Londyn Jackson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity Reviews: 33
9.7Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batgirl (2016) #19

Jan 24, 2018

If youre a fan of Larsons Batgirl run, this is a new arc I know youll be excited to start reading. This plus a classic Batman rogue making a dastardly appearance are sure signs of a great story developing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #19

Feb 14, 2018

Its always exciting to read the beginning of a new story and this weeks start to Full Circle was no exception. Although the ending was heartbreaking, it leaves the reader highly anticipating issue 20 and how these characters will respond to the major event that ended the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #50

Jul 4, 2018

While Batman #50 was a rollercoaster of emotions within the DC Universe and for readers all over the world, the art and the dialogue absolutely did not disappoint. The love story between Bruce and Selina, like it has been proven time and time again, will continually evolve like the beloved characters themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #57

Oct 17, 2018

Beasts of Burden was a solid 3 issue arc that shows the human side of Batman, hurting due to a villains heartless act on one of his own (practically) children. Tom Kings conclusion mixing the folklore element was a fantastic touch, making it easy to see why his run on the publication is continually celebrated. Im looking forward to see how far down the rabbit hole – or pit – we will go to truly solve this mystery of violence in the following issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #58

Nov 7, 2018

Batman #58 was an issue that stood out for me. Penguins sympathetic side story and Batman having to use his better judgement to keep himself and his loved ones safe will draw the attention of any reader fond of these classic characters Kings The Tyrant Wing is already shaping up to be a deep dive into what defines Batman, something the writer has been tackling throughout his run thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #60

Dec 5, 2018

This was a shocking but strong end to an emotional mini arc. Tom King stated the arc following the harrowing saga of The Tyrant Wing is named Knightmares that will scrape at the soul of Batman. King has been building up this story of the Caped Crusader for dozens of issues and honestly, the script combined with the art makes me happy to be along for the ride no matter what rabbit hole it travels down to in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Damned #1

Sep 19, 2018

Azzarello and Bermejo are a dream team in darkness when it comes to Batman and his mythology. Batman: Damned is going to become a classic noir that will be a harrowing essential to this characters history. Im excited to find out what happened to Joker, how will this effect Batman and will he and his partner Constantine make it through this strange ordeal on his home turf.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Damned #2

Dec 12, 2018

SO many questions arise from Book Two of this bimonthly series. But the biggest one is whether or not Batman will make it out alive himself and if he does, what would that cost him: His mind, his body or worse, his soul? I still say that Brian Azzarello and Lee Bermejo are a dream team when it comes to depicting the dark and twisted world that truly is Batmans existence and with part two, they did not disappoint to bring on the crazy and tragic. See you in 2019, boys!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Kings of Fear #1

Aug 22, 2018

I have been excited about this Peterson and Jones series since it was announced and so far the story has exceeded expectations. Very much a fan of Scarecrow / Batman tales that focus on Bruces psyche, so I cannot wait for Part Two to see how far we go into the depths of the Dark Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Kings of Fear #2

Sep 26, 2018

Why I am such a fan of Batman tales is because hes human and suffers emotionally and mentally like everyone else does at some point in their life. Did we all get our spine broken in two by a steroid filled rogue? Probably not. However, anytime a creative team tries to peel back the many, many layers of Batmans mind, Im all in. Cant wait for issue 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Kings of Fear #3

Oct 24, 2018

I feel for Bruce in this issue for the simple fact that he is entangled in Scarecrows fear games and, for someone so obsessive about control, not knowing what is real or a hallucination must be exhausting. This of course makes me anxious to see what exactly Scarecrow will find within the mind of the Dark Avenger in Part Four.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Kings of Fear #4

Nov 28, 2018

While I wish this series would be longer than six issues, Im curious to see how part five presents itself after that shocking last page. Peterson and Jones continue to put out an amazing Scarecrow tale, a very under-appreciated villain that Im so glad see get the attention he deserves. Any rogue that pushes Batman to his limits mentally is one that this character need to go toe to toe with to better himself for the fight against evil he desperately wants to win.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Kings of Fear #5

Dec 19, 2018

Im literally devastated the next issue will be the last of Peterson and Jones Batman: Kings of Fear. Nevertheless, Ill push my sadness to the side and focus on the absolute joy Ive had reading this new dark and twisted look into the mind of Batman. The last page brings me major anxiety but huge anticipation as to how this Dynamic Duo of Bat-horror will close out this short story. Will Batman shake off the god of fear or will he have his fear and insecurities succumb him? I cannot WAIT to find out!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Kings of Fear #6

Jan 9, 2019

Peterson and Jones Kings of Fear was a wonderful roller coaster of learning more about what makes Batman the hero he is and wants to be for Gotham. This arc is now one of my favorite Scarecrow stories (who is such an underrated villain) and falls in line with classics like Darwyn Cookes Batman: Ego. Any book that is so self reflective of the title hero and gives an honest look, for better or for worse, at if his vigilantism is a necessity is a series I would recommend to any Bat fan. The trade paperback is out this August and I cannot wait to pick it up to have in my collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Batgirl vs. The Riddler #1

Jun 13, 2018

Even though it is Batman and Catwoman tying the knot in a few weeks, Seelys prelude makes you want to know (even more than you already did) about how the rest of the Batman mythology is reacting to the big news. This series continues to be a great companion read to Kings Batman storyline and I definitely recommend picking it up from Chapter One so you can be in the loop about how each of these classic characters play a role in the exchanging of vowels.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Nightwing vs. Hush #1

Jun 6, 2018

Batmans happiness can definitely be because hes getting married to the woman he loves, which makes these prelude issues showing both Selina and Bruces joy even more enjoyable. But as with most Batman stories, theres always a villain looming in the shadows and no matter how great of a time the Caped Crusader and his family may have, the good times may not last for long. Part Three needs to get here fast!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Harley Quinn vs. Joker #1

Jun 27, 2018

My biggest takeaway from this arc is that Batman and Catwoman's wedding has effected practically everyone in the DC Universe and it's fun to see how each person (hero or villain) is getting ready for the event of the season.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Robin vs. Ra's Al Ghul #1

May 30, 2018

To be honest, this prelude is a MUST read for any Belina (Bruce and Selina) fans out there who are just as hype about the wedding as I have been for who knows how long at this point. While the 4th of July and the release of Batman #50 still seems far away, this series combined with the regular publication adds both excitement and nervousness about the big day for the Bat and the Cat. From the normal beginning to the outrageous (but not THAT surprising) to be continued last page, Batmans prelude to the wedding is a rollercoaster everyone is tall enough to ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 20, 2018

Although Im so excited in the next few weeks the big wedding is finally happening in Batman #50, Ive been thoroughly enjoying Seeleys Prelude series and I cannot WAIT to see the mad love between Harley Quinn and The Joker in Part Five. The suspense of knowing whether or not Bruce will finally be happy is terrible"I hope it will last.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Sins of the Father #1

Feb 21, 2018

As a huge fan of the Batman Telltale Series, Gages first issue to Sins of the Father is a fantastic extension of this universe and I can tell will be a great bridge between the past and current chapters. For anyone who has played the games or loves a good Batman story, definitely pick up this comic and dive into the already thrilling mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Sins of the Father #2

Mar 21, 2018

After reading Part Two of Gages story, I still highly recommend Sins of the Father to both huge fans of the video game series and if you love a good detective story with a punch (or two"or three"). Im very excited to read Part Three and both the physical and emotional journey it will take the Dark Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Sins of the Father #3

Apr 18, 2018

Its almost a shame this limited run is half way over but Im over the moon excited to see what issue four has in store, especially after that final introduction. Im always open to new ways of diving into the psyche of Bruce Wayne and Sins of the Father truly doesnt disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Sins of the Father #4

May 16, 2018

While I cant turn down a big action packed issue, Part four of Sins of the Father was driven by the pain of the men behind the mask and the cowl, adding more dimensions to their heroic and villainous characters. I cant wait to see how Batman will move forward after how he left things with Lawton and what Deadshot has in store for himself and the ones he loves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Sins of the Father #5

Jun 20, 2018

Part five of Sins of the Father is definitely my favorite in this short series and it makes me anticipate the conclusion. Although this saga isnt part of the regular continuity, I continually recommend this Batman series to any fans of the character; it reads like many classic stories with a refreshing twist on character developments and evolution.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Sins of the Father #6

Jul 18, 2018

Batman: Sins of the Father was one of the most enjoyable Batman limited series Ive read in some time. An added bonus was that this story is based on a game that I thoroughly enjoy as well. Even though its not a mainstream tale, this is an arc to check out if youre into the current line of King and Tynion; both Bruce and Batman are given focus, bringing more depth to this DC icon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Catwoman (2018) #2

Aug 8, 2018

Following the exploits of Catwomans journey after the big fiasco of the Bat and Cat wedding is just as interesting as seeing what brooding Batman is up to in Gotham. Jones and Allred are a purrr-fect match up for Selina Kyle and Catwoman #2 leaves readers highly anticipating Part Three of this new world for the Cat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC/Looney Tunes: Catwoman/Tweety and Sylvester #1

Aug 29, 2018

I know theres so much the company can do with these DC Comics and Warner Bros. Looney Tunes crossovers, but I truly love them. Theyre fun and have something for the current comic book reader and the ones just discovering this fantastical world. I recommend reading all the pairings in this awesomely animated universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #1

Dec 12, 2018

Quinn and Rodriguez first issue of Goddess Mode is page after page of color and curiosity. Im greatly looking forward to Cassandras character development, learning who the three magical heroines of this new world are all about and how crazier this neon whirlwind of technology and monsters can get. Im definitely ready to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goddess Mode #2

Jan 16, 2019

If They Want To Make Us Monsters, We Can Be Heroes

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #35

Jan 17, 2018

A strong start to a new era for Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #36

Jan 31, 2018

Part Two of Tieri and Mirandas Batter Up was filled with funny moments, touching revelations and beautiful art that will keep any fan of the character anticipating the third installment of this storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Steven Universe (2017) #13

Feb 28, 2018

This ongoing Steven Universe series continues to be a breath of fresh air of Rebecca Sugar's celebrated cartoon, bringing both fun and deep conversation everyone can relate to, whether you're a fan of the show or not. I happily and definitely recommend this series for readers young and old.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing Winter Special #1

Feb 7, 2018

The end to this special issue is a dedication to both Len Wein and Bernie Wrightson, reminding the readers the best way to remember the icons we lost is to celebrate the contributions to the American comic book. This tribute issue is all about passion, loss and remembrance encompassed in some amazing stories and illustrations. Swamp Thing Winter Special #1 is not just a must have for fans of Swamp Thing but fans of the DC Universe, Weins outstanding writing and Wrightsons haunting artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More