Mateo Guerrero's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 16
8.8Avg. Review Rating

10
Black Magick: The First Book of Shadows, Hardcover #1

May 27, 2019

If you love stories about private eyes who go bump in the night, Black Magick: The First Book of Shadows HC is a must read. It's spooky, satisfying, and just what the Goddess ordered. Check it out, it might just cast a spell on you. So mote it be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodborne #11

Apr 14, 2019

Bloodborne #11 is a gorgeous piece of comic magic, equally mesmerizing as it is horrific. While it doesn't stand alone as a single issue, it serves as a cornerstone for understanding what has come before. What comes after, only the Old Blood knows.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Excellence #1

May 8, 2019

Made entirely by creators of color, Excellence #1promises a complex journey into magic and family. There's much more to say about this series, so check it out and join the conversation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghost Tree #1

Apr 24, 2019

With a single issue,Ghost Tree #1 has drawn me in more than some comics manage to do in entire volumes. Grounded in Japanese folklore and emotion honesty, it sets up a story that moves with the gentle rhythm of a summer breeze.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghost Tree #2

May 25, 2019

Ghost Tree has quickly become one of my favorite reads and I don't see that changing anytime soon. It has heart, ghosts, and human longing to go home. That's how you do a ghost story justice. I don't know where this series is headed but I can't wait to find out. The dead have many stories after all, and Ghost Tree #2 is one of the good ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghost Tree #3

Jun 28, 2019

In one of Ghost Tree #3's finest scenes, Brandt's grandmother speaks freely about her relationship with her late husband. As she speaks, his ghost watches on in bitter silence. Neither the text nor the Gane's art contain the whole story. But combined, they weave together in perfect synergy. The result is Ghost Tree #3, a beautiful comic full ofquiet melancholy. Don't let this one slip by.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gogor #1

Apr 13, 2019

Of course, this is just the first issue of Gogor. From what I can tell, Garing hopes to spin this story into a Fantasy Epic. Having a setting too complex to explain in a single issue is the sort of problem you kind of want to have with Epic stories. While much of its setting and players remain unclear by issue's end, Garing delivers more than enough to keep us reading. We're sure to learn a whole lot more about Altara, Amarno,and the eponymous Gogoras the series continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gogor #2

Jun 15, 2019

Gogor #2 keeps one foot firmly planted in the "weird". With prog rock style and love for the bizarre, Garing takes this issue in interesting directions, setting up plenty for the cast to deal with down the road. Gogor #2 breathes life into the world of Altara, every panel of which is lovingly illustrated and wildly imagined. With the series still early in its run, Gogor #2is the perfect time to jump on this comic if you haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grand Abyss Hotel #1

Jun 4, 2019

Grand Abyss Hotel paints a vivid picture of society on the verge of revolution. Without a layer of connective tissue, though, it reads more like a series of compelling vignettes. But with as much visual flair David Rubn brings to the table, Grand Abyss Hotel is a compelling work of political satire you won't forget.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: The Beast of Vargu #1

Jun 6, 2019

Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: The Beast of Vargu adds another exciting adventure to the world of Hellboy. While it walks in a well-worn trail, this comic delivers the imaginative monster clashes the Hellboy franchise is known for. And like the best stories in the franchise, it offers readers a fresh take on classic folklore. If you're craving monster satisfaction, Hellboy and The B.P.R.D.: The Beast of Vargu has the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Road of Bones #1

May 23, 2019

Road of Bones #1 makes a brutal impression that I'm sure not going to forget for a long time. The issue concludes with a scene that sets up the next chapter in a way that will be sure to have you thinking about it long after you've put this comic down. With its spine chilling setting and unflinching eye, Road of Boneshas the potential to be a knockout.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Road of Bones #2

Jun 29, 2019

Overall,Road of Bones #2attempts to bridge the gap between prison escape and survival horror. It takes us beyond the Gulag and into the wilderness, where true nightmares can happen. It doesn't make the transition without missing a step, but by the end of this issue, it's clear that the real horror is on the way. Definitely pick up Road of Bones #2and see what this book is made of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Avant-Guards #1

Jan 24, 2019

We don't see a lot of the other Avant-Guards, but I get the feeling they'll have a much bigger impact in future issues. Just where this comic will go I don't know for sure. With sports, you never can. What I do know is The Avant-Guards #1 is sure to be a delightful journey into the world of friendship, art, and basketball.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Avant-Guards #2

Mar 1, 2019

Another highlight of The Avant-Guards #2 is Noah Hayes and Rebecca Nalty's evolving style. The book has a millennial pop sensibility. It's full of bright colors, creative backgrounds and wildly expressive faces and body types. It's an inviting style that really fits nicely with the books breezy tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wrath of Fantomas #1

Feb 11, 2019

What strikes me most about The Wrath of Fantmasis just how well it works in the comic medium. For a character over a century old Bocque and Rocheleau certainly madeFantmas feel right at home on the comic page. His heinous crimes are lifted directly from the novels and woven into an original tale. The result is a cross-cultural mishmash of old school pulp and modern sensibility. In a time where superheroes and true crime dominate to pop culture landscape, Fantmas just makes sense.But for all the gold of Paris, you're not going to want to put this book down. The Wrath ofFantmasis a blast from the past that you don't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thumbs #1

Jun 1, 2019

Thumbs #1 presents a challenging picture of the future. It's one where social media and online gaming have been used to tear at the fabric of society. Our main character Thumbs is one of many kids caught up in a deadly machine led by a mad billionaire. Thumbs #1 offers a keen insight into those who slip between the cracks.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More