Newell Turner's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Booked Reviews: 18
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #4

Jul 25, 2014

All in all, another solid issue of Amazing Spider-Man with minimal impact from the Original Sin event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Death Of Wolverine #1

Sep 3, 2014

One thing that bugged me about this book is the fact that it's $4.99. I'm not a huge Wolverine, nor am I his biggest detractor, so shelling out this kind of money for a death story that will most likely be undone in the not too distant future was kind of painful. Fortunately, the book was pretty decent, and Marvel provided some extra content to make up for the extra dollars spent. There's samples of McNiven's rough pencil's with commentary by the artist, an interview with Len Wein (Wolverine's creator), and a Director's Cut, which shows the art through various stages from start to finish, along with excerpts from Soule's script. These extras may not do it for everyone, but if you're a process nerd like me, they're kind of cool. I'm not sure if they're five bucks cool, but cool nonetheless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Death Of Wolverine #2

Sep 11, 2014

As with the first issue of Death of Wolverine you get more behind the scenes goodness for your five dollars. Some more art-in-progress type stuff from McNiven with excerpts from Soule's script. On a side note, despite this being toted as weekly title, issue #3 won't be out until October 1st. I'm not sure what the delay is, but thought everyone might like to know about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fatale #24

Aug 2, 2014

They say that all good things must come to an end, and I suppose this is proof of that. This series has been fantastic and gotten me hooked on Brubaker/Phillips collaborations. I now want to read their entire backlog of work and I'm really looking forward to their new series, The Fade Out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #19

Aug 1, 2014

Hawkeye 11, the Pizza Dog issue, just won an Eisner Award for Best Single Issue last week at San Diego Comic Con. I wouldn't be surprised if we end up seeing Hawkeye 19 pop up in next year's list of nominees for the same category. Original and refreshing, verging on experimental, and totally out of the norm for a super hero comic, this has been one of the best issues in a regularly great series. Marvel has a real gem here. Unfortunately, it only has a few more issues to go. I'm already starting to miss it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Roche Limit #1

Sep 26, 2014

The first issue ofRoche Limit gives us the beginning of a mystery in a unique setting, but I don't know if it's enough to keep me interested. I don't have any emotional investment in the characters at this point and I'm just not sold on the premise being anything more than a cliche at this point. There's also a lot of info to take in, but rather than letting the details unfold naturally, we are given blue prints and news pieces. I'm not sure if this is a book for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rocket Raccoon #3

Sep 4, 2014

While this issue felt mostly like filler, it was still fun and worth checking out just for Skottie Young's art. I just hope that next issue starts to actually move the story along some more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sex Criminals #6

Jun 25, 2014

Sex Criminals is back on a monthly basis for the time being which is good because it is one of those books that I can't wait to read. With the way this issue ends, it looks like things are about to ramp up, making it even harder to wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
She-Hulk (2014) #6

Jul 20, 2014

"Blue" is turning in to an interesting super hero mystery, though honestly I'm intrigued by the legal side of it too. Who is the guy suing Jen and company, and why is he doing it? Why does no one remember it, and why is their attention being diverted away from it? Perhaps next issue will start to give us some answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supreme: Blue Rose #1

Jul 26, 2014

I'm not sure at this point how Ellis's take on the character will incorporate any of the extant history, aside from reusing the characters. Fortunately, the debut issue didn't lean too heavily on the past, and I didn't feel like I was missing anything. Hopefully the rest of the series will be like that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supreme: Blue Rose #2

Aug 24, 2014

As itmoves into weirder, denser material, it become obvious that Supreme Blue Rose is going to be a mystery that unravels slowly and screws with our heads while it does. I can't say I'm terribly invested in any of the characters right now, but my curiosity has been piqued and I want to see where this story leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supreme: Blue Rose #3

Sep 19, 2014

Supreme Blue Roseis a wonderfully weird sci-fi book with the hook of a mystery. It's the kind of thing I've come to expect from Warren Ellis, and even though I get a little confused at times, I'm loving every moment of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #1

Aug 23, 2014

If the first issue is any indication, I would say Brubaker and Phillips have another winner on their hands. I don't know how long this series will last, but I'm in it for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #2

Oct 3, 2014

The Fade Out is only on its second issue, but already continues Brubaker and Phillips' tradition of excellence. Even though they chose not to follow up with the mystery setup int he first issue (I assume they will come back to that), they still managed to tell a compelling story that I want to read more of. I'm already looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thor (2014) #1

Oct 2, 2014

Marvel seems to be sold on the television season template for their titles of late, and Thor is just a second season. That being said, new plot lines are being introduced, and everyone who missed out on the first season is getting caught up on the status quo. Once we get the setup out of the way, I think the book will be back to high quality it maintained for most of its “first season”.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thor: God of Thunder #25

Sep 18, 2014

Being the final issue of this Thor run, I was expecting a little more closure. I suppose it only makes sense that things are left open ended since Thor's story isn't actually coming to an end. Like most super heroes, his situation is always in flux, and the new Thor series that starts soon is just another phase that these characters will be going through.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers #23

Aug 30, 2014

Now that Planet X is over and done with, Remender is gearing up for AXIS, which will tie intoUncanny Avengers and several other titles. So far, he has kept the stakes and energy of this book very high. I'm curious to see if the quality of the book can be maintained throughout this event. Since Remender is spearheading this one, maybe he can exert a bit more control overUncanny Avengers and keep it from getting lost in the event hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #23

Jul 20, 2014

There is a lot of hype surrounding "The Last Will and Testament of Charles Xavier" with promises that it will change not affect Uncanny X-Men, but all of the X-titles forever. Marvel tends to say this sort of thing about a lot of stories, and they're usually right, though the magnitude of the changes may not be as great as they want us to believe. It will be interesting to see how much, and for how long, this story will change the lives of Marvel's mutants.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More