Fanboy Ramblings's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Fanboy Ramblings Reviews: 30
7.7Avg. Review Rating

8
A+X #1

Nov 1, 2012

I like the idea behind this book but I wish that they would focus on just one team up and do a full issue instead of these split ones with two teams. The Captain/Cable team-up seemed strong enough to be a team that could make for a decent arc over a few issues. The Hulk/Wolverine team up fell short of the mark and didn't really have anything to keep me interested in their story.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
AVX: Consequences #2

Oct 19, 2012

I'm going to keep this short and sweet…don't waste your time. This really is not worth it and isn't adding anything to the overall story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
AVX: Consequences #3

Oct 25, 2012

The art and colors in this series are good and the story seems to be taking off a little bit. Issue number #3 is worth reading and hopefully 4 and 5 can salvage the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
AVX: Consequences #4

Nov 1, 2012

Like I mentioned up top, this is the best book of the series so far. That isn't saying all that much though, so take that with a grain of salt. The main issue I have with this story is when Wolverine visits Cyclops he acts very uncharacteristically and shows some heart and compassion towards Cyclops, which we know doesn't happen all that often. It almost felt forced and really didn't make any sense when compared to how Wolverine acts towards Cyclops in the rest of the series. I did however enjoy the conversation that Tony has with Cyclops, you learn a little bit about what would have happened if Tony's plans would have succeeded in AvX and it's surprising to say the least. The ending was by far my absolute favorite and really sets up what could be an exciting conclusion to the series. I recommend giving this book a read but it might worth it to just wait until all 5 issues come out in TPB.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
AVX: Consequences #5

Nov 8, 2012

This issue focuses on Magneto, Magick, and Danger's attempt to break Cyclops out of prison, and when they do the X men universe is shifted on it's end. It didn't have the wow factor that you would expect from the end of a series book. You knew what was going to happen before it happened. I was left with a feeling of overall disappointment but hopefully that can turn into something great in All New X-Men. It'll be interesting to see Cyclops teamed up with Magneto. The dynamics of their relationship has to potential to be very captivating, hopefully the writers can pull it off. Ultimately though, this series isn't a must read but it is also a bit of a glimpse as to what is going on in the Marvel Now! universe. Check it out if you're interested, if you're not, move along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2011) #13

Nov 2, 2012

This was a very good issue and Batgirl is quickly becoming one of my favorite DC titles every month. There is a well balanced mix between the story and the action in this title. The look back into the life of Knightfall raises one of those moral questions. If your parents were brutally murdered, doesn't part of you want to seek vengeance so it never happens to anyone else again? Ultimately, it draws a strange comparison to Batman who started his crime fighting career under the same premise with the difference being he doesn't kill. The art style and visualization are gorgeous in this book. The brawl felt like a movie scene and transitioned flawlessly from page to page. I highly recommend checking this out if you're following Death of the Family or if you are looking for a new monthly title. Batgirl does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #13

Oct 11, 2012

The Joker has been gone for 1 year after having his face removed.by Dollmaker. He returns to Gotham and is up to his old tricks. His first order of business was to break into Gotham Police Department and get his face back…and from there the typical Joker madness ensues. I'm not going to go any further because this is a MUST read. If you've been mad at DC because of the New 52! This book and the story arc to come are probably going to change your mind. Drop everything, go out and pick this book up..I'll wait….no i won't

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #14

Nov 17, 2012

This issue is just incredible, simply put. I re-read it 3 times and will probably skim through it a few more. The writing is very slick and the banter between Joker and Batman is witty and unnerving at the same time. This is by far the most insane Joker we've seen in a long time. When you couple that slick writing with beautiful visuals, you get a home-run. The Joker looks as sadistic as he sounds. If you remember back to issue 13 he stole his face back that had been cut off before his disappearance. Well, he's got the face back on his body, but it doesn't fit just right..making for some creepy visuals. I recommend going out and getting Batman 13 and 14 along with the rest of the issues pertaining to this storyline. It's only going to get better from here!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin (2011) #13

Oct 11, 2012

This was a good story that I was able to just sit back and read right through and not worry about continuity. I also found it refreshing that for once, Bruce was the actual target instead of Batman. I felt that made an interesting twist as we as readers are so often used to Batman being the one in danger. I really recommend this book, it's a good quick little story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bedlam #1

Oct 25, 2012

This book is genuinely creepy, violent, and disturbing. I recommend you go out and get this today because I feel like this book is going to be doing some special things and you should be along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Catwoman (2011) #13

Oct 24, 2012

Overall, this book can be passed by on the shelf. I feel like DC did us dirty on this one by slapping the “Death of the Family” prologue label on this to get us to buy. This book in no way shape or form adds any depth to that story line, it's almost as if they were trying to get good sales for a new creative team. Tsk tsk DC, you're better than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool (2012) #1

Nov 8, 2012

This issue was awesome. It had the perfect blend of action, comedy and ridiculousness that you expect from a Deadpool book. The action in this book smacks you in the face on Page 1 and doesn't let up. The story itself is about as goofy and out there as they come, but it really works well. It wouldn't be a Deadpool story if he wasn't taking on some ridiculous foe. The art is really good. It is a little bit less realistic than the Iron Man release but the character models are very detailed. This book is very bright and colorful, especially the splash page near the end of the book, it is stunning. I highly recommend checking out this book as Deadpool doesn't disappoint!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Fatale #9

Nov 1, 2012

This issue along with the whole series is a roller coaster ride. It has all the makings of a good R-Rated crime film mixed with the blood and guts of a great horror movie. This is a book that is just as strong in story as it is visually. The penciling and coloration has a total retro vibe in the sense that you feel like you're transported to the time period it is taking place. Fatale never disappoints and this issue is just another piece of an incredible body of work. I cannot recommend this series enough and it is always worth buying the book itself as there are always some extras in the back. Check it out as soon as you get the chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Happy #2

Nov 1, 2012

Happy #2 is a very interesting book with a completely insane story. The world that Grant Morrison has created is very dark, vile and disturbing. It fully imagines what goes on in all the dark alleyways in the bad part of town. This story is most definitely for the mature reader. That being said, it is done well and keeps you captivated. The book comes off very serious but then the introduction of Happy adds a little bit of comedic relief that perfectly balances the mood. The way happy looks and the things he says can make even the toughest guy smirk. Visually the book is gritty and dirty. It really brings to life everything that is nasty in the world. This grittiness though is offset by Happy's “my little pony”-esque look. Just like how he changes the mood of the story, he changes it visually as well. Happy #2 is a standout book and is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #3

Oct 19, 2012

I look forward to this release every month. The art is stunning but also has this sense of not being detailed enough, but it works. The writing is top notch and every month they manage to make Clint even more sarcastic and funny. What makes it better is Kate stays right there with him and deals it right back. Go check this book out the first chance you get, there's only 3 issues out so catch it now and get caught up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invincible #96

Oct 25, 2012

While I did not like the story arc all that much, i really did enjoy this issue. It's worth checking out if you're a monthly Invincible reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Invincible #97

Nov 17, 2012

This is just another fantastic book in an outstanding series. Things are starting to ramp up a little bit again in the Invincible world and I couldn't be more excited. Although my excitement is lessened by all the foreshadowing of death in the upcoming issues..but don't let that stop you, run out and get this book, now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Iron Man (2012) #1

Nov 8, 2012

This issue gets it right. It portrays Tony Stark/ Iron Man in a light that we are used to by now. He's his usual womanizing and sarcastic self and I wouldn't have it any other way. It feels as if the creative team is leaning a bit on the portrayal of Iron Man in the movies, which I have no problem with. The story so far is pretty decent, it starts out with Iron Man being a bit reflective and speaking about what makes him who he is and it ends with a quick little skirmish that is very beautifully drawn. The art in this book is top-notch. The colors are rich and vibrant and the edges are crisp and clean. This is a very sexy book visually. There is even a fresh peak at a new armor for Tony, it is Black and Gold and looks truly bad-ass. Check out this book as I think this is going to be a series worth keeping track of.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Lot 13 #1

Nov 1, 2012

Lot 13 starts out very creepy and disturbing. It felt like a horror version of The Crucible in the first few pages. The story as of right is lacking mostly because the book only really focused on the family and their move. There wasn't much about what is going to happen. It just a typical family move, with a few strange occurrences throw in. The art is decent but not mind-blowing. However, the character faces possess a lot realistic qualities. The only downfall is that the character models are not consistent, in the same panel one character can be very detailed and realistic all the while another comes off cartoony. This book is average to say the least, hopefully the next 3 issues can pull off some amazingly creepy horror elements. It's worth a read if you're a horror fan or just in the mood because it's Halloween. It may be worth it though to wait until issue 2 comes out and read them back to back for more story since this one is lacking.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nightwing (2011) #13

Oct 19, 2012

All in all, you can safely pass on this issue and pick up #14 which I'm sure will contain the show-down. There really is nothing of great substance in this issue and it almost just feels like filler. Save your $2.99 and wait til next month. You won't miss anything I promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Punisher: War Zone #1

Oct 25, 2012

This is a good read and I recommend checking it out if you get the chance!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars: Darth Maul - Death Sentence #4

Nov 1, 2012

Overall, this book was okay. Maul is far and away my favorite character in the Star Wars universe and his portrayal in this book doesn't really live up to what we know him to be. He shows some very ruthless and evil moments but sometimes he comes off as a psycho cartoon villain more than a killer Sith bad-ass. The art like most of the Dark Horse Star Wars books is stunning and fits the universe very well. The story in this series was very lacking, they could have done so much more and it ultimately felt like it was too trivial for a Sith to be dealing with. If you're a Star Wars fan who doesn't miss a single issue of anything Star Wars related, I say check it out. If you're not a uber-fan there probably isn't much here for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Talon #1

Oct 29, 2012

One of the things that stands out the most in the art style is the character models. The costumes for Calvin and the other Talons are very original, which is refreshing considering that with so many superheroes out there some begin to look similar. Will these costumes be iconic? probably not, they do however feel fresh and new. Check this book out immediately, you will not be disappointed. Especially if you liked the Batman arc that started all of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Activity #9

Oct 19, 2012

This book is worth your time if you're into things like Call of Duty and Battlefield. I enjoy it every month and it is definitely in the top 5 of release for Image comics..

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Cape: 1969 #4

Oct 19, 2012

If you remember last week I wrote a glowing review of the first 3 issues of this series (if you didn't know, go back and check it out). This is the final issue in the prequel arc of the book The Cape. Joe Hill & Jason Ciaramella ended this series with a bang. In it we have the final confrontation between Cory Chase and the Viet Cong leader that killed his entire Med-evac unit. Cory Chase spends a bit of time in the story reflecting and thinking about the things he has done in Vietnam. He then shifts his focus to the task at hand, the ultimate showdown. The ending of this story is fabulous and makes me want to read The Cape. The art and colors in this book as I've mentioned before make you feel like you're in the middle of the jungle caked with dirt and mud. These series was well written and I cannot recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #103

Oct 19, 2012

This issue is all about how Rick plans to deal with post-apocalyptic mobster Negan and his gang of scumbags. Negan makes his first appearance in person to the survivors compound. He proves to be even more ruthless and scummy than we've seen him up unto this point. Kirkman is doing a good job of really making me hate this guy. This was a great issue that focuses more on drama than combat and violence.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #104

Nov 17, 2012

I feel as though there is no convincing needed to get someone into The Walking Dead. This is easily my favorite comic book in print right now. It delivers every month and never gets the feeling that they are “mailing it in”. Check it out or continue to be a loser.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Thief of Thieves #10

Nov 17, 2012

Thief of Thieves is an awesome book month in and month out. I cannot recommend the series enough and this issue sets up what I'm sure will be an action packed story arc. This book isn't just story however, the art and coloration in it are fantastic. The colors are very vivid and striking, they make you feel like you're a part of the frames. Check it out, you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny Avengers #1

Oct 11, 2012

This book was a good introduction into the direction they are going with The Avengers. I'm excited to see all these guys fighting together and see what teams are put together. Alex seems like he's going to be a good leader and has a much better head on his shoulder than that of his brother. Overall it is a solid book and I recommend checking it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Wolverine MAX #1

Oct 25, 2012

I would pass on this until a few issues come out and you read them back to back to get more story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

2nd

November

More