Charles Emmett's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 21
6.9Avg. Review Rating

6
1602: Fantastick Four #1

Sep 3, 2006

If this was condensed into half an issue, I would be very excited for this miniseries. But seeing as how plodding and dull it is, I just cant recommend picking it up. If the story does manage to find a direction and some empathy, I strongly suggest holding out until the TPB, but as it stands, this is the prime example of a mediocre comic. Some very strong elements but some critical flaws hold it back from becoming the success it could have been. Buy it if you are an absolute 1602 fanatic as you may get a momentary fix, but the more you read the more you realize this just isnt the best we could have gotten.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Batman #655

Jul 30, 2006

There are some real shining parts though. I really like the art. For a second I thought I was looking at some of Jim Lees work, then I realized not everyone had a square jaw. Alas. Its fantastic stuff, and I hope the quality is continuously good throughout the series. But other than that, the storys a letdown so far, and only my rampant desire to see more of the Son of the Batman will have me coming back.....not the Ninja Man Bats. What a sorry, sorry idea for a plot point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Battlestar Galactica #0

Jun 6, 2006

As a whole, I think the series is off to a promising start. Just don't expect the exact same experience as an episode of a show (maybe the first 10 mins or so) and you should be fine. Also, any newbies to the whole Battlestar Galactica experience might want to rent (or buy!) the DVDs to get up to speed. You really can't beat the price of this issue, 25 cents, so if you're at all curious, go ahead and spend the quarter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Black Plague #1

Jul 30, 2006

Even the art is uninspiring. Its solid to be sure, but it doesnt pop. And since theres only one real action scene its hard to get any sort of idea of how this is going to translate to a mini-series or even an ongoing series, which is really the whole story with the whole book. I mean, how is a book like this supposed to get readers? Its certainly not a new or terribly exciting idea. Its solidly done but not extraordinary. The only thing I really like about the series is its name, which I picked randomly out of a list for exactly that reason. Though it isnt medieval super heroes dealing with the ravages of an unseen assailant known as the Black Plague (how cool of a series would THAT have been!), it is good, but not good enough to stand out in a crowd of well established Superheroes and villains. Thats why this series will fail. Too bad, since it didnt totally suck.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Civil War: Front Line #1

Jun 11, 2006

On a whole, I realize I really dont care that much for the characters and stories being told in this issue. Both the Stark and Speedball tales left me feeling cold and bored. For a mini-series called Front Line you might think there would be at least some action in these pages. Unfortunately, there isnt a single panel. Despite the best efforts of the final tale, this issue fails to be enjoyable in any sort of meaningful way and deserves to sit on the shelf waiting for some poor kid to confuse it with the real Civil War mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (1998) #84

May 18, 2006

And if you haven't jumped on the boat yet, do yourself a favor and put this book on your pull list, as well as scrounge up any back issues you can find. You'll thank me later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics #820

Jun 9, 2006

All in all, this is a solid, if seemingly short chapter in one of the strongest tales in mainstream Batman continuity at least since Hush. The Jason Bard backup tales are great and deserve as much recognition as they can get. Also, I really couldn't be happier with the characterization of Batman found in these pages. Hopefully future writers of Batman won't be tempted to make him the "dick knight" of the last few years, because this is the Batman I enjoy reading about.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Eternals (2006) #1

Jun 18, 2006

All in all, this is a book and a series that looks to be well worth your time and money. Gaiman is the king of magical realism though all types of stories, and it shines here. While not perfect, it does set up what seems to be an amazing story that fans new and old will enjoy. This book is designed for the people who have never heard of an Eternal to be sucked right into their world, and with this tale, with this writer, how can we not be?

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Green Arrow (2001) #62

May 18, 2006

I hope DC has enough sense to bring in some fresh talent on this series soon or this series won't see issue 75, and that would be a shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Green Arrow (2001) #65

Aug 11, 2006

Winick really showed some promise in this issue of Green Arrow. Now the real challenge is going to be how he explains Ollie's supposed "missing year" even though he's been very active in 52 and IC. That coupled with a few more down to earth arcs, (seriously man, enough with the monsters), and this series really stands a chance. Oh and giving Ollie some real rogues would also help. (Who else is dying to see the return of Onomatopoeia?) So for now I'm sticking with this series. Please don't let me down, Judd.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern (2005) #11

May 26, 2006

The entire issue, as well as the series just screams classic Green Lantern. From the story, to the setup, to the dialogue to the setting, it all feels Neo-Silver age in the best way possible. Oh, and I forgot to mention the art is fantastic. Though surely intimidating to the uninitiated, Green Lantern is quickly becoming one of my favorite DC books, which is saying something. Hopefully I'll be enjoying the adventures of Hal Jordan for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League of America (2006) #0

Jul 23, 2006

While theres nothing really new here, there is a lot to be excited about with the new upcoming series. Even though this issue did more for me than the entire History of the DCU backup in 52, I still have a few questions about the new timeline and so on and so forth, though thats not really the point of this issue. The point is to introduce you to the concepts and ideals behind the Justice League, and on that front, it succeeds admirably.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
PVP #26

May 26, 2006

Basically, if you aren't familiar with PvP, and just want a sampling of what it has to offer, I couldn't recommend Image's PvP offerings more. However, if you do find yourself wanting more, I recommend clearing your schedule and trudging through the archives of Kurtz's site. Its not as well organized, but a heck of a lot cheaper.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
PVP #28

Oct 12, 2006

As a fan and now a very poor college student, I can't afford to keep buying PvP just to support Scott Kurtz so he can make money off of his PvP empire. I love the man, and I enjoy reading PvP on the Internet everyday (for free I repeat), but the least he can do is give me an original comics exclusive story now and then, not just rip his old strips and pad the rest of the book with a preview of a mediocre tale. It aggravates me and makes me feel like I got ripped off. I don't buy comics to feel ripped off; I buy comics for sheer enjoyment, new exciting tales, and a general sense of fun. This issue has none of that. It did when it came out a year ago, but it doesn't now. Heck, I can remember every aspect of this story even though it came out a year ago. Kurtz needs to change the way he treats these monthly issues if he wants to keep readers, because if this keeps up, I won't be the only one leaving PvP on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2006) #653

Jun 27, 2006

Superman is back. With the movie coming out next Wednesday, two great comic series across the board, this is the respect Superman deserves. Way to go DC, you've made me a fan again. So I urge others out there who haven't been following the Man of Steel, who still think of him as an overpowered sissy, to read this series and to try the original superhero again. You owe him that much.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman/Batman #26

Jun 8, 2006

wish could go on forever. The sense of love and remembrance permeate the pages of this tale and engage the reader like nothing else out there. You shouldn't just buy one issue of this book (it's all going to charity anyways), instead, give the other copy to someone you love who just doesn't understand comic books. Explain to them how the death of one of the industry's youngest talents brought together an entire industry and they lovingly dedicate the issue to him, and how this is how he will be remembered. It's almost impossible not to be moved by this tale. We all have lost someone in our lives we care about, and this story brings that sense of loss and love to the forefront and how "you don't forget them if you tell stories about them." Truer words were never spoken.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teen Titans (2003) #37

Jul 10, 2006

All in all, if you ignore the cover and the fact that there is WAYYYYYYY too much Doom Patrol stuff here, there is a lot to like in this issue of Teen Titans. Unfortunately, I predict the day Johns' last issue ships will also be the last time I pick up an issue of this book. But for now it's looking like this series really does have a future, and a sense of direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Flash: The Fastest Man Alive (2006) #1

Jun 25, 2006

Overall, this series is off to a very uneven start. There are some good bits, some bad bits, and some weird bits. Considering the fact that this is the second major character DC has restarted in the last month, I just dont feel as excited as I should be because weve seen these types of stories before. Sure, they may work overall and may be solid, but no ones going to remember either of them five years down the road, and thats a darn shame.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Flash: The Fastest Man Alive (2006) #2

Jul 24, 2006

It's really a shame how much of a disappointment this series has turned out to be. Instead of a fun and... well..., flashy Flash, we have an angsty boring hero with a threadbare plot. And come on, who clones a costume? I mean that's just retarded. I'm giving this series just one more issue before I abandon it, and that's sad because this hero deserves so much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Truth, Justin and the American Way #3

Jul 6, 2006

Truth, Justin and the American Way. Crockett and Tubbs will thank you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Union Jack #1

Sep 17, 2006

Its nice to see a genuinely fresh new book on the market, one not relating to some mega-crossover event, or reeling from it. Union Jack is likable and reminds us that its okay to have a little fun reading your comics instead of analyzing them for Shakespearean references and cameos. Union Jack is a rare treat from a publisher so obsessed with a Civil War that it can barely give the time of day to anything else, which makes it just the more satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More