Robber Barron's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Barron Network Reviews: 33
8.3Avg. Review Rating

6.0
All-New X-Factor #1

Jan 8, 2014

I am also not a fan of the X-Factor uniform. I dont get why they look like bananas or why Gambit would just join them so quickly? Is it really that easy to recruit an X-Man?! The idea behind X-Factor is pretty interesting so I am not willing to throw in the towel just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
American Vampire: The Long Road to Hell #1

Jun 13, 2013

Even though Travis feels more like an afterthought in this issue I have to give it a perfect score because Scott and Rafael reminded me why I cant wait for American Vampire to come back!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2011) #23

Aug 29, 2013

While I love what Geoff Johns has done with the character in general I am just not a fan of this arc or the art that accompanies it. The way this issue ended though does open up Aquaman for a whole new world which could be enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Superman (2013) #1

Jun 26, 2013

The art by Jae Lee just destroys this issue. The panels are just gorgeous and I love the way he depicts emotions. Jae captures emotions not only by a characters facial expression but also the background he sets up. Jae Lees stylistic art may not be for everyone but for me its perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cyborg 009 #0

May 1, 2013

I refuse to bad mouth this book because I feel like a kid on Christmas. I love the Art, Writing and the Style. I have clearly added another book to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Damian: Son of Batman #2

Nov 27, 2013

Damian Wayne is back and he is wearing the 666 Batman costume why would I not love this book?!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
East of West #2

Apr 24, 2013

I can't stress enough how interesting this story is for any reader. I feel like were on an epic journey that will only lead to an absolutely amazing story. Along the way were not only treated by Jonathan Hickman's writing but also Nick Drogotta's Art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
East of West #3

Jun 5, 2013

I love when I can root for the anti-hero in a book and that is exactly what death is. He is a gun slinging cowboy that doesnt take garbage from anyone. I mean the last panel basically sums up the characters personality for me. East of West is not something any comic book fan should miss out on. Trust me every single issue is a classic and if you loved the first two issues you will love the third

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Eternal Warrior #1

Sep 11, 2013

I just cant see this being a series that I will continue to pick up. This may seem harsh but after one issue I will be shelving this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fables #129

May 15, 2013

What made this issue really great was the fact we finally caught up to present time in which Therese comes back home! That could only mean all of our questions will finally be answered!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fables #133

Sep 18, 2013

The art was fantastic but the Camelot story arc is missing some heart we have come to love and know.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil #1

Sep 5, 2013

DC had me at Earth 3. This is easily one of the most important events to happen since the New 52 started.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #3

Jun 13, 2013

I think I say this a lot about Marvel Now! But I have to reiterate that if a writer can bring in a new reader like me into a series that they have no prior knowledge about then the book is a success. Unlike Iron Man, Guardians of the Galaxy is a perfect book for anyone new to the Marvel Universe!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible #102

Apr 24, 2013

My only issue is that why didnt Nolan just kill Thragg?! Thragg is clearly going to be a threat in the future and no matter how much Nolan has changed he should know better than to keep someone like that around. I know this is going to straight up bite Nolan in the ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Invincible #104

Jul 18, 2013

Ever since issue #100 I have felt like we have been just reading aimlessly. Hopefully Atom Eve has her baby and lots of drama insures!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invincible #110

Apr 10, 2014

Invincible is a comic book that always pushes the limits of violence and even though there have been issues with people having their brains squished out I dont think any issue comes close to this latest one in terms of violence. As I sit here I still feel Marks pain and as the book closes Mark can only utter oh God. I am unsure how Mark will come out of this because he is such a resilient character but he could lose all confidence In who he is and when he encounters Anissa again it could only get worst. What makes matters worst is that if Anissa does become pregnant then Mark will now have to deal with a child born from rape. Our hero Mark could end up having two children in one year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody #1

Jul 11, 2013

If you enjoy reading books that are simply fun and make you laugh Woody & Quantum is an easy sell. It's too early to tell if this series will become a powerhouse but I will definitely be returning for the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood And The Outlaws #19

Apr 18, 2013

I also really hated the art in this issue. The new artist Julius Gopez draws Roy really weird and the change in art styles is really noticeable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Saga #14

Sep 25, 2013

This may have not been the best issue in the series but I am still on the Saga train for the long run. I only hope that the next few issues pick up the pace even if its only slightly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sons of Anarchy #1

Sep 11, 2013

There were some panels in which the characters emotions felt a bit flat. In particular there is a panel in which Tig is supposed to be completely pissed but instead he looks only slightly mad. I am also not a fan of the eye designs for some of the characters. It almost looked like some characters just had slits for eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #8

Apr 18, 2013

I dont like how the Avengers conflict was blown up as a major issue in Superior but that wasnt the case at all. It just felt like the Avengers conflict was a little blip in Ottos otherwise perfect life. Luckily for Peter the Avengers are not the only ones suspicious about Spideys new attitude.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #9

May 1, 2013

The emotions Ryan Stegman portrayed for Peter were priceless and you really get a sense of his despair. I also believe the panel in which Doc Ock says Commencing Mind-Wipe will be one of those classic images that will stick with fans for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #11

Jun 5, 2013

The art here is something I have just grown accustomed to. Not to say that it is bad its just that it fits this book and thats fine. It doesnt wow me like Saga, East of West or Hawkeye but it holds its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superior Spider-Man #14

Jul 25, 2013

Dan Slott youre a king when it comes to writing Spidey

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thanos Rising #2

May 1, 2013

I found it really weird that Thanos was able to kill 17 people and yet no one was able to pinpoint it down to him? Andy Griffith must be the mayor of his city because this police force is an absolute joke. I also dont get why this girl is absolutely pushing Thanos into killing and yet she never kills?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thanos Rising #5

Aug 29, 2013

The Thanos rising series maybe over but that doesnt mean we wont be seeing this villain. By now all of you have heard about the Infinity event. Well Thanos is on the first cover so clearly he isnt going anywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Legend of Luther Strode #5

May 15, 2013

This week's issue just brought the action and at the end of the day that's what this series is all about. I love the sadistic cat and mouse game Jack likes to play but I love watching him throw knives even more. I also got a kick out of Petra's over the top cursing. Almost every word was sh*t F*ck but I loved it. As much as I love Justin Jordan's story I have to say without Tradd Moore the series would feel empty. Tradd Moore's unique drawing style lends its self to the story and makes the action sequences that much more fluid.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wake #1

May 30, 2013

If youre a big fan of sci-fi films from the 70s and 80s then this book is exactly what you need. If youre a fan of mystery and the loch ness monster this is where you need to be spending your moneyHell if you love Scott Snyder and Sean Murphy then you already know what youre in for. These two do live up to the hype and trust me you wont be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Wake #2

Jun 26, 2013

My only issue with this book is that I think it will read better in trade. It feels like this is one continuous story that shouldnt be broken up what so ever. I mean until the trade comes out we have the issues and I for one will be enjoying it

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wake #4

Sep 25, 2013

I once believed that Scott Snyders worked best with Rafael Albuquerque but after reading the Wake I have to say Sean Murphy is giving the duo a run for their money. Sean does gorgeous character facial expressions as well as backgrounds. The fact that most of the story takes place underwater is also a testament to his talent because more often than not artists have a tough time capturing underwater art but that is not the case with Sean Murphy

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thor: God of Thunder #10

Jul 18, 2013

Were finally coming to an end and I for one cant wait for some new stories

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men (2013) #8

Jul 11, 2013

If you're not reading Uncanny X-Men you should be. Its an awesome story of the re-birth of Mutant kind and the troubles that comes with being different.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men (2013) #1

May 30, 2013

Brian Wood's new series has been given the name X-Men for a reason and I believe he will live up to the hype. This was a solid entry for this series and I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More