Peter Saenz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 12
7.9Avg. Review Rating

6.4
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #1

Sep 2, 2018

So basically, this is a comic ongoing readers or fans of the characters may enjoy reading, but newcomers will probably not find it that interesting as a stand-alone read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #16

Nov 10, 2017

What things end up like for their future once everything is out in the open, as a fan, makes me eager to learn more. That said, I'm still a bit worried that what that new dynamic will be will change the chemistry between the team members, and things may not be the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #17

Dec 23, 2017

Honestly, this issue felt very much like a filler to me. Between this issue and the last two other issues, it's almost as if the editors told the Red Hood creative team to do some cross-overs with other popular characters in the DCU to garner extra interest in the title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #18

Jan 13, 2018

This comic also sees a departure from the normal Dexter Soy art interiors. Whereas Dexter's pencils are reminiscent of both Terry Dodson and Joe Madureira art, the new art from Sergio Sandoval leans more toward Brett Booth lite. It's detailed and beautiful to look at, but not as kinetic as the Soy art that preceded it. I'm not sure if this is going to be a full-time art change for the title, or if it's just a filler, but if it's a permanent change I don't mind the new look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #19

Feb 16, 2018

As a fan of the both the characters and the comic, I'm ecstatic to see where the two of them are led story-wise. All too often Artemis has been seen as just a hard warrior. Thank you Scott Lobdell for showing us an Artemis that can also be soft and funny at times, and most importantly, capable of love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #20

Mar 16, 2018

For fans of the current comic run, this will either bring about stronger resolve among the super friends, or heartbreak.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #21

Apr 17, 2018

There was a lot of heart and personal backstory in this issue. Not only were we able to explore Bizarro's addictive mind, but also learn of his secret feelings for Artemis. It was also interesting to see Jason begin to question his overall mission, and if it is really doing any good. Kudos to Scott Lobdell for his continuing solid story writing, and to Dexter Soy for his beautiful pencils that make us enjoy the story being told.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #22

May 12, 2018

I really loved this issue. Artist Dexter Soy really gave a lot of eye-catching panels right out the gate, depicting Red Hood in a number of really cool areal positions hand tailored for any big budget Hollywood action film.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #23

Jun 20, 2018

I'm saddened too that the chemistry between Red Hood, Bizarro and Artemis looks to be going to a dark place that can never be repaired. Just sad and tragic after all the time they initially spent together, forming a make-shift family dynamic of their own. No one will be left clean by the time all of this is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #24

Jul 15, 2018

Bizarro is now officially back to his original mind. This really isn't something that bothers Red Hood or Artemis, as they love the chalk skinned guy no matter what type of mind he has. It does, however, bother the thousands of Gothamites who live and work in the section of the city the Outlaws fortress is falling down upon. What happened to Artemis and Bizarro you ask, and how will they stop the fortress from destroying the city? I guess we'll just have to wait until next issue to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #25

Aug 12, 2018

Scott Lobdell outdid himself in weaving the issue's storyline in a way that not only captivated readers but wrapped up so much of the storyline threads that have been building up for some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #27

Oct 17, 2018

Sad too that Roy Harper has died, and Jason is almost okay with it, telling Bruce that his best friend Roy wouldn't want him mourning him. This despite only a few issues prior we had Red Hood shooting a person in the face over the supposed death of his father. Has he learned the lesson of being humble so quickly? I really like Scott Lobdell's writing, I really do, but seeing how damaged Jason Todd still is despite his repeated attempts to right wrongs every issue gives the comic a whole new depth and scope to consider. Cookie cutter comic, this ain't!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More