Ken Godberson III's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Multiversity Comics Reviews: 168
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
4001 A.D. #1

Apr 28, 2016

One of the most new-reader friendly beginnings to a big event book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
4001 A.D. #2

May 31, 2016

Some pretty decent action with nice, fluid artwork but with the problem that the character work feels secondary.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
4001 A.D. #3

Jul 28, 2016

The climactic final battle between Rai and Father had a share of ups and downs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
4001 A.D. #4

Aug 30, 2016

The ending is predictable, but it does a good job depicting the end to Kindt and Crains time with 4001.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
4001 A.D.: Bloodshot #1

Jun 7, 2016

Perhaps the coda that Fall of Bloodshot needed, shows some interesting potential for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1

Jul 7, 2016

Some good ideas and nice art dont hide a very cluttered issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
4001 A.D.: Warmother #1

Aug 2, 2016

A really cool pilot for more stories with a fun protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
4001 A.D.: X-O Manowar #1

May 10, 2016

A tie-in that communicates information but does little to elevate it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #1

Mar 14, 2016

That aside, this is a very strong beginning and I'm looking forward to seeing where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Action Comics (2011) #43

Aug 17, 2015

This arc was taking a great look at some of the massive problems the United States has with overzealous police with too much power. And then it made the leader of the antagonizing cops some shadow creature thing, absolving them of blame. And it only gets more out of touch with reality the further the issue goes. Like "Civil War", it presumes to be deep and topical but it ends up hackneyed and sending incredible mixed messages when mixing it with the superhero genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Adventure Time #50

Mar 14, 2016

"Adventure Time" #50 confronts big, broad topics but does so with a playfulness, charm, and energy that make it as enjoyable and profound as ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Adventure Time: Fionna & Cake - Card Wars #1

Jul 20, 2015

Wang and Wilson use the backdrop of the show to tell a very important story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New Inhumans #3

Feb 1, 2016

There is a lot of good character bits in this pushed further by some fantastic art. It's just waiting for that big kick to knock it to the next level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
All-Star Batman #1

Aug 11, 2016

A well good book. If you dont get it in singles, then I highly recommend checking it in trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Archie (2015) #3

Oct 5, 2015

Mark Waid firmly establishes the central quartet of the book and Fiona Staples finishes out her run in style.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) #45

Nov 2, 2015

A wondrous, colorful, and socially important issue that is marred by the creators indulging in the rehashed "Will they? Won't they?" of Barbara Gordon and Dick Grayson.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batman (2011) #50

Mar 24, 2016

I have to divorce my cynicism in regards to the Big 2 (in particular the future of Duke Thomas, considering my lack of faith in DC's direction with a great deal of its teen characters) to say that, in five years Scott Snyder, Greg Capullo, Danny Miki, FCO Plasencia along with the legions of letterers, editiors and support have crafted some of the best Batman stories in the last decade. And while I have some issues with some of the little details throughout the run, I cannot deny the quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 20, 2017

A decent introduction marred by its own very controversial premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batman And Robin Eternal #1

Oct 9, 2015

Now, could the whole stuff with Mother and Orphan and whatnot change as we get further into the book? Sure, but it just feels like the same setup that I have seen a couple of times. I am hoping that character moments take precedence over big bombastic plot. It's why everyone loves the members of the Bat Family and it's so great to see them all finally reunited.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Batman And Robin Eternal #5

Nov 6, 2015

I won't lie, part of what colors my impressions of this issue and what has come so far is my lack of patience after waiting four years to finally start seeing these character relationships being reestablished after DC decided that throwing babies with the bathwater was such a great idea. I think I will be more happy when "Batman & Robin Eternal" is over and perhaps some books starring these characters in smaller bunches are launched. But the biggest sin this issue commits is that it was just boring to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Bloodshot: Reborn #3

Jun 22, 2015

Within three issues, Lemire, Suayan and Baron have turned me around on what I thought was a flat character by injecting great amount of cultural commentary.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Bloodshot: Reborn #5

Aug 10, 2015

Up until this point, the book has been very grounded with occasional bouts with weirdness, courtesy of Bloodsquirt. Here, we go off the diveboard and artist Raul Allen brings that here. Allen is reminiscent of David Aja in terms of his pencil work but it his color work (along with assist from Borja Pindado) that truly makes the issue work. It does bring childish innocence to the concept of gun violence, but with a sinister undercurrent that slowly builds up until it springs in a final confrontation between Bloodshot and Bloodsquirt.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Bloodshot: Reborn #7

Oct 12, 2015

Great art and societal commentary hampered by some odd character choices.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #10

Jan 28, 2016

Despite the surface detail familiarity, Lemire, Larosa and Reber have started a fun and brutal story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Bloodshot: Reborn #18

Oct 6, 2016

Some nice art doesnt save from a simultaneously cramped and shallow narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Bloodshot: Reborn Annual #1

Mar 28, 2016

Some nice stories, but with a pricey tag. Grab it if you had a light week and want more Bloodshot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Book Of Death #4

Oct 29, 2015

At the end, "Book of Death" surpassed it's predecessor "The Valiant" by keep the focus on a select group of characters and showing heart and hope in the face of adversity. Bring on "The Wrath of the Eternal Warrior".

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Book Of Death: The Fall Of Bloodshot #1

Jul 24, 2015

Honesty, Bloodshot was not a character I felt there was much depth to. Jeff Lemire's writing on "Bloodshot Reborn" has shown me that I was wrong and this one-shot helped solidify that. It does, however, make me curious as to how much this will resonate with someone just coming off the street and spots the cover. This is what I fear with the rest of these "Fall Of" one-shots, that to the layman it will mean little. But as someone who does know what Bloodshot is, and has followed his recent series, it does its job well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Book of Death: The Fall of Harbinger #1

Oct 2, 2015

Impenetrable to new readers, but an absolute love letter to the characters and themes and fans that have been built since 2012. Take a bow, gents. You earned it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Book Of Death: The Fall Of X-O Manowar #1

Oct 26, 2015

Venditti and Henry take less a look at Aric's final end but rather the legacy he built to great effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Britannia #1

Sep 20, 2016

Great art combines with a load of plot threads to unwind, all with potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Britannia #4

Dec 19, 2016

Valiant's best mini-series of 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Catalyst Prime: Noble #1

May 4, 2017

An interesting debut that begins to show the potential Catalyst Prime has.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Constantine: The Hellblazer #4

Sep 18, 2015

I once again have to give a nod to letterer Napolitano. Apart from the newspaper clipping words he used above, his choice of dialogue balloons for drunken John is absolutely perfect to help convey the state of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Cryptocracy #2

Aug 1, 2016

There are interesting threads and some decent artwork, but the book still requires formation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Daredevil (2015) #1

Dec 3, 2015

Potential. That is the big showcase for this book. There is greatness under this issue. It's going to need a bit more time to come out of its shell. It definitely has me coming back for issue #2 or at least a trade-wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Daredevil (2015) #5

Apr 4, 2016

With the conclusion to the arc, the pieces are getting set for a potential great run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #3

Feb 29, 2016

As the action begins in earnest its going to be interesting to see where this book goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Death of X #2

Oct 24, 2016

It takes a true creative talent to make you root for the bad guy and this series does just that. The only downside is having to wait until next year for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Death of X #4

Nov 24, 2016

I honestly do believe you can write a good story involving the X-Men and the Inhumans. But the problem is that Marvel wants to do it in the cheapest, shallowest way. You actually have to have some depth, explore the similarities and differences, be willing to actually take your time. But this issue (and series) did not really endere either side to me. It sure as hell didn't get me excited for "Inhumans vs. X-Men". It's at the point that I wish they would just skip this upcoming exercise in reader patience and get to the Ressurexion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Deathstroke (2016) #4

Oct 14, 2016

God help and forgive me, but Slade Wilson has a really good book!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Deathstroke (2016) #10

Jan 16, 2017

Given a couple of rereads, this is a book that rewards the patient, even if the art had some stumbling blocks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Deathstroke (2016) #11

Jan 30, 2017

An early contender for Best Single Issue of 2017.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Descender #9

Jan 18, 2016

A good issue that keeps to it's pacing as it heads to the arc finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Descender #10

Feb 15, 2016

A decent, but very decompressed issue. I recommend potentially switching to trade-wait for this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #12

Jun 20, 2016

Lemire and Nguyen sacrifice plot development to focus on character work in a good way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Descender #14

Aug 22, 2016

Easily the weakest issue of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #935

Jun 23, 2016

Character development is the big key focus here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #938

Aug 15, 2016

Listen, "Detective Comics" is not a groundbreaking book. It's not pushing the medium or having some deep, thought-provoking message to its readers. But it has become my favorite book in the DC Rebirth and do you know why? Because it's fun. It is fun to watch this cathartic action. It is fun to have these little character moments. It is fun to have the Bat Family act like" you know" the Bat Family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #950

Feb 9, 2017

A good look into some neglected characters while providing interesting teases of events to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Dishonored #1

Aug 4, 2016

The wait for Dishonored 2 just got a little less arduous as Rennie, Olimieri and Maiolo craft a real interesting interquel. Even if youre not a Dishonored fan, check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dishonored #3

Oct 3, 2016

While the art is seeing some rickets in it, the narrative is still providing some interesting characters with loads of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Divinity II #1

Apr 18, 2016

All-in-all, the creative team of "Divinity" have returned strongly. Valentina's story and character is similar enough to Abram but those differences are major differences. If the book keeps up the intrigue it created here, "Divinity II" can be another hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Divinity II #2

May 27, 2016

Many threads are being planted as Abram tries to appeal to humanity that may not be there.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Divinity III: Stalinverse #1

Dec 23, 2016

Its okay, and that may be the most damning thing about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Doctor Fate #9

Feb 22, 2016

It is a shame this book won't get a chance to blossom into something greater in another 10 or so issues. Hopefully, Khalid shows up in one of the 'Rebirth' team books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #7

Apr 29, 2016

That all being said, I do have one final criticism about the art, albeit it's more of a personal thing. Look, I know Bachalo did the design and all, but man do I wish Illyana had a different costume.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Doctor Who: The Ninth Doctor (2016) #1

Apr 15, 2016

A very average start to a Doctor Who story with some meta exploration of fandom.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dragon Age: Knight Errant #1

May 11, 2017

A perfectly competent beginning, but does little else beyond that. More for fans of the Dragon Age series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2: Society #3

Aug 13, 2015

I have watched this entire franchise start with so much promise only for it to crash and burn due to mismanagement and just really dull and overdone plots. Sure, Wilson does introduced some interesting science fiction concepts in building this new world, but as we have seen over the last year, DC editorial doesn't hesitate to literally blow up all of that, so why should I care? This book may have some technical strengths, but it is representative of some very bad habits in the Big 2 world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: Society #22

Mar 10, 2017

A solid, happy ending for a world that had so much bad happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
East of West #20

Aug 31, 2015

A set up issue for greater things to come, but Dragotta and Martin are on magnificent point as usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
East of West #21

Oct 19, 2015

Some good world building for the Nation and some good artwork. The delays are really hampering the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
East of West #22

Dec 7, 2015

With the most bare minimum of dialogue, Hickman, Dragotta and Martin create a brutal, awesome and beautiful scene of violence that will hopefully resonate in the issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
East of West #27

Jun 30, 2016

An action-heavy issue after a load of build up, to good effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Faith #5

Nov 7, 2016

Solid enough compilation of stories on the eve of a very important day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Faith (Mini-Series) #1

Jan 26, 2016

At the end of the day, the biggest strength of "Faith #1" is that the team kept it simple. It's the tale of a young woman trying to find her way in the world, but doing it with a smile and optimism. Also with punching puppy thieves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #10

Nov 11, 2016

A warm, character-centric beginning to a new arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 28, 2016

Some nice artwork makes up for the main character's conflict being less interesting than the supporting character of this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2016) #23

Jun 1, 2017

A serviceable start to an arc with some good art, still hampered by the problems the series has had since inception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Zero #1

Aug 25, 2016

While some elements need a little more time to fully develop, Van Lente, Portela and Dalhouse make a big splash with Generation Zero.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Generation Zero #3

Oct 31, 2016

Not bad, but it feels like the book is more concerned with how the titular character affect others instead of the other way around.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Generation Zero #6

Jan 19, 2017

The big plot of Rook may be a bit derivative, but this book lives and breathes in the character beats Van Lente, Bernard and Pulido provide.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Gotham Academy #8

Jul 13, 2015

My feelings on how I wish the story was going aside, Cloonan, Fletcher and Kerschl continue to create one of the most unique and interesting books at DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy #10

Sep 11, 2015

I talked about "Gotham Academy" in our Comics Should Be Cheap column earlier this week when I declared the book DC's best Young Adult book and I meant it. The big reason behind that is it remembers that its protagonists are teenagers unlike certain other books (*cough*TeenTitans*cough*). Perhaps it benefits from none of the characters being superheroes and being only semi-connected to the Batman universe? Maybe. But we talk about certain books in terms of how "important" they are, whether it's in the context of the greater DC universe or in terms of greater social representation. And while it very much falls into the later category, I would make the further argument that it's important because it has a variety in the cast that feel like people.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy #14

Jan 15, 2016

So at the end of it all, these tales were fun. I enjoyed reading them. I would like to hope that in the next three parts of "Yearbook", we'll see a variety of tone (not necessarily "grim dark", obviously) and character. And here is hoping this arc isn't the Grand Finale to a book that doesn't deserve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Gotham Academy #16

Mar 14, 2016

Fun little stories showcasing one of the most adorable balls of adorable to ever".adorab? Adore? Eh, whatever, point being, it was pretty good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gotham Academy #17

Apr 18, 2016

I am fearful this arc is going to drive more people away than bring on and create a lukewarm atmosphere for "Second Semester". Let's face it, good though these stories are, they are fluff pieces. Now, fluff can be good every now and again, but too much too quick and you're going to crap purple.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Gotham Academy Annual #1

Sep 1, 2016

A fun mystery showcases the potential of the Pizza Club members as individuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #2

Oct 17, 2016

Fine for what it is, continuing to set up for the future of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #3

Nov 14, 2016

The creative team continues to build on the promises they made as the many stories develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #8

Apr 13, 2017

The penultimate arc of the series have left a lot of characters in bad places and I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grayson #12

Sep 28, 2015

The ideas and intent behind this issue are great and heartwarming, but it's hampered by the editorial whims of the overall reboot of continuity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harbinger: Renegade #1

Nov 3, 2016

After a couple of years of being lowkey, the Harbinger side of Valiant has been making its way back in full force under new creative guides. With "Renegade", there is plenty of opportunity ahead, now we need time to see if it follows through.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harbinger: Renegade #2

Dec 26, 2016

The book is taking its time, but it has potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Harbinger: Renegade #4

Feb 23, 2017

While the art has some rickets, the team is proving they can be a new force in the Valiant Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Imperium #6

Jul 3, 2015

However, the team does rise to the occasion when they're depicting Harada's mind scan/mind meld thingy. Reber's use of golds and reds to depict the poor Center Point's current mental state is heartbreaking and cringing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Imperium #8

Sep 7, 2015

"Imperium" puts character work ahead of its plot to incredible effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Imperium #13

Feb 18, 2016

Ulises Arreola's coloring work on this book is" interesting. I don't hate it, but there is a major difference between his work and Brian Reber's previous work on the title. Arreola's palette is less bright than Reber, almost to the point of dullness. Now, that isn't strictly speaking a bad thing for this book. I don't expect the color tone of "Unbeatable Squirrel Girl" here; "Imperium" is not a happy book. In some cases, it's a horror story. So having a less vibrant color scheme isn't bad but there is something still not clicking for me with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Imperium #14

Mar 21, 2016

Every fire needs kindling, and this issue was very well done kindling as we move to the conclusion of "Stormbreak".

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Imperium #16

May 30, 2016

While the character work is still strong, the artwork and overall "conclusion" are not as up to the standard this series had set.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ivar, Timewalker #9

Sep 21, 2015

"Ivar, Timewalker" is on the homestretch and it looks like it's leaving as it started, with a lot of heart and laughs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ivar, Timewalker #12

Dec 21, 2015

I had hesitated to review this because of my aforementioned disdain for the similar "Hell Bent", but in the end, they may have had similarities, but "Ivar, Timewalker" did better this year than Doctor Who. It was my favorite time travel story this year and I am sad to see it go.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
James Bond (2017) #1

Mar 2, 2017

Some real nice artwork doesnt make up for a very basic and kind of mediocre beginning to a Bond story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jem and the Holograms #2

Aug 21, 2015

I do think this book is pretty decently paced. At 34 pages of content, you are certainly getting a great deal for your dollar. It isn't out to rush and wants you to get to know the characters. What makes mea bit nervous is that this series may have the same problem that "The Valiant" hadin its final issue, where I felt it had to rush a bit more to get to the end. I know I'm talking about maybes and "what ifs" for two issues that have yet to be released, but I have noticed a bit of a pattern with Valiant story arcs maintaining a 4-issue arc. Previously, the aforementioned "The Valiant" and the second arc of "Rai," both feltlike they would've benefited from someadded breathing roomby being five issues. That said, nothing wrong with “Book of Death” now, but the seriesmay need to pick up the pace a bit to avoid cluttering the final act.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League #42

Jul 17, 2015

But it pales in comparison to how Fabok and Anderson have depicted almighty Darkseid. To put it bluntly, I was not a fan of Jim Lee's redesign of the dark god at the beginning of the New 52 and there weren't really any artists that had sweetened me on the redesign. However, this art team has made the design resonate greatly with me and I think it has a great deal to do with their use of not only lighting but of silhouette. Darkseid needs to cast an imposing shadow and the use of sinister coloring to depict the hellish landscape that lets us see Darkseid creates the shadow of a creature of evil that makes one go "Darkseid Is". Perhaps Johns is feeding off this artwork because he has been crafting some of the best Darkseid dialogue since "

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Justice League #46

Dec 17, 2015

In the end, this issue isn't bad, but it is without a doubt the weakest issue of the Darkseid War. If I had to compare it to something else topical, it's like issue #5 of "Secret Wars" over at Marvel. It was a lot of setting up pieces to kick off an explosive finale. Frustrating to the point of madness when read as a monthly, but a necessary evil in the long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #47

Jan 4, 2016

The Darkseid War is back on track as it moves towards the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 13, 2017

A solid start to what hopes to be a fun crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 23, 2017

Definitely the best of these JLA one-shots so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League: Darkseid War: Shazam #1

Nov 13, 2015

Unlike the other one-shots, this feels more like a pilot. A really really good pilot with a load of potential. So, I have to look at DC and say this: Okay, you have one job. I hate that phrase, but it is true here. All you have to do, is announce a "Shazam #1" by Steve Orlando, Scott Kolins and Romulo Fajardo Jr. "From the Pages of "Justice League: The Darkseid War" and let them build on this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Kim & Kim #1

Jul 11, 2016

A real good start to what hopes to be a real good book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kingsway West #1

Aug 29, 2016

There is potential in the making with this new fantasy wild west story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lazarus #22

Jun 17, 2016

Lazarus is back in all its bleakness and truth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Loki: Agent of Asgard #15

Jun 29, 2015

As the end comes around them all, Ewing, Garbett and Fabela bring us down to the human scale one last time to great effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Loki: Agent of Asgard #17

Aug 24, 2015

With a stunning conclusion, "Loki: Agent of Asgard" stands up with "Journey Into Mystery" as a definitive modern Loki story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #1

Jun 9, 2016

A well done start to a crossover that oozes fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #1

Oct 10, 2016

You liked "Midnighter"? Well this is that book plus another name in the title!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #2

Apr 11, 2016

An interesting take on the original Power Rangers with a great deal of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mockingbird #1

Mar 11, 2016

If it seems like I'm having trouble coming up with things to say about this issue it's because I kind of am. This issue makes a really good argument about the futility of reviewing single issues of a story that are so clearly written for trade collections. Going back to that letter in the back, Cain runs down the arc; issues #2-4 will depict events alluded to in issue #1, then #5 will follow up on how this issue ends. With that said, it makes it really hard to judge this issue on its own because if I did that, i'd say it's a confusing mess. But it's not so much of a confusing mess to be completely alienating. I feel like I really went after this issue, but I do want to know what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Monstress #1

Nov 9, 2015

This is one of the strongest openings to a comic this year. Get on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Avengers (2015) #1

Oct 16, 2015

"New Avengers #1" was fine, but it wasn't the grand slam I was hoping it would be. It does enough to make me want to continue and Al Ewing is a creator that has more than earned the benefit of the doubt.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #9

Nov 18, 2016

With a heart as big as Dick Graysons, the issue unfortunately cant shake some okay artwork and a mediocre villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Nightwing (2016) #10

Dec 12, 2016

Seeley, To and Sotomayor are setting up the intriguing next step in Dick Grayson's life.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing: Rebirth #1

Jul 14, 2016

Well to do table-setting for a hopefully more awesome first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ninjak #5

Jul 31, 2015

The tone of the "Lost Files" has always been a more grounded one than the main story. No super cool gadgets and no flash and pomp. This is about a man having illusions shattered before him and the art reflects that. Guice and Thies present a darker, firmer style, cased in shadows. This is further emphasized by Arreola setting the mood with a dimmer choice in colors. Dark blues and greys are chief among the color scheme for this backup. The rain, the night, even in a brightly lit office these colors stand out. Don't think it's a coincidence that those colors make up the majority of Ninjak's outfit in the present day.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Ninjak #7

Sep 14, 2015

Still good, but falling into some dangerous territory.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ninjak #10

Dec 11, 2015

Kindt, Braithwaite and Ryp begin their arc with a solid foundation as Valiant's spiritual side makes its return.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ninjak #14

Apr 7, 2016

The subject of "The Lost Files" backup changes once again as Khoi Pham comes onto the art. We go a bit further back in the past than Colin's childhood, instead we focus on his parents. As we learn watching Mr. and Mrs. King work, the apple really didn't fall too far from the trees. Pham and colorist Andrew Dalhouse (w/ Jeromy Cox assists) provided a more fluid and cartoony style really does juxtapose well with the incredibly violent scenes and stone cold precision that our two protagonist display. But like the main story, it's very much a taste; a lot of setup for two characters we have barely seen throughout the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nova (2016) #1

Dec 8, 2016

A heartfelt return for both Rich and Sam.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nova (2016) #2

Jan 9, 2017

This book is showing a lot of promise by showing respect to both characters and remaining heartfelt.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Omega Men #9

Mar 7, 2016

One of DC's best decisions was to let this book run its course. If you want original, unique voices then you need to get this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Omega Men #10

Apr 1, 2016

We are swiftly approaching the end to this series and, as was revealed at DC's conference at Wondercon, Tom King is going to be moving on to the granddaddy book of the line, "Batman". And while that news is incredibly awesome, I am just hoping that it's not going to be to the detriment of "The Omega Men's" conclusion. This book was so much better than it had any right to be and I would love to see it make the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Punisher (2016) #1

May 5, 2016

All that said though, I have to admit — and maybe it's because Dillon is on this book and so synonymous with the character — this felt like a very safe issue. The basics are all here with just little tidbits of story to come. If you are a Punisher fan, you'll get your fix. And while I am going to keep going for a bit to see where it goes, I was hoping for a bit more to push the concept a little bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Rai #13

May 17, 2016

A much better look into the history of New Japan that works well as a companion to 4001 A.D.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Rai #14

Jun 21, 2016

As Father tightens the chains around New Japan, we learn about two other Rais to various effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Rai #15

Jul 21, 2016

Some nice art with some real trite story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Rai #16

Aug 23, 2016

As decent conclusion to this uneven arc as one could hope for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Savage #1

Dec 2, 2016

Valiants strongest debut this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Savage #3

Jan 27, 2017

While it feels slow at times, "Savage" is still one of the more interesting mini-series on the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Secret Weapons #1

May 8, 2017

A fascinating and emotional start to a hopefully fantastic mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sherlock: A Study In Pink #1

Jun 13, 2016

It's a decent adaptation with some decent art. If you've seen the show, there's really not much more it adds and I wouldn't even bother tracking this down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Southern Bastards #14

May 13, 2016

"Southern Bastards" is one of the best books on the shelf. You are doing yourself such a massive disservice not reading it. This issue was the conclusion to the third arc (with the third trade-paperback coming out in early July), so you have time. Go out. Buy the first trade and catch up. The Jasons are creating so much more than just a crime drama. They're creating a much needed examination of people.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Spider-Man (2016) #1

Feb 4, 2016

Miles Morales is a great character. I love him, I love his world. But it is at this point where I feel like the character is being held hostage. "Hey," it seems to say, "You want to support this great and important character? Well you got to pay $4-8 dollars a month to support some really boring stories!" And I can't do it until something changes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Star Wars (2014) #7

Aug 3, 2015

A small, but enjoyable look at Ben Kenobi's life, making the reader want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Star Wars: Darth Vader #7

Jul 6, 2015

Gillen, Larroca and co. are setting up the pieces of Arc 2 with some impressive visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #13

Dec 7, 2015

Gillen, Larroca and Delgado continue their powerhouse run with the Dark Lord of the Sith.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Star Wars: Kanan #6

Sep 25, 2015

Now, above I discussed a lot of the character interaction and more about the relationships between characters and the well-crafted mental state of the protagonist. That's because, honestly, the plot of this supply run and Kanan's encounter with the thugs and the end result is just okay. Not bad, just okay. It makes for a fine backdrop to the good stuff and Camagni and Curiel do a good job with the action scenes but such aspects like the ending just didn't hit home. I get it; the nature of the ongoing comic series requires a reason at the end to get a reader to come back, but considering this is the epilogue of the first "book", I would have much rather there be a bit more tying up here instead of this new dangling plot. At this point, we're in for the book and willing to see where the creative team will take us. This ending just felt a bit flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Star Wars: Kanan #11

Feb 29, 2016

While it could have done with one more issue, Weisman, Larraz and Curiel provide a really good conclusion to Caleb Dume's baptisim by fire.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Vader Down #1

Nov 19, 2015

High octane and awesome action as only Star Wars can do, mired slightly by some rough art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Starfire #2

Jul 10, 2015

I know it sounds like I just massively ragged on the book for its humor and that I must come off as a joyless "hurm durm grimmdark" parasite, but there was some humorous wordplay in dialogue that I appreciated and, for those subjective faults, the positives to this issue were really positive!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Strange Attractors #1

Jun 2, 2016

Interesting idea, but its bare bones waiting for the meat. Nice art though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Autumnlands #6

Jun 8, 2015

"The Autumnlands" is a beautiful sleeper hit that deserves more eyes on it. Buy the first trade collection when it arrives soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Blacklist #1

Jul 27, 2015

Just watch the show. It isn't segregated to just side plots and has 100% more Spader in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
The Fade Out #8

Aug 7, 2015

Only eight issues, but there is so much depth going on within its pages. I will admit, it can be a bit overbearing. This isn't a book to just breeze through. You need to take your time. Go back if you must. It demands you pay attention to it. But if you give it the attention it needs, if you rise up to its level, it can be pretty rewarding.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
The Unsound #1

Jun 8, 2017

The story is something you've seen in horror before and does little to effectively popout or play with or even provide a bit of camp ala "Nailbiter". It has some nice, if flawed, artwork, however that isn't enough to elevate it, especially considering the lack of depth or even hook the protagonist or the plot really gives.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 6, 2017

The potential is there, but its not really been utilized.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Wicked + The Divine: 1831 #1

Sep 23, 2016

A beautiful and horrific look into the past that continued on the themes WicDiv set.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The X-Files: Origins #1

Sep 5, 2016

A pretty good start to a more light-hearted mini-series

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny Inhumans #1

Oct 22, 2015

Regardless of the somewhat "pilot-ey" nature of this first issue, I am still very intrigued by the events to come with the Inhumans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Uncanny Inhumans #2

Nov 23, 2015

This is the Inhumans book we've been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Uncanny Inhumans #5

Feb 22, 2016

A decent issue that is more focused on world building. There is definite potential in some of these ideas that will need time to blossom.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny Inhumans #7

Apr 25, 2016

An excellent comic that combines the appeal of heartwarming young adult storytelling and extraterrestrial mysteries.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Inhumans #11

Jul 4, 2016

The last time the Inhumans got tied into an event it was "AXIS" and it threw off the whole book. This very much seems to be the beginning of a reversal: using the lemon of the main event to realign its own characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Uncanny Inhumans #12

Aug 8, 2016

"Uncanny Inhumans" continues to be one of the better highlights of "Civil War II"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Uncanny Inhumans #15

Nov 21, 2016

A nice breather arc before "IvX" to contemplate the meaning of death.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Uncanny Inhumans #16

Dec 5, 2016

An interesting and introspective look before it all comes crashing down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Vampirella (2017) #0

Feb 2, 2017

A really good introduction for this new(?) incarnation of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Vision #11

Sep 26, 2016

This series is going to be magnificent when read as one whole thing. This is the sad and very human beginning of the end and I can safely that, even knowing Viv will be in the new "Champions", I have no idea where this is going!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Vision #12

Oct 27, 2016

Easily Marvel's best book in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Voltron: Legendary Defender #1

Jul 18, 2016

An average start to what hopefully won't be an average comic adaptation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm #4

May 18, 2017

The Wild Storm is taking its sweet time and theres nothing wrong with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #5

Mar 18, 2016

I will not lie, the overall story of this feels like it has been done before. Man's village gets destroyed, including his wife. Man goes out to kill the fuck out of who did it. The fact that the raiders were their specifically for Gilad's son is perhaps the unique aspect that will drive us to the second part, but as of right now, a lot of the beats feel very familiar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #7

May 23, 2016

"Wrath" has been quietly building itself up to great effect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #11

Sep 19, 2016

A more character-focused start to the next chapter in Gilad's long life.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.8
X-Men: Worst X-Man Ever #1

Jan 7, 2016

And now, let's talk about the "closeted" mutant thing. Now, if you haven't read my bio below: I'm bisexual. And I have some massive problems with the whole "X-Men are stand-ins for minorities" metaphor. I believe it is one of the most poorly conceived metaphors in pop culture and it trivializes real life issues where people die because they are different from people with too much power. So this crap really hits a nerve on me. Maybe if this book had committed fully to its satire instead of falling back onto old shtick of the X-Men I could have tolerated it, but it doesn't, so I don't.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
X-O Manowar #50

Sep 29, 2016

For four years, Robert Venditti and an army of artistic talent have crafted a sci-fi superhero story that was grounded in a violent man trapped in an unfamiliar time growing into maturity and wisdom. It had some high highs and some low lows. At the end of it all, this may not have been the ending some people were expecting, but it is one that the series deserved.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Feb 28, 2017

Some glorious artwork combines with a story that can't fully shake off the feeling that a reset button was hit.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More