The Walking Dead #43

Writer: Robert Kirkman Artist: Charlie Adlard Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: October 24, 2007 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 9
9.2Critic Rating
9.3User Rating

Living safely among the dead for so long can make you let your guard down. You forget how dangerous they truly are. Mistakes are made... lives are lost.

  • 9.5
    IGN - Dan Phillips Oct 24, 2007

    Now that I'm done rubbing it in, I can actually talk about the issue. With the possible exception of Brian K. Vaughan, Kirkman has developed an unparalleled ability to use the various unique advantages of serialized storytelling - most notably the cliffhanger - as a means to toy with his reader's expectations. After ending last issue with a reveal that seemed to promise the onset of the massive conflict we've been awaiting to see for months now, Kirkman pulls the rug out from under us this month and gives us an entire issue detailing how this series' most vile and repugnant villain lived to torment Rick and the gang another day. Even though he's on the cover of this issue, I'll hold off on mentioning his name as an apologetic gesture to you trade-waiters, but suffice it to say, Kirkman manages to make this character even more wonderfully demented than before. With the way this series is headed, it's a damn good time to be a monthly Walking Dead reader. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Weekly Crisis - Kirk Warren Oct 24, 2007

    This series just keeps getting better and better. With the return of The Governor riding atop a tank with his army at his back last issue, this series is really kicking into high gear. Tshis issue focused on a flashback of how The Governor survived and showed how he formed the army and found the prison. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Fulcrum Mar 16, 2019

    After enduring several issues wondering whatever happened to that Governor bloke, the curtain to that mystery is finally pulled all the way back in this jarringly dark installment.

    “There is evil in this world—and not all of it is in the form of those undead monsters clawing at our fences.”

    The Governor’s words ring undeniably true, but little do the deceived citizens of Woodbury realize that the evil his words are describing apply to himself. He is the monster in their midst. He is the evil one. He is the walking dead. We have seen our other protagonist Rick Grimes make some morally questionable decisions (though it turns out he did not make the wrong call on Martinez after all) on his journey from the coma more

  • 10
    Killumgood Oct 29, 2016

  • 10
    mrethandunne Aug 9, 2021

  • 10
    teenspirit Nov 3, 2021

  • 9.5
    comicgeniuz Dec 20, 2016

  • 9.0
    Josecab79 Apr 30, 2019

  • 9.0
    Green Goblin May 12, 2021

  • 8.5
    Mister Bungle Mar 2, 2016

  • 8.5
    Ardash Oct 4, 2021

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More