H. Ham's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 21
6.2Avg. Review Rating

3
Adventures of the Super Sons #12

Jul 5, 2019

Well, the story is over at the very least. The heroes got the victory they wanted, and they didn't even bother hiding this to us with the cover. Robin was correct. It really wasn't so hard, was it?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics #475

Jun 16, 2020

A cultural moment in comic book history. Its just a shame it really couldnt stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Gotham High #1

Apr 7, 2020

Don't bother with this comic. Even if things weren't financially tough on everyone everywhere, this story would never be worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Nightwing (2016) #61

Jun 20, 2019

I feel like this story arc was supposed to be longer, four or possibly five issues. But Jurgens was told otherwise and was forced to cut it down to three. Really underwhelming ending to a pretty average storyline. Let's see what happens next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (2016) #62

Aug 22, 2019

A lot of people have signed off this series, but I hope people will be willing to give it a chance because as far as things look, things are only getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nightwing (2016) #63

Sep 19, 2019

Final Thoughts: Good read. Not as good as the last issue, but miles better than the past few.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Nightwing (2016) #65

Oct 17, 2019

Final Thoughts: I'm not totally lost on this issue. it hasn't done anything unforgivable yet or make me question my purchase. It's just a big let down since the last two issues were giving me so much hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Nightwing (2016) #66

Nov 21, 2019

Theres just way too much exposition and not enough actually happening. The next issue should be a little better, there should be some good violence going on. But all the goodwill they earned from the Nightwing annual is getting lost quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nightwing (2016) #67

Dec 19, 2019

More or less a decent story, but it could have been way better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) Annual #2

Oct 31, 2019

Final Thoughts: An amazingly well written and drawn comic. Honestly, this is a highly recommended comic in my opinion; definitely pick it up if you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #36

Jul 11, 2019

As much as I complain that DC doesn't have enough editorial oversight, if this is what it means for DC's editors to start making shots again, maybe we should go back to yesteryear and have writers doing whatever they want without any oversight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #37

Aug 29, 2019

Where's the random kid who can speak to ghosts from the Annual?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #38

Sep 26, 2019

Overall though, the story was a good continuation of the last issue. Everything seems to be going in the right direction narratively.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #39

Oct 24, 2019

Overall, this was a serviceable comic and a decent read, just not much important happened. If you are currently reading the comic, no need to stop. If you want to get in, I suggest going back a few issues first and starting from there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #40

Nov 28, 2019

Final Thoughts: There's so much good character development that I must say that you should read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #41

Jan 2, 2020

The story is decent. Its a fine conclusion to the Generation Outlaw story arc. I just wish we could have gotten something a lot better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #42

Jan 23, 2020

A great story held back by some irritating details. Definitely worth picking up if you are a dedicated fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #43

Feb 27, 2020

Ultimately this issue was garbage. They barely explain at all what the new plot is going to be, and most of this is going to be explained better in the next issue. So just skip this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #44

Mar 26, 2020

A great return to form from Lobdells quality writing and much better art since last time. What more can I ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Year of the Villain: The Riddler #1

Sep 12, 2019

This comic is so good it's encouraged me to come out of my slump and start writing again. It's so good. Honestly, this really is the best comic I've seen come out this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Young Justice (2019) #9

Oct 4, 2019

This is an excellent issue that stands alone as a well-written origin for Keli. I really hope DC does more with her after this run ends, she's certainly my favorite of the cast at the moment. The art is also phenomenal; definitely some top-notch work here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More