Daniel Yanez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weekly Comic Book Review Reviews: 36
5.9Avg. Review Rating

6
Afterburn #1

Feb 4, 2008

Another question that bothers me is why the mutants don't sell their treasures to the surviving side of the Earth and make a living out of it. Beats me! The shark scene was pretty ingenious, but the rest of the book feels a bit “off”. I hope that this is a slow start for the series and with issue #2 all the “off-iness” will be addressed. This title has a lot of potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Angel: After the Fall #1

Jan 28, 2008

The only detriment in the series is the art of Frank Urru (Spike: Asylum & Shadow Puppets). I don't like it. It's undefined, almost incomplete, and missing details. The price is another thing I don't like. $3.99 for a cardstock cover? I'll have a regular one, thanks. I can recommend Buffy S8 to my friends, but I'm urging them to pick Angel with fury.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Angel: After the Fall #4

Feb 24, 2008

I wouldn't recommend this book for non-fans of the TV series – it just has too many references to it. While there isn't much action happening this issue, we do get a lot of character development and the return of Lorne, which I consider one of the weakest characters of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Angel: After the Fall #5

Apr 1, 2008

IDW plans on releasing another three issue series, retelling the story of what happened “the night of the battle that changed everything”. And while this mini-series may cheat some fans out of a proper story, I've got faith that we'll be very entertained. Regarding the art on the series, Urru's work either improved or I grew to like it. Either way, I'm very satisfied with how this maxi-series is shaping up.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Angel: After the Fall #6

Apr 10, 2008

I really just wanted to read and see what happened after the last episode of Angel on season 5, like they promised, but I'll just have to keep on waiting for the payoff. Sigh.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #11

Feb 10, 2008

This stand alone issue gives a glance at what Buffy will have to deal with in the future. This issue is the perfect model on how to write stand alone issues " a mix of action, character development and humor. Writers, please take note.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #12

Mar 9, 2008

Drew Goddard wrote five great episodes for the Buffy's final TV season. I'm happy to say he hasn't lost his touch. The characters and sense of humor have all been transferred to comic book form, faithfully. I love the awkward moments Buffy and Satsu face with the men – I couldn't stop laughing! I just really hope Whedon doesn't keep writing about Buffy's “experimentations”. They seem so out of character to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 #13

Apr 3, 2008

Dracula, cheated by the Japanese vampires in a poker game, realizes that he's lost his “secret powers”, so he decides to help Buffy. And the cliffhanger we get is just dreadful. Looks like there's going to be a slayer massacre. Not good, but at least it'll be a hell of a challenge for Buffy and company. I'll be there to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Cable (2008) #1

Mar 9, 2008

As I don't follow Marvel Comics, I don't have a clue who this Bishop guy is, only that he's an X-Man. While, the story is no good for new readers, I disagree with Jason on the art. I like it, but probably because Olivetti holds a special place in my heart as the creator of Cazador.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Cemetery Blues #1

Jan 29, 2008

This book gives me faith to try other independent comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cemetery Blues #2

Mar 29, 2008

With only one issue left, I really hope for more humor and sarcasm, which was the reason I picked the book when it first came out. All in all, still entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Cemetery Blues #3

Apr 23, 2008

Boatwright's art is fun and striking as usual, but it's ultimately the story that failed me. And I really wanted to like the story. I'm still going to purchase the announced trade. It'll include the never-before-seen series “The Curse of Wallace Manor”, plus two unpublished tales of Ridley and Falstaff: “The Inconvenience Store” and “Let's All Die in the Lobby!". Hopefully, these extra stories will contain some of that magic the first issue had.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dead Space #1

Feb 26, 2008

Please check this video trailer of Dead Space's trailer. It features Ben Templesmith's art made into quasi-animated sequence. It kicks ass! The footage you'll see is not from this issue, however. It seems it's from a preview or #0 never published (his partner doesn't get attacked from a monster in #1, that's the reason of my assumption). Anyway, if you see this issue floating around, give it a go. You'll enjoy yourself. Oh, and a closing note: I believe that the only difference between the convention edition and the regular edition is the variant cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Doctor Who #1

Mar 11, 2008

This issue feels like a teaser to an episode of the series. The enemy feels a bit off, not being on the same level as the Doctor. It just doesn't feel menacing, and because of that the story lacks tension. With the TV series how they can escape or survive the enemy always keeps you guessing but here's it's just predictable. The art also feels a bit too cartoon-ish for the series, almost as if it's targeted to kids. Sadly, I cannot recommend this book. Skip it and stick to the TV series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Evil Dead #1

Jan 28, 2008

The art is beautifuly painted by John Bolton (he did the Army of Darkness adaptation as well). For some of the panels it seems like he painted over the film, which are very well done, I might add. One thing to notice is that only Bruce Campbells likeness was used. The rest of the cast doesnt look the same as they did in the movie. Im also nitpicking here, but the wardrobe wore by the rest of the characters is different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Ex Machina #34

Mar 4, 2008

Brian K. Vaughan delivers another solid story. This is, in particular, a great story for longtime fans of the series as we finally get a glimpse of Angotti's back story. The issue also serves as ground base for future stories. Tony Harris' art is stunning as usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
FX #1

Mar 23, 2008

I'm not big into hero books, but I gotta admit, this book is a fun read. I'm sure many people will like it because of John Byrne's nostalgic feel. Now, back to my usual poor guy rant. Why the $3.99 tag? It's not licensed, and I don't want fancy paper stock if I can pay $1 less. I know that IDW is an independent publisher, but some people can't afford that extra buck on the cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Kick-Ass #1

Feb 27, 2008

I didn't expect the ending as well. How does he get to be a superhero if he's almost dead? I can't wait for next issue! Every comic book fan needs to buy this comic, it's about you!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Locke & Key #1

Mar 2, 2008

I'm really intrigued by all the doors that dwell in this mansion and the different effects they'll impose on the people that cross them. For a first issue, it's an excellent read, and a sharp supernatural thriller. The comic costs $3.99 as many IDW comics do, but I can't complain too much on the price this time. You get 32 pages of story, a glossy “key” on the cover (okay, it's a little gimmicky), and one heck of a debut issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Locke & Key #2

Mar 21, 2008

One off-review note" What the heck is a young George W. Bush doing on the cover of The Executioner? Creepy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Locke & Key #3

Apr 15, 2008

Meanwhile, the police visit the Locke's, telling them that a killer escaped prison and they are doing everything in their power to capture him back. I believe once we get the whole picture, this issue will feel less a fill-in. But for now, it seems that there is little progression with the story. Sure, the killer has escaped and Kinsey is growing up and facing her fears, but it feels like too little for me. I want more supernatural doors!

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Logan #1

Mar 7, 2008

I don't really want to see a romantic story in an action series, and probably this is why they released this comic as "Logan", the man, not the hero or the mutant. I've also seen this story many times; Vaughan must be working hard on Lost and probably didn't put much effort into it. By the end of the story this woman will perish by either Warren or from the fires of war. Boring. But I'm going to keep reading. You can't have all hits. I guess.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Narcopolis #1

Feb 2, 2008

Maybe if the language wasn't too foreign this book could have been good. The concept is interesting. Rock's art has great potential, but is misused with the script.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
North Wind #2

Feb 12, 2008

This book is full of clichs. It's the textbook definition of the hero's journey – no doubt about it. Next issue, Pak will probably meet the woman who was a little girl from issue #1. Fourth issue he'll find out the solution to the fuel problem and by the fifth, he will avenge his tribe. Sometimes this type of story is well done, not this time – it's too transparent for intelligent readers. But you be the judge reading #1 and #2 available for free.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
North Wind #3

Mar 12, 2008

It's a good thing I didn't have to pay for this issue. Indeed the story is predictable. I'm glad I didn't spend a dime, but I lost 10 minutes of my life and I'll never get it back!

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Resurrection #3

Mar 10, 2008

Marc Guggenheim needs to stop driving on the slow lane. I'll give this series the remaining two issues to pick things up. After that, I'm going to drop it if nothing improves. It's got a great premise, it just needs better execution. If you still haven't read issue #1, you can find it here. Hopefully, next issue will be better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Resurrection #4

May 9, 2008

Unfortunately for Resurrection, there are other books that I want to read and I can't wait anymore for it to pick up the pace. Even though there are two more issues remaining to complete the story arc, I just don't care. Maybe I'll check out the trade when its released, but for now, this title's lost a reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Screamland #1

Apr 21, 2008

Screamland's art reminds me of a more detailed version of Ben Templesmith's work (you decide if that's a good or bad thing). The cover for #1 is hilarious: Frankenstein posing as a model bare chested in Miami. The story is actually really interesting, too. Growing up watching the monsters movies on Saturday nights, I always wondered what they'd be up to now, even if it's another medium. I also think it was a smart choice focusing on one monster story per issue. Hopefully, they'll start the movie before the comic ends!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Walking Dead #46

Feb 14, 2008

This mantra is confirmed again with this issue. The Governor doesn't have enough strength to hit with one hand, so he strikes several times, making for one hell of a brutal assassination. I do wonder why the survivors didn't shoot at the governor while doing his deed (and out in the open). At least they could have saved one of them, (if Michone was captured as the Governor said). I saw the covers for future issues and it doesn't look good for Rick and company.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #495

Feb 6, 2008

Choi and Oback are great as usual on art chores.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Urban Monsters #1

Mar 14, 2008

This comic looks like it's a love project that got approved for publishing. I'm trying to read new independent works whenever I have the chance – sometimes I discover great things, sometimes not so much. Urban Monsters falls in the middle. I don't know if I should take the comic as a serious piece with social commentary or just as a humor story (or both). I'll stick around for another issue, but hope to see some changes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Witchblade (1995) #114

Feb 1, 2008

The art and cover is done by Sami Basri while the alternate variant cover is done by Mike Choi (somebody give this guy a permanent job!); I would love Choi as the ongoing artist if anyone at Top Cow is reading this! I'm curious to see where everything goes from here, but I kind of lost hope after several bad issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Witchblade (1995) #115

Feb 7, 2008

Anyway, I've read enough. This issue is available in two connecting covers to choose from by Mike Choi and Sonia Oback. I'm sure next issue (Sejic's run begins) will be much better… at least I hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Witchblade (1995) #116

Mar 25, 2008

The cover for the next issue tells me exactly what I've said the first time that this “David” character appeared: He's after the Witchblade. Surprise, surprise. I might have given this book a grade of B+, but the new logo change pisses me off.

View Issue       View Full Review
0.8
Wormwood: Gentleman Corpse: Calamari Rising #1

Feb 2, 2008

I didn't pick up 30 Days of Night because of Templesmith's horrible art. And yeah, I know you shouldn't judge the book by its cover. But whatever. I gave this book $3.99 and it stinks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Y: The Last Man #60

Jan 30, 2008

For the Spanish uneducated, "Alas" means "Wings". But it's not that hard to understand. It was bittersweet to see all the characters for the last time. I'm going to miss them.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More