Mike Sains's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Capeless Crusader, Fanboys Inc Reviews: 17
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8
A Voice In The Dark #6

Apr 15, 2014

A Voice In The Dark #6 earns a cold, calm, and calculating 8/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New Captain America #1

Nov 13, 2014

While not perfect, All-New Captain America establishes itself well with this new #1. Sam and Nomad are an interesting team with one heck of an interesting dynamic. To quote Sam, cronyism beats nepotism. Personally I think were better for it, as Sam is not just the obvious choice, but the fan favorite. And the added flavor of old man Steve Rogers as the comic relief is a nice touch. It cant be denied.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie vs. Predator #1

Apr 15, 2015

This marks the third time in as many properties that I've thought to myself that Archie Comics has reinvented themselves and found a way to make something as ubiquitous as Archie and the teens of Riverdale feel so fresh and exciting. Archie vs. Predatoris not just a fun comic book, which it is. It's also a statement and that statement is "Archie took over and you didn't notice".

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Criminal Special Edition (One-Shot) #1

Feb 27, 2015

While the cover price is nearly half the cost of a trade paperback, Criminal: Savage Edition One Shot is more than a comic book. It is an experience. It effortlessly weaves two disparate stories together to give the reader nearly 50 pages of cover-to-cover awesomeness. New readers and fans of the series alike will get their crime comic fix with this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ghost Wolf #1

Apr 18, 2014

Nevertheless, this is a fun book to read and it succeeds on many levels. It succeeds in bringing Oral Tradition to the pages of a comic book, it is a tremendously action-packed experience, and it is filled to the brim with head-lobbing violence that is sure to please fans of this genre. If you were a fan of Conan growing up, Ghost Wolf could be the fix you've been looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Ghosted #10

May 21, 2014

There are only so many spectacularly exceptional art teams available in the industry at any given time and so its easy for me to forgive Ghostedfor not having the same level of gorgeous art found in some of the weeks bigger books. Having said that, we cannot completely disregard what is a legitimate weakness either. Some people may not be reading the series because the art just didnt stand up for them. This is a key point to watch going forward, to see if this book can find steady ground to stand on. Ghosteddoes a really great job of working with what its got though. It knows the kind of book it wants to be and is unabashedly that comic, which is precisely why I read, and enjoy, Ghostedevery time it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mind MGMT #21

Apr 24, 2014

This series has been at the top of its game for so long it seems like hype service to give it any more praise. But here I am doing exactly that. The art is at its pinnacle and the writing is showing no signs of decline anytime soon. For readers who are craving action in this heady series, you get more than your fair share. For those that keep coming back because of Matt Kindt's writing, it has never been better. I think it is safe to say that there isn't a book in the industry that is telling a more complex or harrowing tale than Mind MGMT. This issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Peter Panzerfaust #18

Apr 9, 2014

"Peter Panzerfaust #18" has a few problems with the small details in art, maybe a few hitches right at the end with the story, but overall this was a superb issue that let the readers know who Peter is in his soul.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Self-Obsessed One Shot #1

Apr 1, 2014

Self-Obsessed is a touching, emotional, raw self portrait of a man coming to terms with his own life using the only means he ever really knew how. Even though it lacks much action, the bold, gritty art fused with the utterly human dialogue gives this book all the punch it needs. I would recommend this book to someone who needs a reaffirmation that comic books can be much more than just popcorn entertainment. Someone who is seeking a cerebral experience that pulls no punches in it's sullen earnestness and forthright despair. But also an experience that lends a hand in providing you with some optimism in knowing that even through all of that raw angst and frustration, there can be peace. While rough around the edges and hard to take in all at once"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Sex Criminals #5

Mar 19, 2014

Between the imaginative and original art and the hilarious and touching writing, this book made me care. I am hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shutter #1

Apr 8, 2014

Joe Keatinge and Leila Del Duca have managed to create the second new stand-out book from Image Comics that I've seen this year, with Starlight being the first. All four people on the creative team succeeded in delivering an astonishing new world that centers on an endearing and captivating main character. Even though very little actually happens for the first several pages in terms of story, the hard left turn at the end more than makes up for any lag in the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Sovereign #1

Mar 19, 2014

When it comes to comic books, I'm not a huge fan of the fantasy genre. But I can not deny that I was captivated by the writing and the art, which succeeded in equal measure, all throughout this book. This world is in turmoil and I want to know what happens from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stray Bullets: Killers #1

Mar 18, 2014

If you are looking for a new crime / pulp book to sink your teeth into, look no further than Stray Bullets: Killers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Stray Bullets: Killers #3

May 13, 2014

On a whole, "Stray Bullets: Killers #3" is a strong issue in a very strong spin-off series, but one that can't help but feel a little out of place. While every story is its own, the two the preceded this one were so very dark that the fact that things get brighter is a turn in direction that I honestly didn't anticipate. While I'm not saying that this is the worst thing ever, the lightness of it all, combined with the overtly cartoon-like feel of how things play out is an eyebrow raiser for me. But this still remains one of the best crime noir books on the shelf and readers shouldn't hesitate to keep a look out for the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Superior Iron Man #1

Nov 13, 2014

If you're a new reader looking to jump on, now is the time. But beware, you're getting the comic book version of Iron Man, not the movie version. And aSuperiorversion of him, at that. Which can only mean bad things for everyone who isn't Anthony Stark. Hopefully Tom Taylor and the team are able to make this experience one that is worth our time. I'm holding on for issues #2 and #3 to see how this pans out. But I'm still hesitant to give praise. Luckily for Tony and Tom Taylor alike they have the visual talents of Cinar and Guru-eFX backing them up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Manhattan Projects #19

Mar 25, 2014

While I wouldn't dare recommend this issue to new readers, it is great enough for me to say that if you're not reading this book, you're missing out on something significant.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Manhattan Projects #20

Apr 23, 2014

The Manhattan Projects continues to remain one of my favorite books on the shelf. This issue delivers thought-provoking dialogue, twisted new worlds, rich character development, and the consistently amazing artwork of Nick Pitarra. Get your hands on this book. Science has never been so insane or so awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More