Tyler Omichinski's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comix I Read Reviews: 35
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Abe Sapien #23

May 16, 2015

The piece is a little disappointing for a Mike Mignola/Scott Allie/Kevin Nowlan outing. Instead, it is another good piece from them that falls short of their other work, but is still a fun read. Definitely worth picking up if you are already a fan of the Hellboy universe, but if you're thinking about jumping in it is not the best place to do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Airboy #1

Jun 6, 2015

Past the dicks hanging out, and seriously – Hinkle is packing an anaconda apparently, there's something here. I have a buzzing going on in the back of my brain after reading this. There are thoughts and ideas sparking off of each other. This is about a certain lifestyle that some people live, are forced into. This is like Charles Bukowski or Chuck Palahniuk. Drugs and fucking and pain. That might be the kind of thing you want to freebase. If it is, light up.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Airboy #2

Jul 4, 2015

I feel like a disappointed parent, seeing that things have gone terribly wrong again. The team was trying to show two people at their lowest, terrible people doing some terrible things, and I'm cool with that. This was outside of what was necessary.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Arcadia #1

May 5, 2015

If you at all like transhumanism or the thought experiments that we can have over different blends and types of futurism, this is a great read for you. Even if you don't, it is still a great comic and I'm very excited to see where it goes. If you specifically dislike the post-apocalyptic uploading brains to computers vibe that's going on here, then it is worth avoiding for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Arcadia #2

Jun 2, 2015

Arcadia is definitely worth picking up. It appears to surmount the difficulty that the Its Canon team have brought up regarding publishing schedules making story lines stilted. Whether you grab it now, or wait for the collection, Arcadia is probably good for anyone in the mood for a sci fi thriller.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #131

May 27, 2015

Not the greatest piece that has come out of camp Hellboy, but not bad either. Its a good read and continues to develop characters and storylines that you're already familiar with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curb Stomp #2

Mar 27, 2015

Curb Stomp is great; that's really the long and the short of it. Its an awesome exploration of exploitation type films with a group of women as the lead. There is no over sexualization and the story benefits so much for it. The characters are all painted in broad strokes with some cliches to them, but its to forward the story rather than serve as a crutch for it. With clean punchy lines, beautiful artwork that lends itself to the writing and it all works together to create a great product. Why are you still reading this? Go pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curb Stomp #4

May 30, 2015

Its a good ending. A really good ending. Its a little sloppy, a little bit odd, but its good. Its very 1980's, which is what we were promised. I think my concerns are that I built it up in my head to be something that it wasn't, leaving a weird cognitive dissonance behind. Its still good though, and you should grab this, or all of Curb Stomp if you haven't read it yet. Its worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fight Club 2 #1

May 30, 2015

Hmm…Do not read this if you're squeamish – there are only hints of where this can go but already we see the hints of the distance to which Tyler Durden is willing to go here, and it is unlikely to be nice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fight Club 2 #2

Jun 27, 2015

It is still full of rage and sorrow and pain, just as it should be. I hope that my fears of this not living up to its potential are without cause, and that the references to previous work will ultimately prove to be clever references instead of a joyless attempt to cash in on rebellious sentiments. I don't think we're there, but I remain vigilant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fight Club 2 #3

Jul 29, 2015

Come of the over the top violence, stay for the deconstruction of modern masculinity, nihilistic viewpoints, and a scathing critique of a society that is so obviously unwell in many ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fight Club 2 #10

Apr 7, 2016

I think its worth picking up this series and trying to sort through it. In some ways it reminds me of The Filth, and its still rattling around in my head. I suspect that it'll be up there for a little bit yet. That is a good sign in and of itself, especially when I'm thinking about the ideas and themes in it, instead of thinking about the things that frustrated me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hacktivist Vol. 2 #3

Sep 23, 2015

Given the lead times that have to be put into the writing of comics, it is astounding how well this team manages to feel like their pieces could be ripped from the headlines. Hacktivist continues to deliver a powerful message about the changing world we live in, and generally provides a nuanced approach to the viewpoints of the different actors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invader Zim #1

Jul 8, 2015

Zim and crew are weird. Really weird. Really really weird. You're either going to like that or you aren't. Fortunately, there is a great way to pre-find out for yourself. Go to Youtube, look up Invader Zim, and then see if our little green friend makes you laugh or not. The comics are more of that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
James Bond #1

Nov 4, 2015

Its odd - there are definitely things here to complain about. Bond is a little sleazier than in the novels or even in the movies, lusting after hypothetical nurses in an exchange. There's the weird going on about his pistol, and some other oddities, including being dressed down by M for similarly odd reasons. Despite all of these complaints, I really like it. Its the stuff of pure nostalgia " I like Bond, even when he's a complete tool. Even if you aren't digging this particular interpretation, Ellis and company very obviously have love for this character and are doing something they believe in with their interpretation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Dragons #1

Dec 3, 2015

Its certainly good, though I'm not sure if I'd say that its great. That being said, it might not be entirely for me. The series still contains holdovers both thematically and in deliver that suggest its more for a younger audience. This entire premise might be another way to try to get kids interested in comics, and provides an option for parents to buy an all-ages comic for people.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Joyride #1

Apr 20, 2016

Honestly - just pick this up. It is a great series already. Anything that has me sitting at my desk with a goofy grin before I've had a second coffee for the day has got to be doing something right. I'm expecting big things out of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Joyride #3

Jun 22, 2016

This series is definitely worth picking up. Boom! has been knocking it out of the park lately, and this is just another property that is definitely worth picking up. Joyride is an amazing space opera that doesn't take itself too seriously. It dances across the line of funny and serious like a professional, pulling you into the belief that this could certainly be a world with people in it just as believable as your own.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mantle #1

May 16, 2015

What I ThoughtIn case you haven't noticed from my other reviews and my appearances on the podcast, I'm not the biggest superhero fan. No big problem with them, just they aren't my go to. With The Mantle that might change. This is hitting all the right buttons for me, and I'm on board. Now I've just got to go figure out what the release schedule is for this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mythic #1

May 16, 2015

I'm interested, but the premise may be a little too weird to be worth sticking with. So far, it seems like its pretty awesome. Its funny, ridiculous, and a little bit of the right kind of violence. The plot and art are both playing with different myths and ideas, and it'll be interesting to see where this ends up. In my view; its worth checking out and seeing if its worth sticking with, but if you aren't interested in this kind of thing maybe wait to see which direction the wind ends up going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Providence #1

May 30, 2015

I, for one, am intrigued by Moore's claims that he's bringing the fear back to Cthluhu. Hopefully the chibi Cthluhus and my Little Cthluhus are going to be given a reminder that what they did first was grip at the dreams and fears of humans, reminded them of their own meaninglessness. Doing so would mean a great boon and a move away from the more humorous and cute things we've gotten recently from many corners.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Providence #2

Jul 15, 2015

Pick this up. Alan Moore is delivering something fascinating and beautiful here, and Providence is the kind of horror writing I feel we should support. There is a lot of shlock out there in horror right now – lots of gore and things done over the top for shock and laughs, not that there's anything wrong with that, but I feel that we need some more subtlety, some more things that cause real nightmares, and stories that cause us to sit in the dark and, if we're not scared, at least feel a little concerned about things.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Providence #3

Aug 15, 2015

Alan Moore is, thus far, certainly delivering on the promise he made about about bringing back the horror to Lovecraft. The story is compelling, if unsettling at times. It is also important to note that this particular issue has a great deal of nudity in it, often in bizarre situations, so keep that in mind when you're on a foray into the world presented here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Wars #1

May 10, 2015

Time will tell whether this event will be worthwhile in the long run for more than just collapsing the ultimate universe, but at the time being it is just alright. It stands as a good example of the good and bad that comes with this body of continuity. The continuity that we all love as comic readers. It is always difficult to deliver on the demands of a voracious audience that wants to know who would win in various match-ups and so on. Its good, its just not yet where I think its going to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Space Riders #3

Jun 16, 2015

This piece probably isn't for me. I got that. I can still appreciate what's going on here. Its a clever and well-done homage to an era of science fiction. If what I've described here sounds good to you, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Black Dahlia #1

Jun 15, 2016

If you're in the mood for a solid noir story, and sticking with all the tropes and themes of the genre, you can do far worse than Black Dahlia. It is not the best comic I've ever read, but it is a solid piece and I'll be excited to see how this team continues to develop their positions in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dying and the Dead #2

Apr 8, 2015

If you like previous Hickman works, you'll love this. If you are looking for something a little different, you'll probably like it still. If you're feeling old and beaten down sometimes, and thinking a bit about your own mortality, definitely check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Sculptor #1

Mar 26, 2015

Classic superhero escapism this is not. Instead, this is a reflection on what it takes to be successful at any attempt at artwork. Throughout the main character is trying to balances sacrifices; largely relationships versus his work, as he attempts to create something of value. Any person who feels that desire and drive within them to create should pick this piece up for an incredibly honest approach to the process of making art. The writing and art are beautiful and work in concert to support this final goal of having a frank and no holds barred discussion of the process of trying to be a writer, an artist, a sculptor, or any other creative pursuit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Tithe #1

Apr 16, 2015

If politics is your bag, or you have issues with the rise of mega-churchs that have pastors that have annual salaries in the millions, this piece is for you. In terms of being a good heist piece; it may be a bit early to tell. The set-up seems to be good so far, but there are a couple areas where I'm worried its going to fall into some cliches. These have not yet come to fruition, but it remains entirely possible that the team here may yet snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Witcher: Fox Children #2

May 10, 2015

Good for fans of the games or novels that are willing to sit through a comic adaptation, or if you're seeking out some dark fantasy. I'm not sure who else would enjoy reading these.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Witcher: Fox Children #3

Jun 5, 2015

Much better than last time, and at this point the series is probably actually worth reading. I feel a bit like they actually heard many of my complaints from last time, and have responded to them, though I sincerely doubt it was my bitching. Always nice to see things improving though, and with this latest installment, this is a good series to pick up and read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Transference #2

Aug 21, 2015

You should probably go and pick this series up " it is in its early stages right now, and it is already a compelling and interesting time travel story. There isn't any heavy info-dumps to explain the science of things, and it delivers on the promised premise in a very self-aware way. If you like thrillers of just about any kind, or are just a fan of time travel, this series is probably for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Virgil OGN #1

Sep 9, 2015

The team behind this piece deserves kudos and awards for it. The characters involved are not essentialized, nor are they mistreated by their creators (even when violent things happen to them). Instead, they do, even when doing bad things, what they believe in and are all too believable while they do it. They are not shying away from the darker sides of humanity, and are prepared to show us how dark things can be, even coming to a satisfying conclusion to an ultra-violent revenge fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wayward #12

Dec 16, 2015

Seriously " pick up Wayward #12. And every single issue before it if you haven't already. The series doesn't follow a tired plotline that could all too easily be fallen into, and instead meditates on the balancing act of the new generation that is coming up right now versus the old. In this age of disruption, its compelling to see such an insightful and well told story that grapples with some of these very issues. I don't know how the team does it, but it is a timely piece that definitely captures the zeitgeist. Must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Stand On Guard #1

Jul 4, 2015

Its fun, its cute, its not taking things too seriously at this point. If you like war stories, its probably worth picking up. Its a ridiculous showdown between Canada and the United States, two siblings in nearly every sense of the word. We fight, we squabble, we tease, but at the end of the day, we've usually got each others' backs.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More