Nick Campan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 11
8.3Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Action Comics (2016) #1002

Aug 24, 2018

Overall, it's a decent showing, though kind of forgettable. The side characters have impressive arcs. Honestly, just give me more Maggie Sawyer and Cat Grant. Their short appearances were the strongest parts of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Action Comics (2016) #1003

Sep 26, 2018

Bendis' run of Action is enough to make this non-fan of Superman enjoy the story unfolding here. The art is clean and well done, adding to Bendis' ability to string a story together. I would recommend this run to anyone who is a fan of Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Doctor Strange (2018) #4

Aug 27, 2018

Personally, this issue was a real pageturner. I loved everything about it. And I couldn't wait for the next issue. I think longtime fans of Dr. Strange will be pleased with this run. Especially if the later issues are of this quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
House of Whispers (2018) #1

Sep 15, 2018

Don't let my history nerd ramblings deter you from picking this issue up and adding this to your reading list. This is a very well done, well thought out issue. From the writing to the way the artwork makes the story really come to life, this is truly an amazing first issue for the HOUSE OF WHISPERS.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invasion From Planet Wrestletopia #1

Jul 13, 2018

If you love space operas and wrestling in the 1990s this is definitely the series for you. Kuehnel and Entin wistfully pen a story that would make anyone long for a simpler time but with wrestler aliens from outer space.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ironheart #1

Dec 10, 2018

I would absolutely give Ironheart #1 to my nieces so they can see someone that looks like them straight up killing the game. Because that's important and that's the only way we're going to keep the comic book industry going. A character like Riri Williams could inspire a young girl to become the next Katherine Johnson or Mae Jemison (if you don't know who they are, Google is your friend). And as long as Eve L. Ewing and writers like her are giving us stories with this much heart, I will be standing at the front of the crowd with my comically oversized megaphone telling everyone to support this book and books like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Jook Joint #1

Oct 3, 2018

There wasn't a time where this issue failed to grab my attention. Each scene is a page turning. Each character brings something unique and powerful to the story being told by Tee Franklin here. If you are a fan of horror and fantasies of burning the patriarchy to the ground so you can dance on its ashes, I suggest you pick up Jook Joint right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Lucifer (2018) #1

Oct 18, 2018

Lucifer #1 hits the ground running with more twists and turns than the Goblin King's labyrinth. Fans of the Lucifer comic will be as fascinated to see where this is heading as I was. While new fans attracted to the comic due to the popularity of the TV series may be left scratching their heads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Superman (2018) #3

Sep 12, 2018

I cannot wait for more of this. Bendis has me (someone relatively apathetic about Superman) excited for the next issue. If you are a fan of Superman, I'm sure you'll love it. And if you were like me and a little on the fence about the Man of Steel, I urge you to pick up this new run of SUPERMAN because I was pleasantly surprised by it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
The Dreaming (2018) #1

Sep 9, 2018

If you're a die hard fan of the SANDMAN, you'll love this. And if you enjoyed the original run, it's a fun read. But if this is your first time with the SANDMAN UNIVERSE, you might have a hard time following along. It's not a thrilling first issue. But it's still just the first issue and we should wait until this run finds it's voice.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Sandman Universe #1

Aug 10, 2018

As this is the first issue, and it was really showcasing four books, I'm going to remain optimistic that each of these four books will eventually come into their own. I'd still buy each of them when they come out. I just wasn't as wowed as I have been by other debuts. That isn't to say that this isn't a must-have for any true Sandman fan. It definitely does right by the source material. I recommend it to any fans of the original run

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More