Gil Smith's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 21
7.0Avg. Review Rating

8
Aquaman (2011) #32

Jun 26, 2014

So many shades of blue! AQUAMAN stands strong for atmosphere, visuals and pacing, even if the crowded nature of multiple story arcs going on at a time costs this issue some opportunities for suspense and character development, but to be fair, I'm going to need to catch up on the series before setting that in stone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Constantine #15

Jun 12, 2014

Strong writing, good art and strange locales make CONSTANTINEone of the better entries in DC's current lineup of dreamy, magic-oriented comic books. If you were going to fault Constantine for anything, it's only guilty of not knowing its strengths.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Constantine #16

Jul 10, 2014

A strong sense of place, good art and strong character writing make CONSTANTINE a thoroughly enjoyable read, a travelogue of the mysterious underbelly of the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Constantine #17

Aug 17, 2014

Some nice scenery aside, this isn't storytelling, it's bookkeeping.In most comics they draw the word balloons first so they don't crowd the art, I suspect Edgar Salazar and Taylor Esposito drew the word balloons first so they wouldn't crowd the other word balloons.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Infinity Man And The Forever People #1

Jun 12, 2014

We can debate whether or not the comic is worth reading, but not whether or not it's worth looking at. This is one of the coolest looking comics I've seen this month. Those hand-drawn special effects, that bold linework and the dense backgrounds all scream “COMIC BOOKS!” making for a refreshing change of pace from the more subtle, cinematic look most superhero books share these days.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Infinity Man And The Forever People #2

Jul 10, 2014

The art and my hope that the next issue might be pretty good earn this book a bit of lukewarm fondness on my part. The series remains an effective and dutiful attempt at recreating a Jack Kirby comic for a modern audience, with all the good and bad that that entails.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark #31

May 29, 2014

Overall, JLD is a refreshing, unique take on both superhero and horror content. Ultimately, issue 31 has me wanting to read more, and I'll probably be up all night catching up on the backlog.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark #32

Jun 26, 2014

Although magic can be a little too easy of an out for any danger the characters face, strong character writing, beautiful art and just the right amount of humor make JUSTICE LEAGUE DARK one of the best monthlies from the eerier side of the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Dark #33

Jul 24, 2014

Not just a good issue but a surprisingly strong one that makes the whole series it's a part of even better. A tour de force of confident writing and art while still delivering what has made the series so appealing thus far: an opportunity to spend 20 pages a month hanging out with a cool bunch of characters inside the House of Mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League Dark #34

Aug 28, 2014

I like the New 52 SWAMP THING, but if you want to get into the dark, dreamworld side of DC, this is the only book you really need. The best of the current supernatural-themed books, and one of the best superhero team comicsI've ever read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Phantom Stranger (2012) #20

Jun 5, 2014

An excellent entry point into the weird world of the Phantom Stranger. This is not just a good issue, it's a good story that fits neatly inside of twenty pages, which is something that you don't always get with ongoing monthlies.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Phantom Stranger (2012) #21

Jul 2, 2014

Although the New 52 take on the Phantom Stranger isn't as mysterious as some of the best takes on the character, strong writing and artwork make the series one of the stronger entries among D.C.'s supernatural-themed comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Phantom Stranger (2012) #22

Aug 7, 2014

TRINITY OF SIN: PHANTOM STRANGER remains my favorite least favorite series. I love everything about the execution, but I just can't warm up to the idea of exploring the Stranger's backstory and psychology in the same way we want to map out the entire biography of a character like Superman or Alec Holland. DeMatteis is an excellent writer, but the Stranger can't help but become less interesting with every new detail we learn about him.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Phantom Stranger (2012): Futures End #1

Sep 4, 2014

I could read J.M. DeMatteis writing the phonebook, but I'd rather read him writing characters not bound by such predictable themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star-Spangled War Stories: G.I. Zombie #1

Jul 24, 2014

Not bad, just disappointing. Some glaring shortcomings make the book feel a little C-tier when the concept is fun enough to make it the biggest sleeper hit of the year. Hopefully now that the groundwork has been laid down, the book will start digging into some good storylines and visuals. I'm going with a 3/5, but I gotta admit, it's a pretty lukewarm 3/5.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Swamp Thing (2011) #32

Jun 5, 2014

Gorgeous art and generally strong writing ensure that Swamp Thing remains my favorite of the new era of D.C. titles, but taking issue 32 on its own, it's not one of my favorites. The Monster of the Week formula is still a part of what this character is all about, and this week's monster's defeat was both disappointing and too convoluted for me to care to really wrap my head around.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Swamp Thing (2011) #33

Jul 2, 2014

Not the strongest issue of the New 52SWAMP THING, but a testament to how consistently good the series is even between its bigger moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2011) #34

Aug 7, 2014

Probably my favorite Charles Soule issue of Swamp Thing yet, #34 nails the formula for a perfect issue of this series: ugly monsters, a badass fight scene, and a Buddhisty philosophical conceit that your stoner roommate would love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 4, 2014

Although saddled with some heavy-lifting in the exposition department, SWAMP THING: FUTURE'S END #1 is one of the prettiest SWAMP THING books I've read, placing it high in the running for one of the prettiest comic books of all time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #12

Jun 19, 2014

Though TRINITY OF SIN: PANDORA has failed to stand out from the New 52 pack in terms of story, concept and character, it's a competent entry worth checking out for some strong action bolstered by intense, splatterpunky writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #14

Aug 21, 2014

Although PANDORA hasn't been one of my favorite series, this has been one of my favorite books in weeks. Fast, violent, action packed, creepy and visceral.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More