Richard Gratton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicList Reviews: 25
6.9Avg. Review Rating

7.0
All-New All-Different Avengers #6

May 14, 2016

All New All-Different Avengers #6 is fast-paced action packed issue, and is more than worth the price of admission. Though this is a climactic issue, it has many subplots going that left me wanting to know more about what will happen next. That is the sign of a well-crafted story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #11

Jul 30, 2016

My only complaint about All-New X-Men #11 is the cast – or lack thereof. This is a team book, and yet this is the fourth consecutive issue that has focused solely on the Beast, or the Beast and Kid Apocalypse. What about the rest of the team? Having read this title from issue #1 of volume #1 up until now, I can honestly say this book is at its best when it includes the whole cast, or most of characters – I believe the same can be said of any team book. When a team is deconstructed, in some cases that signals changes in the team or a change in the direction of the book. When members of the team are present only part of the time, we readers begin to take this as a sign that some of these members may not remain a part of the book. Hopefully, issue #12 will bring us back to a full cast and a story that will revitalize the direction of this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #15

Dec 3, 2016

As a loyal and dedicated fan of comics, I have been patient with this title because I truly like these characters and the history they have the potential to embody, but I don't know how much more of this I can take before I find myself walking away from this title (assuming it doesn't get restarted, rebooted, or re-titled, as Marvel seems so quick to do lately). Potential exists for this comic, if writer Dennis Hopeless will just grab ahold of the reigns and take us somewhere we aren't left finishing reading each installment and asking ourselves one of two questions: So what? Or Who cares?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #15

Feb 11, 2017

That being said, Aquaman #15 is a fantastic read. Plain and simple. This is the Aquaman I want to read about. Dan Abnett obviously has a vision for his character, who he is, who he will be, and what he intends to do with him. Personally, I can't wait to see what he does next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #26

Jul 29, 2017

Batman #26 is an excellent comic. From cover to cover, it never falters. The art is absolutely fantastic, every picture is amazing. Writer Tom King has us in the palm of his hand with this story arc. He is slowly building something big here; the depth of character and realistic nature of the action leaves us salivating for more. I can't wait for what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain America: Sam Wilson #9

May 21, 2016

Sam Wilson's journey to becoming Captain America is a much longer, more complex process than he thought it would be. Putting on a costume and carrying a shield isn't enough. Sam is finding out that acceptance takes time, both for the public and himself; and if he truly wants to live up to the legend and reputation embodied in the title Captain America, he has to start by believing in himself and standing by the tough decisions he is forced to make. Captain America: Sam Wilson #9 is a comic weighed down – in a good way – by a moral and ethical dilemma and is well worth your time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain America: Sam Wilson #10

Jul 9, 2016

Any Captain America fan not reading this book is missing out. Nick Spencer has done a fine job of maneuvering an African American into a traditionally white man's role; a difficult transition for any writer to undertake and find acceptance. Whether or not you like Sam Wilson as Captain America, it's difficult to read this issue and not in some way identify with another human being trying to fill a role he doesn't feel he lives up to. Sam's determination and willingness to continue to fight for what is right no matter what the haters and doubters say is inspiring. Captain America: Sam Wilson #10 is a fantastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America: Sam Wilson #13

Oct 22, 2016

Marketing this comic as a Civil War II tie-in is a shameless plug for a cheesy, one-page moment in the comic that does nothing more than mention the conflict going on in Civil War II. The problems I've mentioned aside, this comic does have moments worthy of your attention. The battle between Captain America Sam Wilson and U. S. Agent is well done; and so is the expression of Sam's frustration. The potential for the future of this title is great, considering the statements made by Steve Rogers at the end of the book. I look forward to what is to come and hope for more consistency visually.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Daredevil (2015) #6

May 14, 2016

The problem with this issue is in the characters. Daredevil and Elektra are usually great, Blindspot could be great, but even great characters need depth. We need to see these characters as more than just a costumed crime-fighter and lawyer, a side-kick, and an elite assassin. They don't become real until we see a more vulnerable, everyday human side to them, one we can identify with, or at least empathize with. Soule subtly hints at this, but really needs to show us more of Matt Murdock's humanity and his weaknesses so we can root for him again. We get a spark of Elektra's humanity and vulnerability at the end of this issue, so there is definitely hope. But Blindspot needs something more; we need to know who he really is, what defines his struggle in Hell's Kitchen, and what makes him want to train with an anonymous, costumed vigilante. If Soule can give us these, then this story will transform into so much more than what it is right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2015) #7

Jun 10, 2016

Having said this, the flow of the story is so much better than the previous issue. We get a more complete sense of the world these characters live in. They are more grounded in this issue because they all have ties to a world that is real, not just filled with fantastic, unbelievable events well beyond what we normal humans know. No, these characters are just like us in the sense that they have real problems that don't have quick and easy solutions. They struggle to find their way just as we all do. Well done, Mr. Soule; not only did you write a good story, you left us with enough questions to keep us wanting to know more, which in turn will keep us coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Daredevil (2015) #10

Sep 3, 2016

Why do I keep coming back for more? It's not the writing. I come back issue after issue because I grew up with Daredevil and I love the character. I grew up at the time of Frank Miller's run on Daredevil and loved what he did with both Matt Murdock and his alter ego. Is it fair to compare Soule's work to Miller's? Of course not, every writer is free to go in their own direction with the characters they write about. But if a writer wants to hold the attention of the fan base, he must make the effort to capture the full attention of his audience; he must dig his literary claws into the audience and not let them go until the story is finished. Until Charles Soule does this with Daredevil, it will be nothing more than an average title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2015) #14

Jan 7, 2017

With Daredevil #14, writer, Charles Soule has come into his own on this title. I hope he can keep it going, because this is a fantastic and disturbing read. It reminds me of the gritty take Frank Miller had on Daredevil in the 80's, but Soule takes it further, to a place that is darker and could potentially eclipse Miller's work. I can't wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity II #1

May 7, 2016

To say that any story that leaves you wanting more is a good story would be stating the obvious, but one that drags you from the opening image to the final panel at a breakneck pace like a roller coaster with its slow, foreboding climbs and breathtaking plummets leading to an all-too quick finish that leaves you breathless, but dying to take another turn, is creative genius. Divinity II #1 takes you on a journey that will pull you through the highs and lows of one woman's struggle from the street to the edge of the universe and back, all the while remaining true to her mission. It is truly a fantastic read. I personally can't wait for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #20

Apr 21, 2017

Green Arrow #20 is an action-packed conclusion to an ambitious story filled with subplots and backstory. For the most part it is well told and works. The art is lacking, but is probably a result of publishing deadlines. Hopefully, DC will eventually back off from its rigorous schedule and focus more on quality rather than quantity. Either way this title is well-worth the time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2015) #10

Jul 28, 2016

Marvel has a potential goldmine sitting in their hands, waiting to be exploited. I believe Guardians of the Galaxy could potentially replace X-Men and Avengers as the most popular team title they publish. Put the right writer on the title, one who will take the characters seriously; who will write relevant stories; someone who will inject the humor to offset and lighten the drama when needed; and Marvel will have one of the best titles on the market today. Otherwise we will continue to see irrelevant, silly stories put out by a writer who is obviously stretched too thin to put any real effort into a currently second-rate title that is by no means living up to its potential as a truly fantastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Invincible Iron Man (2015) #6

May 21, 2016

Invincible Iron Man #6 is a solid start to a new story arc that leaves me intrigued and wanting more. Is it a fantastic issue? No, but it's definitely worth the read. I prefer Marquez and Ferry's art, but Mike Deodato and Frank Martin are well suited to the clandestine tone of this story arc. And for me, the ongoing Doom subplot is enough of a draw to keep me coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Legends of Oz: Tik Tok & the Kalidah #2

May 28, 2016

Having said all this, Legends of Oz: Tik-Tok and the Kalidah #2 is not a fantastic read, but it is not a bad read either. If it were, we wouldn't want to know the answers to the questions posed above, because we wouldn't care. We would feel like we were wasting our time and money. This comic is definitely worth reading, it just needs fleshing out to a point where we can dig deeper into all the characters; their motivations, their desires and their fears. Hopefully, Keith Thomas can answer the questions we have before the series comes to an end.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing: Rebirth #1

Jul 28, 2016

These Rebirth one-shots should be the teasers that establish the titles DC is going to publish. But on the business end of things, they need to have hooks that grab hold of us to the point where we are so compelled to go out and buy the first issue of the ongoing series because we can't stand not knowing what is going to happen next. This issue does not do that. If I were not a Nightwing fan already, I would probably skip over the ongoing series based on this offering in favor of something that catches my interest more than this did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Squadron Supreme (2015) #14

Jan 7, 2017

Overall, Squadron Supreme #14 is a good comic with a good story and decent, but average art. It is action-packed, with no dull moments whatsoever. Because this team is so different, the potential for this comic is nearly unlimited. I am finding myself wanting more and wanting to know what will happen next – definitely a good sign.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #5

Apr 21, 2017

Writer Ben Percy's run on Teen Titans gets better with each issue. He has set up a team of heroes who already seem like a quirky family with defined characters whose personalities, strengths and weaknesses draw us in and make us want to know more about each one and what will happen next. Teen Titans is a book I look forward to each month, a solid read definitely worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
0.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #7

Jun 16, 2016

I am disgusted that this story came to print as it did. As a subscriber to Mighty Thor, I am disgusted two issues of my subscription have been wasted on this. I expect more. I demand more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #9

Aug 19, 2016

Mighty Thor #9 is an all-out action packed comic – and it is a fantastic read. I couldn't ask for more – unless it is a shorter wait to read issue #10. The book has a creative team that digs its claws into you and drags you along for a ride through one impossible situation after another. The story is great and the art is stunning; anyone not reading this title is missing out. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Thor (2015) #12

Nov 11, 2016

Mighty Thor #12 is a well-crafted story that could be easily interpreted as a piece of Norse mythology. It is incredibly well written and beautifully drawn. Jason Aaron is one of Marvel's best writers right now and he shows it in this comic. Russell Dauterman is one of Marvel's best artists right now, but in this issue, he makes way for the work of Irving Frazer who does a stunning job of creating a comic that is visually engaging and uniquely stylized through color and technique to give an epic and ancient feel. Mighty Thor #12 is definitely a fantastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #10

Jul 9, 2016

If I had a complaint about Uncanny Avengers #10, it would be that the end of the issue comes way too fast. This story is just too good to have to wait another month to read more. There is so much going on in this comic I'm not really sure how Duggan manages it so well. Every scene is important and every moment is captivating. He leaves us wanting so much more, not because there isn't enough there, but because so many subplots support the meat of this story that we are left on the edge of our seats waiting to devour whatever comes next. I can't wait. I'll say it again: this is a fantastic read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #13

Oct 23, 2016

Uncanny Avengers is easily one of my favorite books Marvel is currently publishing and if they continue to put out issues like this one, it will stay a favorite for a long time. If you are not reading this title, you are missing something special. Solid art matched with great storytelling is not always the easiest thing to find in the world of current comics, but Uncanny Avengers has both.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More