Arbaz M. Khan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT Reviews: 27
8.6Avg. Review Rating

7
Amethyst #1

Feb 26, 2020

Reeder's miniseries reads like a lot of fun, but definitely layers itself in the subversion of cliches.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #87

Jan 22, 2020

Tynion's run seems to be based on this assessment of the duality of Batman. Tynion is constantly playing with the idea of two: The horror and the action. The Batman and the villains. The hero and the human. It's this great escalation of the people who have influenced this mythology. While I do find it problematic that there are images that feel like objectification of two female characters, the story appears to be striving to enrapture us within the basic absurdity of Batman. Despite this, we all have to bear witness to the designs of our Dark Knight.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman (2016) #88

Feb 5, 2020

The fascinating aspects of this issue were seeing a clash of intention versus execution. Whilst Tynion has written certain characters to be human beings the art style offers its own bipolar take on Tynion's writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman (2016) #89

Feb 18, 2020

It genuinely feels like a rushed product done by DC, and it shows. There is a remarkable talent in this book, but not giving them proper time to have foresight into their creative output truly damages their work. While it is a detriment, this book does offer some fun for those who want to stick with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #90

Mar 4, 2020

Graced with the art of Jorge Jimenez, this book executes despite average panel layouts. Moreso, it is interesting linework that he offers, yet still maintains an odd quirk signaling of the comic book industry (One that my previous reviews have exhaustively focused on). Truth be told, this was the issue that gave faith in Tynion's run. Not because of Bruce Wayne, but because of Selina Kyle.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Stars Above #4

Feb 26, 2020

This entire book has managed to continually up the ante with how it can enthrall its audience. It's some of the most prestige issues on shelves today, and each is better than the last.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Stars Above #5

Mar 18, 2020

For all the sadness ends usually bring, this one brings great relief. Eulalie's journey, for all intents and purposes, is over. It's weird to read the end and then look out into the world with so much anxiety and fear around us. A world that is imperiled by an unknown entity creeping into our routine lives and making tantamount disruptions. But during these moments, we can all look to the sky and believe in the black stars above. May the Black Stars Above guide our way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Hawkman (2018) #21

Feb 12, 2020

Despite a lack of depth within this issue, Venditti gives some fantastic visual cues for this comic book. There are fun colors and images that make this worth the buy, especially for people who have read previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
House of Whispers (2018) #18

Feb 12, 2020

Hopkinson has proceeded with such a thrilling story that Stanton just knocks out of the park.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
James Bond (2019) #2

Jan 14, 2020

Genuinely, this book excels in its ability to offer a subtle critique of our mythos of James Bond. It's really when I witness the humanity of Bond that I care about the character in earnest. This book definitely succeeds in its ability to create a long-form artistic critique of a mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
James Bond (2019) #3

Feb 11, 2020

This book manages to hit its stride for a general audience and those who have been wondering where this book was going. While many of its detractors were aghast at giving Bond a slower pace initially, the team behind Bond managed to do wonders for comic book storytelling. I am not only hooked, but maniacally laughing at how great this series is once the payoff has started to hit. This is genuinely a fun and cool book -- just understand what I mean when I say Bond is a danger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Join the Future #1

Mar 5, 2020

In earnest this series finds itself broiled in cliches that are common within these dystopian epics. However, the fine craft of these creators manages to elevate the book beyond cliche with nuanced execution. It is definitely worth an investment, but looking to be into the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
League of Extraordinary (Top Shelf): The Tempest #4

Jan 9, 2020

It is easy to call Moore a cynic of modern art, especially with his critique of superhero films. But it's not a desire for us to fail as people, but for us to be our own superheroes. The joy of Alan Moore, and of great art, is that it asks us as consumers to strive for elevation of our selves. LxG is the definitive reason why I can allow myself to be a better, more empathetic person. Moore was the first author in comics that asked me to look beyond my current imagination and to extrapolate that into the history of my cultural touchstones.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Leviathan Dawn #1

Feb 26, 2020

Truth is, Bendis has found the closest thing to success he has in a while by being back with Maleev. His art style consistently accents what Bendis tries to communicate, and the art is always stellar with this duo. Now if only Bendis could help make it more dynamic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
No One's Rose #1

Mar 25, 2020

The beauty of this book is that it is brimming with hope for the future. Yes, it's apocalyptic and disparate, but there is such a fervent change of approach in this book. It has an understanding of nature and life that purports the entire drama of this story.  For a book that could have plummeted at any point, Thompson and Horn manage to soar with their narrative. The only true drawback is that it's more necessary than we thought. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Plunge #1

Feb 19, 2020

While it's not common for first issues to display this much of a "slow burn", DC gives faith in Hill and Immonen to deliver a fine level of horror in the sea. This is genuinely a good book, that really lets us see how characters are important for the comics medium. Sadly, I fear what horrors Hill and Immonen have in store for them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Protector #2

Feb 26, 2020

Protector is one of the most inventive comics on the shelves in how it blends things. For most sci-fi series, it is foundational to avoid the indigenous nature of people. But it is constantly imbuing the storytelling sensibilities of a fable into the world, and personally I'm more a fan of that than anything. This series is quickly becoming one of the favorite sci-fi books because it allows for the notion of belief in a new future. Yes, it's not hopeful, but it is one that has survived. Let's hope we survive ours now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Quantum and Woody (2020) #1

Jan 9, 2020

Successful in its ability to establish and set up the premise of Quantum and Woody.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tartarus #1

Feb 11, 2020

I'd say is that this book is a mix of two of my favorite Ryan Gosling movies,The Place Beyond the Pinesand Blade Runner 2049. What's cool about this book is that it really goes through the motions by giving both contemplative and subtle characters, while still managing to maintain itself within the genre.A really fun book that managed to enthrall me into the sci-fi genre. I just wish I had the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tartarus #2

Mar 17, 2020

Overall this is a wonderful issue that is a lot of fun. Definitely worth the buy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #101

Jan 9, 2020

An intimate debut that manages to embrace new readers, while still maintaining the essence of what the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #102

Feb 1, 2020

An astonishing aspect of the TMNT series, heightened especially through Campbell's magnificent art, are these fantastic moments of using the art to convey the story. In a myriad of monthly books, it's easy to forget about these characters and rely on dialogue to convey a story.  But Campbell manages to enhance the TMNT story through always having these fantastic expressions within anthropomorphized characters. In every panel, I have felt what I'm seeing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Banks #1

Feb 3, 2020

Gay hit a home run here imbuing the nuances of race, gender, and classism in a simple and enthralling story. In truth, most stories with this much plot usually have little interest for people, but Gay is no sucker. Each piece she contributed has managed to layer and serve great purpose towards the characters, and all of this is captured within the first issue of this series. I am more than excited to see what she does with the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Low, Low Woods #2

Jan 15, 2020

A strong indictment of how we inherit the violence in our world. With this being the second issue, Machado has cemented herself into the medium fantastically. For a "literary" reader like me, this is an exciting time to be reading a piece in an industry that's sadly heavily male-dominated. Despite it being from the big two publishers, I have to praise DC for allowing Machado to tell such a powerful and socially relevant book like this. Readers in the industry can subconsciously learn a lot from this book, and I'm excited about the discussion that ensues because of it. This is a nice salve for everyone's scars. Hopefully, together we may all see each other this way. Scars and all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Low, Low Woods #3

Feb 19, 2020

With barely any action, issues like these are usually failures in the hands of less adept creators. But the creative team offers great rhythm within the storytelling to really hone in on how people deal with certain tragedies. It is genuinely a blessing that we get to have some great breathing room, whilst still feeling a lingering danger for our characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Undone By Blood #1

Feb 11, 2020

This story is one of the finest Westerns I've read in a long time. Cormac McCarthy fans are going to love this. This series manages to capture the aesthetic and themes of his finest novels and brings powerful visuals equal to Tom Ford and the Coen Brothers. Its only fault is that readers have to wait another month for the next issue. But, patience is a reward with this series. A compelling story, wholly unique and adding greater depth to the comics medium.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Undone By Blood #2

Mar 17, 2020

This issue has managed to assuage any doubts that this is a definitively unique Western experience. From pacing to art, the creators of this series are pushing to innovate the medium along with the genre they work in.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More