RobertJCross's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 104
8.8Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Alice Cooper #1

Sep 3, 2014

Pretty solid debut, but let's see where it goes...

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Alice Cooper #2

Oct 16, 2014

I'm not completely smitten with this comic yet. If you're a Cooper fan, pick it up. If not, don't.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Annihilator #1

Sep 11, 2014

I know what you're thinking. You don't have to say it. The title sounds really freaking corny. And I was in total agreement until I started reading it. What a treasure it was to see what the title referred to and what it all meant to the overlying theme. In fact, I'm not going to give any of it away. The cover is extremely misleading though. You will think this comic has a hero/villain dichotomy, but you'll be wrong. OK! I'll give one thing away: This comic has more to do with "external agents" than internal ones....though internal is most of what you're going to get.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Annihilator #2

Oct 9, 2014

Another great issue and I'm stoked for the next!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Annihilator #3

Nov 20, 2014

Perfect issue, highly recommended. BUY IT!!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Annihilator #4

Dec 18, 2014

Irving is one of the great comic book artists of our time and this issue is just further proof of that. I've always been so astonished in the way that he separates the different world's and how the muted colors burst with so much life. As you can see by the cover that he drew, he's a fan of symmetry and I believe that he and Morrison are two parts of a symmetrical whole just as Lomax and Ray are in the story. You see? I could go all days relating little things to 4 issues (so far) of one of the best comics I've ever seen or read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Barb Wire (2015) #1

Jul 2, 2015

I liked this one a lot. Pick it up if you're down for something new.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #1

Mar 12, 2015

Pretty good issue. Definitely excited for this series and the game! READ IT!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Arkham Knight #3

Apr 23, 2015

PICK THIS UP! Especially if you like Batman or the games. Classic stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Arkham Knight #5

Jun 4, 2015

Pretty good stuff! Pick it up!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Blackcross #1

Mar 4, 2015

Great first issue. Want more, want it now! Pick this bad boy up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackcross #2

Apr 1, 2015

Loving this comic. Pick it up now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackcross #3

May 14, 2015

Pick this up, it's getting REALLY good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blackcross #4

Jun 18, 2015

Another great issue! Love it! Grab it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Reborn #1

Apr 16, 2015

I can't wait for the next issue. This amazing! Pick it up! You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Butterfly #1

Sep 23, 2014

Pretty good for a #1 out of the gate. Pick this up if you are so inclined.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Convergence: Batman and Robin #1

Apr 9, 2015

Epic issue. Pick it up batfans!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Convergence: Batman and Robin #2

May 7, 2015

Awesome issue. Really touching at the end. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Convergence: Detective Comics #1

Apr 30, 2015

The art team knock it out of the park, of course. This is what you'd expect from a DC release. Russia was the best out of the two universes. The snow and the overall feeling of poverty was there. It made for the setpieces having more power than the written word on the page, which I'm not a HUGE fan of...but I don't complain. The Batmobile and the Batcavesthat Huntress and Robin find themselves in throughout are also full of little easter eggs if you look close enough to the surroundings. I enjoyed the art thouroughly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Critical Hit #2

Oct 30, 2014

Art was masterful, story....not so much...

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes #1

Nov 26, 2014

I loved it. It was a good start to the series. Can't wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes #2

Dec 24, 2014

McDaidkills it yet again in the art department. I loved a lot of what he was doing with the setpieces and the ape's expressions. The human qualities in the ape faces really make you relate to their struggle, and then of course the actual humans are about as relatable as a stale bundtcake. But that's the beauty of these stories and this universe. We find our true human compassion because we're able to be empathic towards animals that (while certainly straddlingthe line of intelligence) are weaker than us. The art and the imagery help cement this fact, even moreso than some of the writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes #3

Feb 5, 2015

McDaid is a quality artist as well and he really captures the ape's movements well in every panel. The humans are just human and while that isn't necessarily as exciting as the apes, he does a good job of it. The ape fighting is amazing though and everything really does seems plausible. Even some of the background details are heartbreaking and add to the character of the whole issue. Nothing to complain about, it's all very well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes #4

Feb 26, 2015

Good issue for the artwork, alright issue for the writing. Pick it up if you like the series!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ei8ht #1

Feb 18, 2015

Awesome debut issue. Super stoked for the rest!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Escape from New York #1

Dec 3, 2014

I loved it and you'll love it too. PICK IT UP!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Escape from New York #2

Jan 7, 2015

I'm telling you right now, it's good. Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Escape from New York #3

Feb 4, 2015

You gotta start reading this one. It's phenomenal! Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eternal Warrior: Days of Steel #1

Nov 6, 2014

I'm kinda bummed this is only a 3-issue arc. Great start so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ex-Con #1

Sep 3, 2014

Speaking of Frank Miller, that's EXACTLY whose art most looks like it inspired Keith Burns. This is definitely not a negative. It just adds the grittiness that's needed for this story. Burns even takes cues from Miller comics like Sin City in the delicate act of coitus and the way light falls on the nude body (yes, this comic has nudity). I found it refreshing and I immediately wanted to recommend this to all my buddies who dig Fran Miller. Can't wait to see what he does for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ex-Con #2

Oct 8, 2014

I enjoyed this issue as much as the first and I'm hoping that the goodness continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ex-Con #3

Nov 13, 2014

The best issue of Ex-Con so far, but of course, it is nothing without the whole...pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ex-Con #4

Dec 10, 2014

You'd be hard pressed to find anything better for the subject matter and the setting. I feel like if I had been gifted with a knack at drawing comics, I'd be imitating Burns in this comic. Too good, almost not fair to everybody else.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ex-Con #5

Jan 14, 2015

This issue features our main glow reading character finally figuring everything out and leaving a few bodies in his wake while doing so. It's so quick and action packed that you really get through every issue really effortlessly, but you're drained by the end of it. The ending was my only gripe, but only because it felt rushed and because I didn't want it to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #1

Sep 25, 2014

This was super cool and I want to see what happens next! Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #2

Oct 21, 2014

Man, pick this up. It's a great comic, G.I. Joe or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #3

Nov 26, 2014

Another quality issue. Come for the story, stay for the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #4

Dec 17, 2014

Good issue if you want all story and little to no action. The art is breathtaking.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #5

Feb 11, 2015

Good issue! Keep at it! It has to pay off soon, I know it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #6

Mar 5, 2015

Things are heating up! Pick up this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #7

Apr 1, 2015

Good issue full of twists and turns...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2014) #8

Apr 29, 2015

Traviss is amazing at what she does. The dialogue and the deception are thick like a novel. You can't look away mentally or you might miss something that gets referred to later in the issue. This always causes problems when reading but I appreciate her attention to the storyline over making the subject matter dull. The only dull thing though is the lack of action. I just think that whenever I hear the name GI JOE, I think ACTION, but this is like a Bourne Supremacy comic book more than it is a GI JOE comic book. Again, nothing wrong with delving into plot, but you have to be able to cater to multiple demographics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe: Snake Eyes - Agent of COBRA #1

Jan 20, 2015

Pretty good first issue. If you're a Joe fan, pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
G.I. Joe: Snake Eyes - Agent of COBRA #2

Feb 25, 2015

Amazing issue. Absolutely loved it! Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Genius #2

Aug 12, 2014

Richardson's art was pretty good, but there were a couple panels that weren't great. Alas, not everything can be perfect. Aside from that, everything was and the artwork in the action scenes flew off the page. You could practically smell the embers as they rose from the burning cars and destruction. Lovely setpieces and it looked enough like L.A. to believe it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Genius #3

Aug 19, 2014

Richardson delivers again in the art department. Every inch of that little space in South Central is drawn to perfection. The characters come to life as always, breathing and emoting like only Richardson can draw. I love the way she makes Destiny this unassuming hero with her facial expressions, but the writing cuts into the art to make every line mean something different each time you read. Richardson can make the most vicious character look approachable. I applaud her work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Genius #4

Aug 26, 2014

If you haven't started reading this or you have read the previous three...more gold, BUY NOW!!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Genius #5

Aug 27, 2014

If the writing is the brains of the operation, then Richardson's art is the soul and the backbone. Christ almighty, what beautifulspreads that this woman can create. The color, the majesty, the grace, the sexuality. It exudes off the page with every new panel and of course we'll be seeing more of it in other comic runs. Whoever doesn't hire this fine artist is doing themselves a great disservice. I personally can't wait for her return, and anyone who reads this series should definitely feel the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla in Hell #1

Jul 15, 2015

I enjoyed it, but it's a fast read. Check it out if you're a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla: Cataclysm #1

Aug 12, 2014

Wachter's art is lovely. The Kaiju and the humans are all drawn in such a harsh way that the sadness that encapsulates the atmosphere just vibrates through your retinas. I also dug the monotonal colors at parts that were dreams or depressing scenes. Wachter also drew Big G like a master. Seeing Godzilla wrecking the scene on the page made the kid in me smile a big hearty smile. Anything Godzilla related really.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Godzilla: Cataclysm #2

Sep 18, 2014

Love this comic and it's shaping up to be a great addition to the Godzilla franchise. BUY IT!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla: Cataclysm #3

Oct 22, 2014

Another quality issue! Get your scaly hands on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla: Cataclysm #5

Dec 17, 2014

Great ending, sad it's over...but there might be more...who knows? Pick this up if you love Godzilla.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellraiser: Bestiary #1

Aug 19, 2014

This comic is a testament to Barker's genius and the future of Hellraiser. If you're a fan, read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellraiser: Bestiary #2

Sep 17, 2014

Another great issue, can't wait for #3!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: Warlord of Mars #1

Nov 5, 2014

And more Malsuni's fault. Not to say that his art was bad, because it wasn't, it was really great. I just couldn't condone him looking at the script of this issue and drawing the outline of the character that gets revealed and thinking..."can you really tell?" Because I could. Other than that disappointment though, the character drawings were magnificent and everything flowed well. But I just can't get over that reveal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: Warlord of Mars #2

Dec 10, 2014

Great issue, pick it up if you're a fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
John Carter: Warlord of Mars #3

Jan 6, 2015

I'm under the impression that Malsuni actually lived on Mars at one point. The art is literally OUT OF THIS WORLD. I love the creature designs (which he obviously got from the original books, but the updated versions rule) because Malsunibrings them to life so effortlessly. Paired with the writing of course, you could see these things actually existing. When an artist can do that in a world like this, it goes a long way into connecting with the characters. I feel likeeveryone involved in the story is slowly gaining my emotional dependence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
John Carter: Warlord of Mars #7

May 28, 2015

Another stellar issue. Always impressed. PICK IT UP!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
King: Flash Gordon #1

Jan 29, 2015

Pick it up if you're a fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Last Born #2

Oct 29, 2014

Artwork aside, which I'm going to give a slight pass on, this was a solid comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lone Ranger / Green Hornet #1

Jul 9, 2016

Pretty sweet comic! If you like The Lone Ranger, pick this up! NOW!!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Miami Vice Remix #1

Mar 25, 2015

Not my cup of tea. Skip this unless you are a Miami Vice fanatic and even then you might wanna skip this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnight Society: The Black Lake #1

Jun 11, 2015

Where Johnson's strength is however is in his art. It reminded me a lot of the John Carter: Warlord of Mars comics I've been reading recently. It's raw art that is unfiltered with master strokes that aren't inked over like most. As much as I love Alex Ross and menton3, this guy's work is pretty impressive further down the totem pole. I'm sure he has more surprises in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightworld #1

Aug 6, 2014

If you dig older comics, don't skip this series. If you don't, read Preacher or something.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sleepy Hollow #1

Oct 14, 2014

So, if you like the show...buy it. If you've never seen the show, give it a try. It's pretty good!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sleepy Hollow #2

Nov 20, 2014

Great issue! Check it out if you're a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sleepy Hollow #3

Dec 24, 2014

Another quality issue. GET IT!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sleepy Hollow #4

Jan 27, 2015

Great send off to a pretty good series. Hope there's more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek / Planet of the Apes #1

Dec 31, 2014

If you're a fan of either, pick this bad boy up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek / Planet of the Apes #2

Jan 20, 2015

Another awesome issue and a must have if you're a fan of either franchise. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek / Planet of the Apes #4

Mar 18, 2015

Lovely issue. NEED MORE! Pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swords of Sorrow #1

May 6, 2015

Pretty great all around. Highly recommend you pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swords of Sorrow #2

Jun 4, 2015

Dynamite continues to impress. Pick this one up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tales Of Honor: Bred To Kill #1

Jun 17, 2015

Hawkins and Wickline write some pretty solid dialogue that reads well and they've got the futuristic bafoon down with Honor's male companions. Honor though is written a bit too "dramatic" which I guess makes sense since she would need a grandiose life in order to serve as chief protagonist in a sci-fi comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Terminal Hero #1

Aug 5, 2014

All in all, a great start to a hopefully long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #1

Aug 19, 2014

Pick this up. You will NOT be disappointed. Instant classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #2

Oct 1, 2014

I don't think I have to sell you on it if you've read the first issue already, but if you are still not convinced...look down at the score. ;-)

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #3

Nov 11, 2014

BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT!!! The best there is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #5

Apr 16, 2015

I love this series. One of the best. Pick it up today!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #6

May 21, 2015

If you haven't started buying/reading this series, I can't recommend it enough. A true classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fade Out #7

Jun 24, 2015

If you haven't started reading this comic, you're missing out. PICK IT UP NOWWWWWWWW!! Doctor's orders!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fly: Outbreak #1

Mar 19, 2015

Amazing first issue, can't wait for the next one. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fly: Outbreak #2

Apr 23, 2015

I praised menton3last issue because of his amazing artwork and I have to do it once again. Just out-of-control how good this guy is at capturing the mood of the writing and the franchise. I know that this guy probably watched The Fly movies more than a few times and probably had access to some of the concept art from the films. That's the only way I can see him being this good at what he does. Every pencil stroke hits the mark and every panel is full of life. I love it and I love the art. It's breathtaking.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fly: Outbreak #3

May 28, 2015

Another amazing issue. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fly: Outbreak #4

Jul 22, 2015

Another stellar issue. PICK IT UP!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Multiversity: Mastermen #1

Feb 19, 2015

This was a great first issue. Easy 10/10. Pick it up DC fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shrinking Man #1

Jul 31, 2015

Pretty cool first issue. I enjoyed it! Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #130

Aug 13, 2014

The art team always delivers in the atmosphere department. The black & white gives the words all the power and helps drive the somber story. It's an interesting technique that helps catapult Adlard's facial expressions into easily read dialogue. It's always been good and in any kind of depressing narrative, it'd be paramount.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #131

Sep 12, 2014

The art team brings the pain as usual. Everything is muted and hollow. The white space in every panel is probably symbolic, though I could just be over thinkingit. Either way, the art is harsh and desolate in its composition. This is where the story is told without words and the words are right in the panel. Black and white suits the mood though, better than anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #132

Oct 2, 2014

Really good issue and great setup for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #133

Oct 23, 2014

Pick it up, pick it up, pick it up! Great issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #134

Nov 13, 2014

Another great issue, pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #135

Dec 11, 2014

Good issue, pick it up for the collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #136

Jan 15, 2015

Don't have anything to say about the art team that i haven't already said. Everything is still in glorious black and white. The facial expressions are still some of the best in comics today and the cover was pretty cool as well. Skybound even released an animated cover for this issue, I don't know if they've been doing that, but I caught wind of it today and checked it out. Maybe a Walking Dead animated series on the horizon? Wouldn't that be cool?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #137

Feb 12, 2015

This was a really stellar issue. I wonder if Kirkman is trying to use the same techniques that Linklater used in Boyhood, I can see some similarities between it and the story developing with Carl. In this issue we get a LOT of insight into Carl's growth. There's some stuff with Maggie, and it's VERY important, but this is purely a Carl issue. Again, no zombies. No surprise there though, this comic has become more about the inner turmoil of the humans rather than their struggle to take down the zombie hordes. This issue is more of the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #138

Mar 13, 2015

Amazing issue as always. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #139

Mar 26, 2015

As with all the other issues...PICK IT UP! Great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #140

Apr 9, 2015

Black and white never looked so good as it does in this comic. I always assume it would be a lot easier since you don't need to figure out colors for everything, but this art team has to trick the reader into inserting their own colors. They do a great job of it as always and the facial expressions are still some of the best I've seen in any comic the past 10 years. Always impressed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #141

May 14, 2015

Pick it up...things are getting weird...

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #142

Jun 11, 2015

The art team continues to shine monotone treasures all over the page. I can never find anything wrong with what they do. The facial expressions are all masterful, the foiliage is all masterful, the buildings are all masterful, the movement is all masterful, the complete package is all masterful. And yet, even devoid of color, it adds so much to the plot. Perhaps it's my own bias but I believe this is the best black & white comic ever produced. Other companies could learn a thing or two from draining the color out of there franchises. I would imagine that a Batman or Venom comic would be amazing in black & white. Love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #143

Jun 25, 2015

Another stellar issue. PICK IT UP!!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #144

Jul 8, 2015

Kirkman showed his reading audience that they should start paying attention to every panel instead of just the main ones. The clues were there but I sure as heck didn't see it until both Kirkman and Rick Grimes spelled it out for me like killers revealing a motive. It was perfect and even in the Letter Hacks in the back of the issue, he quotes the art staffs surprise as they read the script for the issue. That's how you know it's good, when even the people who've been working on the comic since day one are taken aback by the reveal. Absolutely awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Twilight Zone #10

Dec 3, 2014

Awesome issue if you're a Twilight Zone fan!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More