Jenn Marshall's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sirens of Sequentials Reviews: 22
9.3Avg. Review Rating

9.6
Bonehead #4

Sep 18, 2018

To try and compare Bonehead to another piece of media is difficult. It has a lot of influences and ascetics from Akira, but that still doesn't paint a complete picture. Bonehead is a complex story that you need to see to experience from the beginning to understand completely so I do recommend reading the previous issues. It has been a huge hit at my local comic shop and I will definitely be adding this to my pull list once it comes back.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Brigantia #1

Jan 24, 2019

Celtic mythology contains some of my favorite legends, so, to see a story focusing on the old Celtic gods and goddesses has me excited. It isnt something I see very often, especially this well. Brigantia is an older goddess who does not have a lot written about her, and you can really tell that the creative team on used their Pagan Consultant, Limnaia Areia. The existing mythology felt honored in the story even when they threw the goddess into the modern world. Brigantia is a must read for anyone who loves mythology-based storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Ginger #4

Jan 25, 2019

Overall, the book has a classic Guardians of the Galaxy feel to it. The characters try their best, but are not always good at what they do. Somehow even when things work out, there is a price to pay, and even when they are being silly, the creative team can pull at your heart strings with both the characters and the events of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Underpants #1

Sep 24, 2018

I love watching kids reading Captain Underpants. They share pages with other kids, laugh constantly, and ask where the next book in the series can be found. Anything that gets kids that excited to read deserves 5 out of 5 stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cognition #1

Nov 13, 2018

Overall, I really enjoyed Cognition. It is an old-fashioned detective story that reminds me of a combination of Sherlock Holmes and The X-Files. Each issue contains a different mystery to solve that focuses on a supernatural creature from a different fairy story or myth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conspiracy: Denver Airport #3

Mar 1, 2019

Overall, Conspiracy Denver Airport was a fun read. The previous issues cover topics like the Illuminati and Doppelgangers. Future issues will explore social media and lizard people. I cannot wait to see what they do with the other conspiracy theories in the series. It is a single-issue comic, so if you are expecting a detailed description of the conspiracy you will be disappointed. They are fun stories that take place in the conspiracy, not an analysis. For me, this made the comic even better because it was about the story and characters, not someone trying to prove these theories are real.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cyber Force (2018) #10

May 23, 2019

Overall, I really enjoyed Cyber Force. There was a lot of action in this issue, but it didnt overshadow the extreme emotions that the characters were going through. I am excited to see where Cyber Force is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Apr 8, 2019

Overall, Detective Comics #1000 was a lot of fun to read. The stories are all over Batmans timeline. You see him agonizing over whether or not to include Dick as Robin and sitting in a wheelchair at the end of his life being confronted by the Penguin. You have a story for everyone. Not to mention the covers. With a cover to represent each decade in Bat-history, it was hard to decide on just one to purchase. I ended up choosing the Frank Miller variant because Dark Knight Returns was the first Batman story I read. Even if you are not currently reading Detective Comics, this is a must-have issue for any Batman fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Honor and Curse #2

Apr 25, 2019

The story or art alone would be enough to earn 5 stars but combining the two of them together creates a flawless experience. It hits all the right notes for both a supernatural mystery and a samurai story. Both the characters and story are complex which makes you want to know what will happen next. The minute I finished Honor and Curse I called my local comic shop and added it to my pull list. I highly recommend you do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infinite Dark #1

Oct 23, 2018

I added Infinite Dark to my pull list before it was released because the concept of a murder on a ship carrying the last of humanity sounded like a premise I would enjoy. The first issue confirmed I made the right choice and I will continue to read issue after issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invasion From Planet Wrestletopia #1

Sep 10, 2018

This book looks like it will be a ridiculously fun story. The art and color work really well with the story. I love how the color palette changes based on where the characters are. The wrestlers are over the top, like they should be, and I cannot wait to see more of planet Wrestletopia itself. I believe this story will be a big hit with both fans of wrestling and people being exposed to it for the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Knights of the Golden Sun #1

Dec 15, 2018

When I finished Knights of the Golden Sun, I immediately read it again so I could take more time with each panel. It is a stunning comic that will keep you on the edge of your seat trying to figure out how things will turn out. I cannot wait to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Miskatonic High #4

Sep 18, 2019

Miskatonic High pays attention to the small details and that is what makes this series one of my favorites. When in the druid world Alex was reading The Art of War by Sun Tzu and that book was used as evidence of his witchcraft. Druids believed in the power of words; magic was found in knowing the name of something. The fact that reading a book was evidence of witchcraft showed how much the creative team cares about keeping things accurate, even in a fantasy and horror setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Murder #1

Dec 12, 2018

Murder is a heartbreaking tale of how our food is processed and offers a different perspective on where our food comes from. It is not an easy read if you are a meat eater and will definitely make you consider where your food comes from. To be honest, I am partially rooting for the animals to kill us all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Necropolitan #1

Sep 4, 2018

Being a huge fan of horror comics it isn't often I find something that would give me nightmares. Necropolitan might just be that comic. It was brutal, but you are in Hell so anything less wouldn't work as well. I look forward to the rest of the series, but right now I need to go snuggle my cats.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Neon Future #1

Apr 3, 2019

It is tough to review each aspect separately with Neon Future. Change one aspect and you would have a completely different experience. Everything about this book works so well together. The colors chosen between the real world and the dream world drastically change, which helps sell the grittiness of the reality. There is a lot of dialogue and worldbuilding needed, but it never disrupts the story. The lettering is clear and expertly arranged. I picked up this book because of the cover, but less than five pages into the book I added it to my pull list. This is a top-notch book put together by a team who works flawlessly together. I cannot wait to see what they do next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Princeless: Find Yourself #1

Nov 26, 2018

Once again, Princeless was an inspirational story about strength and determination. The only thing I found disappointing was that I didnt have the entire volume to binge read. One issue is never enough for me when it comes to Princeless.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sparks #2

Jan 28, 2019

Sparks has a lot of potential to be a really powerful story about a superhero who is dealing with too much. Right now we are still in the world building phase of Sparks, but with Issue #2 we see Ethan accept his powers and are introduced to a possible villain. It is clear that things are just getting started.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Resurrected #1

May 29, 2019

The biggest struggle I had with The Resurrected was being able to read it. Each time someone talked to another person through technology the text changed to light blue. Normally I read review copies on my phone and that was just not possible with this book. Even with my laptop, the text was really difficult to read and I know I missed pieces of information because of it. If the text was just a little bit darker I don't think I would have had this problem. Overall, The Resurrected was an interesting premise and with a release set for August, it will make a fun summer read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Witchblade (2017) #8

Sep 26, 2018

From start to finish I loved everything about this series. I cannot wait to see where it is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches: Bad Egg Halloween Special #1

Oct 17, 2018

Overall, Bad Egg was amazing. I loved it as much as I did the first volume of Wytches. In the back of the issue, Snyder wrote a letter and talked about how his fears had changed since he wrote the first volume, and you can definitely see that in how the story deals with kids. I cannot wait for the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Zodiac (2019) #1

Mar 1, 2019

Silly villains, beautiful art, and a story that has you hanging on every word waiting to see what will happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More