Philip Lawrence's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 31
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #8

Mar 11, 2017

Overall, I really enjoyed this comic! I never read anyBirds of Prey comics before, but now I'm itching for the next issue. While yes, the dialogue could be improved slightly, the humorous banter between the three leads definitely makes up for it. In an age where DC is dominated by heavyweights like Superman and Batman, it's great to know DC hasn't forgotten about these characters. I cannot wait to see where the Benson sisters will take the Birds of Prey next and their inevitable showdown with Blackbird.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #9

Apr 15, 2017

Overall I enjoyed the approach to the story. Focusing on just Black Canary and not including the rest of the Bird of Prey until the end was a risky move. But the Benson sisters have executed it with great precision. Now with Black Canary being controlled by Blackbird I am now more excited for the next issue as Black Canary is forced to fight her own allies. It will make for some interesting fight scenes. The real letdown here is the artwork. I was slightly disappointed with the declining quality in terms of character faces and expressions. Still I enjoyed the solo approach to the story and would recommend this for any Black Canary fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #10

May 11, 2017

ConclusionWhile I haven't been a fan of the artwork, I did see some my improvements in the issue #10. I adored how Julie and Shawna Benson captured the spirit of not just the titular Birds of Prey, but also supporting heroes Nightwing and Green Arrow. Black Canary's relationship with Green Arrow and her predicament with Blackbird was a valid reason to include Green Arrow into the story arc. That big fight against Blackbird deserves noteworthy praise and was definitely my favourite part in the entire 'Blackbird' arc. I also appreciate the writers for giving Gemini and Blackbird's students closure and I would even like them to reappear again as they struggle adapting to life without their powers. The writing wasn't cliche or cringe-inducing like in the previous issues. Overall, while I do have mixed feelings regarding this arc, I'm enjoying the series on a whole and look forward to the Birds of Prey's next adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #11

Jun 16, 2017

Ok, it's about time to wrap this up. Overall, I adored issue #11! Julie & Shawna Benson's thoughtful characterisation of Gus, The Birds of Prey supporting him after his revelation, the emotional weight of the story and that jaw-dropping ending made issue #11 my favourite issue yet. The only downside was the overabundant exposition, which consequently rendered the story longer than it should have. If you haven't read issue #11 yet, do yourself a favour and read it now! You'll not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #12

Jul 13, 2017

Honestly, I would have to say that issue #12 is my favourite issue yet in the series! While issue #11 emotionally gripped me with it's thoughtful characterization, issue #12 was simply a joy to read the whole way through. I was genuinely laughing during my read throughs. I highly commend Julie & Shawna Benson for including three iconic Batman characters, without ever sacrificing the plot. Despite some less than stellar character designs, I am really digging the art style.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #13

Aug 11, 2017

Despite the jarring shift in art style, issue #13 concluded the “Source Code” story arc on a hilarious, exhilarating and unexpected note. I am all for one, immensely ecstatic for this team-up consisting of The Birds of Prey, Poison Ivy and Catwoman. I really hope the art style presented in the latter portion will improve in future issues. But overall, this is a fantastic read and one helluva way to end an arc! Bravo to everyone!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #14

Sep 13, 2017

Batgirl and The Birds of Prey #14turned out to be a fun, but decent entry into the series. Blackfire is by far the most underwhelming and forgettable villain yet. It was evident that Shawn & Julie Benson were having a ton of fun writing issue #14. I adored how they included Catwoman and Poison Ivy and it was a nice nod to the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #15

Oct 13, 2017

I'm going to say it outright, issue #15 is perhaps my favourite issue yet! This issue won me over completely with it's expansive ensemble, fine artwork, intriguing plot and one helluva ending! Issue #16 can't come any sooner!?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #16

Nov 9, 2017

The entire artistic team deserve to give each other a pat on the back. Their hard work and passion for this series has resulted in another incredible entry!Batgirl and The Birds of Prey #16builds upon the foundations laid out by it's predecessors. Delivering another issue full of fantastic artwork, an intriguing storyline, whilst also utilising it's expansive ensemble beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 17, 2017

I can honestly say that I had a great time reading this comic.Batwoman#1 isa glorious introduction for Batwoman newcomers because it dedicates its time to her characterisation. Even though there wasn't a substantial amount of action, the comic still delivered a brief, yet fun fight. For longtime Batwoman fans, this a magnificent return for the scarlet haired crusader. I'm excited about where writers Marguerite Bennet & James Tynion IV will take with this strong character and the challenges that await her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 22, 2017

For those who have waited as long as I have for Issue #2; you will not be disappointed. Marguerite Bennet and James Tynion IV have done a grand job of depicting this strong female hero, but giving her a layer of humanity to her character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman (2017) #3

May 20, 2017

‘The Many Arms of Death' is turning out to be an exciting story arc and is a perfect way to kick off Batwoman's solo Rebirthseries. Issue #3 delivers everything I was hoping for: balanced writing, amazing artwork, excellent pacing and a great title character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 24, 2017

I implore all Batwoman and DC fans to grab your copies of issue #4 now. You will not be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batwoman (2017) #5

Jul 20, 2017

Marguerite Bennett, James Tynion IV, Stephanie Hans and the whole creative team have delivered another worthy entry to Batwoman's Rebirthseries! The artwork is absolutely beautiful and the pages deserve to be framed and hanged in an art gallery. Stephanie Hans, you have a bright future ahead of you in the comic book industry! Marguerite Bennett and James Tynion IV have done a remarkable job of expanding upon the character of Kate Kane. I look forward to what path the scarlet haired crimefighter will walk next. Batwoman #5 reinforces the reason why Batwoman" out of the three series I'm reviewing- is my favourite series to review! I deeply implore you all to pick up your issue ofBatwoman #5ASAP!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batwoman (2017) #6

Aug 19, 2017

On the whole, this is turning out to be another incredible story arc in theBatwomanseries. I became really immersed in this dystopian version of Gotham that Marguerite Bennett and James Tynion IV have crafted. The art and coloring acutely emulates the sci-fi dystopic atmosphere of this futuristic Gotham. I am eagerly awaiting to see how Tim Drake will be integrated into the story. I highly recommend issue #6 for fans ofbothBatwoman and sci-fi dystopian films!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #7

Sep 25, 2017

The next entry inBatwoman'sRebirth series certainly delivers whatBatwoman fans are hoping for: well choreographed action, excellent artwork, sharp writing and a strong, well written protagonist. While I did find the panel structuring to be relatively confusing in the first couple of pages, the whole comic was a welcome return to Batwoman's fight against the Many Arms of Death. Marguerite Bennett has certainly put Batwoman through the ringer in this issue. I cannot wait until Batwoman faces off against Scarecrow, and how she will best him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #8

Oct 21, 2017

Although I still wish to know more about Scarecrow's motivations, I really enjoyed issue #8. Wonderful yet eery artwork, a formidable foe and Batwoman's internal struggle with her mind made for a thrilling story and I can't wait to know what happens in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #9

Nov 18, 2017

Conclusion A worthy foe, deep character study and wondrous, psychedelic artwork madeBatwoman #9a great read and an exciting prelude to what will follow next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 15, 2017

ConclusionWow. Just wow. Justice League of America #4 contained some of the most awesome, action I have seen yet on the page of a comic book. Every JLA member had a moment to shine and the action was well crafted. Lord Havok proved to be one terrifying and formidable foe worthy of the JLA. Who knows where Steve Orlando are going to take this team of unlikely allies next, but rest assured my anticipation won't waver. Do yourself a favour and pick up this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 28, 2017

ConclusionWhile I did love most of the action scenes and appreciated the dialogue between the JLA teammates, the end result fell a bit flat. In terms of story there was nothing really interesting about it. Still issue #5 is only the beginning of an arc so it'll only have a chance to develop in the subsequent issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #6

May 13, 2017

The main downside to this arc was it's brevity and the art style. It was over so fast I thought to myself: 'That's it'. I had already forgotten about Aegeus, until I read the issue again for further analysis. Steve Orlando's epically scoped and carefully constructed action scenes and sharp dialogue are the highlights of issue #6. I just wish the art work matched the quality of the writing. On the whole, I found this arc to be rather uninteresting. For those who are fans of this series, I implore you to keep reading. Just don't expect much from this arc, other than awesome action of course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 30, 2017

While the story fell flat and Terrorsmith made for a less than stellar villain, Jamal Campbell's artwork and the burgeoning relationship between Killer Frost & Atom definitely helped issue #7 overcome it's flaws. I'm sorry I just have to talk more about the artwork more. It is by far the BEST thing about issue #7 and the artwork was the main criticism I had with the previous two issues. Jamal Campbell, keep up the fantastic work!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #8

Jun 15, 2017

Alas, while I did miss issue #7's captivating art style, the story admittedly hooked me. I was intrigued to dwell more into Makson's secretive past, and was instantly shocked to learn what he has in store for his 'human' family. The new art style was fine, however I did feel the background environments could've had more detail drawn into them. Overall this is shaping up to be an impressive story arc and I'm looking forward to what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #9

Jun 30, 2017

Besides Makson, issue #9 admittedly didn't offer anything memorable or new to the series. The whole arc felt brief and consequently it turned into just filler. I really do hope Steve Orlando considers bringing back Makson in future arcs. His character is just too good for two issues alone. Furthermore it'll be a fantastic opportunity to expand upon his character and tell another emotional chapter in his life.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #10

Jul 15, 2017

Overall,Justice League of America #10is a slightly underwhelming addition to the series. While the team dynamics were certainly engaging, the story didn't do a good job of explaining of what is actually happening. Aside from the great lighting effects, the artwork had a palpable drop in quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #11

Jul 29, 2017

Although the story was baffling and the story arc concluded on a less than stellar note, I still enjoyed reading #11 more than #10. The obvious highlights were the improved artwork and that incredible fight sequence. I truly hope Black Canary will be featured in the limelight more in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #27

Aug 18, 2017

Although I still do not entirely comprehend the story, Seeley's pitch perfect realisation of the eponymous hero and the chemistry Nightwing shares with Huntress kept me engaged throughout the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #28

Sep 9, 2017

Despite the less than stellar shoehorned villain,Nightwing #28still offers a solid amount of action, great dialogue and wonderful artwork. Tim Seeley has proven once again that he knows how to write the beloved eponymous character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #30

Oct 7, 2017

Despite some vague narrative elements, I thoroughly enjoyed this issue. The amazing artwork, the well choreographed action sequences, the steady pacing and Seeley's impeccable writing made this issue all the more enjoyable to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #32

Nov 3, 2017

The “Raptor's Revenge” Arc made a glorious comeback withNightwing #32;delivering a balanced mix of wonderful artwork, believable character expressions, fantastic writing and a now engaging antagonist. The thoughtful depiction of Nightwing and Raptor more than make up for the lack of action. I appreciatedNightwing #32for making the bold move to emphasise character over action.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #33

Nov 17, 2017

Although the story arc's main villain is absent for most of the comic,Nightwing #33neverthelessdelivered a thoroughly entertaining ‘situational ally' story. The dynamic between Desmond and Nightwing was always fun to read. Their tag team fight scenes were fun to witness. Desmond proved to be a- somewhat- likeable character and I'm so excited for the next issue! Now because the “Raptor' Revenge” arc will definitely conclude. And from the looks of that ending, it's going to be one helluva finale.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More