Donovan Grant's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 29
7.0Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batgirl (2011) #35

Oct 8, 2014

Overall the new team on Batgirl came out of the gate scoring touchdowns, but not without a fumble or two. I honestly believe the problems I had with this first issue arent indicative of the run as a whole, because like a new Doctors first season on Doctor Who, you cant expect everything to be laid out from the very beginning. What weve been given here is good, and Im down for what comes up next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #36

Nov 13, 2014

Overall this is probably my favorite comic Ive read this month, which includes various Spider-Verse tie-ins, Miles Morales and Ms. Marvel. The new creative team has definitively made their mark on this character, and Im dying to check out the next issue. It feels so good to say that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #37

Dec 11, 2014

These issues are very straightforward, and theres only so much praise you can heap upon something. This is quickly becoming my favorite comic each month, and its something Ill continually recommend. If you want fun super hero action with a great hero, get into this series right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #38

Jan 15, 2015

Overall this was a surprising story. It revealed the depth of perception the writers have for the story their telling and the character theyre portraying in a way I dont see often with a lot of modern DC Books. Four for four thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #39

Feb 19, 2015

This is another bulls-eye for the writing team. The mystery is legitimately engaging and not at all predictable. Cant wait to see where it leads. It should be noted that were told to read Secret Origins #10 before catching the next issue of Batgirl, so I suppose Ill check back in with that before review #40!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011) #40

Mar 19, 2015

This isnt a bad issue, but a disappointing one for me, and for subjective reasons.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #41

Jun 25, 2015

I was pleased by how much I enjoyed this issue. To be honest, my trepidations going into it are on me. The last issue wasnt much to put me off the run, I just put it into my head that things wouldnt be as good for no real reason. Batgirl is as solid as ever and this issue is a great reminder that the first storyline wasnt a fluke.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #42

Jul 30, 2015

I really enjoyed this, mainly for the art, but the story was solid as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #43

Aug 27, 2015

This was another solid one, with the best thing about it being the showcase of supporting characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl (2011) #44

Sep 24, 2015

So yeah, overall this was really disappointing. Not an awful issue, but not great when reading the series for the past year. I dont know how this happened, but Im hoping this is just a blip in the creative teams batting average.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #45

Oct 29, 2015

Overall this is a nigh-perfect story hampered by DC Comics bizarre mandate of keeping Dick and Babs apart. If it has to be done, this is the best way to do it, with terrific art to go along.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) #46

Dec 17, 2015

Again, this issue is fine but it left me cold. Im really wondering about the book as a whole now, and if deeper storylines and characterizations are coming or if theyre just not what this creative team is interested in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011) #47

Jan 21, 2016

Not a bad issue, but just slightly above boring unfortunately.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2011) #48

Feb 4, 2016

I still like this book, especially after the third act of this issue. The reliance on the tech-based plots is firmly irritating me however. I just wonder if the writers truly know nothing else. But its a solid superhero cliffhanger at the end, and Im down to see where it all goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2011) #49

Mar 3, 2016

This story started off slow, but has been building over the last few months towards a very strong climax. Looking forward to seeing how it all ends!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011) #51

Apr 28, 2016

Its tough as I have little positive things to say about this issue. It wasnt bad exactly, but it felt as though Fletcher was instructed to wrap up the series at the eleventh hour, and he tried cramming several things into a single plot. Gladius isnt exactly a great villain the end things on, as I barely remembered her from the Annual last year. The storys serviceable, but as an almost-final issue it doesnt give the sense that the next issue is worth picking up. Heres hoping it will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011) #52

May 26, 2016

My final thoughts on the issue are the same as my first words on it. The series as a whole was an angel's grasp pulling us away from the dreck that was Simone's editorially dictated run. It's always going to be one of the most drastic quality changes in a comic series' life for me. But beyond the outside shenanigans, Burnside Batgirl was a reliably fun, engaging, beautifully drawn read with characters whose lifespans were cut down way too quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) Annual #3

Jul 30, 2015

Overall this was a simple story made better by mostly great artwork and solid characterization throughout that really sells this as a crossover issue more so than a Batgirl Annual. A very fun read that is worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 11, 2014

So in the end, I think this issue concludes Simones run on a high note. Its not great, or really even that good. The logic fails and contrivances can be staggering if you let them. As with most works of fiction however, that doesnt always matter. Did you enjoy it? Did it feel true to the characters? Would you read it again? Its a very imperfect piece of work, but the value it contains isnt negligible. Its a hopeful look towards the horizon and reaffirmation on what Gail Simone loves most about the character. If nothing else, you cant fault the writer for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2011): Endgame #1

Mar 19, 2015

If Im being honest, Bengals art is the only reason to pick this up, and although its good it may not be worth the full price. Check this issue out through any discount mailing service or online store, because its as slight as it gets but is moderately entertaining. Not a bad issue, but hardly essential for anything.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #39

Jan 17, 2018

Overall, the issue falls flat as it feels that this situation was forced and the redeeming aspect of the issue is the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Convergence: Batgirl #1

Apr 9, 2015

I actually feared I was going to hate this a lot more than I did, and Im still keen to see the second issue. But in the realm of asking if its better to have a character back or to have them be written well, the latter must always be the better choice. This isnt horrible by any means, but its a bit disappointing and lacking in sufficient foresight when it comes to delivering fan favorite characters back from limbo after so long. If youre going to do it, dont do it absent-mindedly.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Convergence: Batgirl #2

May 7, 2015

This was lousy. Im not horrified or as offended as last issue, but the value in seeing our favorite characters together again was deadened by the absence of their actual personalities. This is half-assed, lazy writing in its purest form.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #1

Nov 25, 2015

So little meat for a first issue requires so few words, and thats frankly all there is to say about this. The only reason to read the next issue is to see if the story starts then and there. Again, this isnt a bad story but its not good and unworthy of the names attached to it. I am not personally fond of Dark Knight Strikes Again but at least that had its own style and personality to it. And The Dark Knight Returns #1 is a timeless classic that can be read on its own without reading the rest of the story. This issue isnt bad tasting, but its still watered down, which doesnt taste good all the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #2

Dec 23, 2015

Its not a bad issue. Its much better in my opinion than issue #1. But if this is going to have the Dark Knight Returns name to it, it might as well be invisible. Nothing here makes it worth reading and acknowledging as being in the same world.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Night: A True Batman Story #1

Jun 15, 2016

For fans of Batman: the Animated Series, this graphic novel is an eye-opening insight into one of the series most valuable creative minds. Like an undressed emperor, Paul Dini is made unflinchingly real by his own words. Its a deeply personal reflection but like the master storyteller he continues to be, the anecdote serves more than just being a navel-gazing confessional. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #31

Jun 21, 2019

Looking forward to seeing how the Titans get out of this jam, or even what might happen if they dont.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2016) #32

Jul 19, 2019

Overall the issue was a suitable conclusion to the two-parter that was well-paced enough, but a few writing clichs and a lack of suitable interest in Lobo and Crushs relationship brought this down after the high-flying fun of part one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #33

Aug 23, 2019

The potential does remain for this to lead to some interesting places. Im not terribly confident, but Im not dreading the following issues to come either.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More