something of its own to bring to the argument. Boom continues to set the bar higher and higher for their work and Sanchez, Echert and Bayliss injected that bar with hallucinogens and blew it the fuck up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Umbral #3

Jan 21, 2014

Issue three on Umbral keeps up a rapid and exciting tempo. The story and characters maintain to be as engaging as they have been through the first two issues. The dialogue feels natural and charming. If that does not sell you, the art alone should. Umbral is shaping up to be a wonderful fantasy tale that appears to have a lot left to tell and makes no attempt to take its foot off the gas.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Undertow #1

Feb 18, 2014

Undertow presents some great and big ideas. These ideas are not always presented clearly, especially for a first issue. It took me a second read through to appreciate the story as a whole and that may be a lot to ask a new reader to do. Undertow feels like it is under construction but with the materials it presents feels like its worth sticking around for the final product.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Vandroid #1

Feb 25, 2014

The world will never know how the movie Vandroid would have turned out. What is now known is that Tommy Lee Edwards, Noah Smith, and Dan McDaid have made a Vandroid comic book worth reading. Don't be a 'bone smoker' and make sure to grab this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Winter Soldier: The Bitter March #1

Feb 13, 2014

Winter Soldier/Bucky is my favorite character in the Marvel U and as a fan I was really excited for this book. This issue was not what I was expecting out of the book before I read it but I am really pleased with the direction Rememnder took this first issue. Remender hits the spy thriller tone we saw in Brubakers run of books with his style clear and present also. The team of Remender and Boschi gives us a different look at Winter Soldier. They are building the legend of Winter Soldier that made him the villain no S.H.I.E.L.D agent wanted to run into.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
X-Files Conspiracy #1

Jan 14, 2014

If this was a Long Gunman miniseries or spin-off I would not feel too bad about this first issue. The story itself is really strong and feels right at place in the world of The X-Files. The art on the other hand is inconstant, sloppy, and for the most part downright ugly. Mixed with the unfortunate knowledge of the coming cross over material I would suggest you wait it out if you can and see how it fares in the collected format. The truth is out there, but maybe this time you might let someone else find it and tell you about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Zero #4

Dec 17, 2013

Ales Kot has done something amazing with Zero. Issue #4 furthers the trend set by issues 1-3. If you want to read the issue for its politically spy thriller tones and brutal action you get that. If you want to take the time to examine the issue and the larger story of Zero as a whole you get to do that too. Jeske had some tough to shoes to fill from the previous artists and he has hit it out of the park. Zero continues to be one of the books you should be reading each month and thinking about long after you put it down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Zero #7

Apr 22, 2014

Zero never slows up even when the characters take time to slow down. For an issue that on the surface is more grounded and less about action this may be one of the most important issues in the series yet. Zero continues to be as exciting and complex each issue as it was the very first time you picked it up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More