William Tournas's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Weekly Crisis Reviews: 26
8.7Avg. Review Rating

9
Bounce #2

Jun 26, 2013

Joe Casey does a fantastic job of portraying the stoner turned anti-hero, who wants to beat up bad guys and score the latest cheapest high. The character dialogue feels fresh and flows naturally. David Messina's artwork provides even more depth to the characters with impressive line work, which is complimented by Giovanna Niro's colours.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chew #31

Jan 22, 2013

As with all issues, this one is filled with gags which Layman and Guillory have snuck in that will have you going back in case you've missed something (comment below on one you noticed). CHEW #31 is also a great jumping on point for new readers and I highly recommend you tell your friends about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
East of West #3

Jun 5, 2013

Hickman's work is always mind-bending and always requires a second read for myself. That's not a fault, but shows more how bold, crazy and challenging his stories tend to be. Nick Dragotta's artwork and Frank Martin's colour work is astounding in this series. I couldn't picture the detail in which Dragotta has gone into this work done by anyone else. Martin's colours bring the right kind of mood to each page and flesh out characters and scenes to their full extent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
East of West #4

Jul 10, 2013

Dragotta's art styling continues to amaze, with each panel having so much detail that you could spend hours looking at the pages. The battle scenes are made even more gorgeous by Martin's amazing colour palette, while Wooton's letters seem to leave you hanging on every breath of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Five Weapons #4

May 28, 2013

This series has been a gem since the beginning and depending on the outcome of the next issue I would love to read another series if possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Guarding the Globe Vol. 2 #6

Feb 5, 2013

Todd Nauck's artwork is great in this issue, keeping it all together for the large battle scenes and the intense one on one moments. John Rauch's colour work is great for linking it to the same feel of Invincible, but also having sticking out at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Lazarus #1

Jun 26, 2013

Michael Lark's art style helps convey the darkness of this dystopian future tale, with fantastic line work and attention to detail. Santi Arcas colour pallet through the issue helps Lark's art pop even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mara #2

Jan 29, 2013

Given it is the second issue in a miniseries, I feel someone could easily jump onto this here without having the read the first one, but you would be missing out on an enriching first book. Definitely check this series out and grab a copy of one if you haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mara #5

Jun 18, 2013

Ming Doyle and Jordie Bellaire excute the feelings and emotions of this story so well with their gorgeous art styles. From emotive descriptions on the faces of characters, to bursts of bright colours, Doyle and Bellaire bring their brilliant art to this book which has me just seitting at a page and just staring.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Mudman #6

Feb 5, 2013

Mudman is a traditional style superhero comic, but created with more of an independent feel to it. It's well worth time and money. Make sure you grab this issue and first trade if you haven't read issues 1 - 5

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nowhere Men #5

May 21, 2013

Stephenson has written a fictional world that I could believe was real in this day and age, with Bellegarde and Bellaire breathing air into work and making it even more real. If I could compare it to anything, I would say its a modern day Watchmen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Perhapanauts: Danger Down Under #4

Feb 5, 2013

If you haven't been reading The Perhapanauts: Danger Down Under before, I recommend grabbing the previous three issues as well as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Peter Panzerfaust #9

Feb 12, 2013

If you haven't been reading this series I highly recommend you pick up the first trade (collecting issues 1 " 5) and catch up on the rest of the series. A really great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Repossessed #2

Feb 5, 2013

Repossessed is a fun and interesting ride. Very much worth checking out especially for Ringuet's arts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Repossessed #4

Apr 3, 2013

Repossessed has been a surprisingly little gem from JM Ringuet. through out it all this series has felt like it could fit well in the Supernatural TV series, with its equal mixture of Suspense, Horror, Action and Dark Humour.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Saga #10

Feb 19, 2013

Issue #10 of Saga is a fun fast beat issue, despite its gut wrenching cliffhanger that left me swearing quite loudly Brian K. Vaughan's name, and wanting to read issue #11 straight away.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Saga #12

Apr 9, 2013

Fiona Staples is as always breathtakingly amazing. Each page is a work of art that i would gladly hang up on my wall if had the chance. The Cover, First Page, and Last Page are amazing splash pages that had me drooling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Saga #13

Aug 14, 2013

Issue #13 of Saga adds another part to this ongoing tapestry of masterpiece in story telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Saga #14

Sep 25, 2013

Issue #14 of Saga made cry, laugh and smile all at once. It has some fantastic character moments, one of which is with Lying Cat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sex Criminals #3

Nov 19, 2013

Fraction has made this series playful and charming, all while being frank and honest about sex. The stories from our leads history are absolutely believable and make Suzie and Jon seem like real people. His writing works in tandem with Zdarksy's panels as the everything seems to flow as if created by one person. Zdarksy's art is breathtakingly gorgeous with great line work, amazing attention to details, and beautiful colours.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sheltered #1

Jul 10, 2013

I highly recommend this book. What Brisson & Christmas have created here is nothing short of amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Activity #11

Jan 29, 2013

I've never been much of a fan of military/modern warfare style comics, but I really enjoy this series and cannot speak highly enough about it. This was another great issue in a continually amazing run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Activity #13

May 21, 2013

Mitch Gerad's art is amazing as always, matching the tone of the book perfectly. It brings the story forward in fast paced scenes, as well letting the slow intense moments linger with you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Activity #14

Aug 7, 2013

Gerads was stellar on art duties. His art matched the tone of each mission and changed to suit with an amazing flow. I love the way how he lets the slower intense moments linger with you even after you've left the page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead: The Governor Special #1

Feb 12, 2013

This special issue couldn't have been released a better time. With the TV series only just arriving back on air from a mid season break, this is perfect for fans of the show to find out more about the background of fan favourite character The Govenor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Todd, The Ugliest Kid on Earth #2

Feb 12, 2013

If you haven't managed to get the first issue do so. This series is at least worth a gander to see if it's you type of thing.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More