Jeremy Carr's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 30
7.7Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Absolute Carnage (2019) #2

Aug 29, 2019

Now I will say this series has a few downsides: one being that big crossover events usually requirethe purchase of a lot more comics than I really want in order to understand the full story. The story itself has a few slow parts but overall the greatness outweighs the bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #1001

Jul 25, 2018

Action Comics #1001 was a really good and though the art wasnt always top notch like we got used to in Man of Steel, where it really held its own and worked well with the story. As I stated before, this issue didnt pack the same punch as Superman #1 but doesnt take away from the fact that this was a solid start to Bendis work on Action Comics. Im giving this issue 4 stars and look forward to seeing where this story is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman (2016) #49

Jun 23, 2018

Honestly the ONLY reason to read this issue is for the last 2 pages and thats so you can know whats going on in the next issue. Im giving this issue 2 stars which is a huge drop from the previous issue. The previous issue was good as it was different and I enjoyed the Joker in it, but this issue tried for the same gag and it just falls flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batman (2016) #51

Jul 18, 2018

As much as I love Batman it pains me to say this, but this is honestly one of the worst (if not the worst) Batman comics since the launch of Rebirth. Tom King plans to be on Batman for 50 more issues but if this is the stuff he is bringing to the table, it is going to be a LONG 50 issues. This issue had no redeemable qualities and will go down as my first 1 star review. I really wanted to have some hope for this series after the previous issue, but this just left me feeling hollow inside.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #52

Aug 3, 2018

If you loved the last issue than you will love this one, if you are like me and miss Batman doing Batman things, then this is a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #55

Sep 21, 2018

The art in this issue has been leaps and bounds better than what weve seen out of this series as of late. The Cold Days arc just wasnt my cup of tea, no offense to those who enjoy Weeks work. This issue just really drew me in and I enjoyed every page. I was pleasantly surprised by this issue, though King has let me down before. He can be brilliant or just downright awful. I refuse to let myself get too excited yet, but I can take this issue as King on his good days. So Im giving this issue 4 stars out of 5. Its a good start to getting back on track to some actual Batman story telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batman (2016) #76

Aug 8, 2019

The art was very well done in this issue with some of my favorite pages being of Thomas Wayne, I mean the man is just an absolute unit. So yeah, its kind of disappointing that the only good thing about this issue took me 2 sentences to say. I mean Im sure I could go on more about the art but whats really the point? This issue is just as terrible as the last. Im giving this issue 1 star. Trust me if I thought giving it no stars would matter much I would but I mean Thomas looked cool. Right?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Captain Marvel (2019) #9

Aug 16, 2019

I would usually like to talk about the art in this issue but just like the story it is just bland at best. I mean, they are totally better than mebut when it comes to comic book art, this issue just lacks all the way around. This issue may have some appeal to die hard Captain Marvel fans but as a whole in this big market of comic books, it is just mediocre at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #983

Jun 29, 2018

This issue really impressed me and honestly makes me look forward to another Detective Comics issue which is words I havent said in a long while.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #984

Jul 11, 2018

Im really looking forward to seeing what else Hill and company can bring to the table because this Detective Comics issue was just incredible. Im giving this issue 5 stars and, honestly, if I could have given it 6 I would have. When you put a writer like Hill with an amazing art team, great things happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #985

Jul 25, 2018

The writing in this issue was the true shining star. It is nice to feel excited about a Batman driven story again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #988

Sep 17, 2018

Finally to wrap things up on why I loved this issue so much is the artwork. This comic was beautiful from front to back and really does an amazing job setting the tone of this story. It was dark and gritty yet also came to life with color when it needed too. The variant cover to this issue just looks stunning with Batman back in his old suit. There is honestly nothing about this issue I can mark off for, so from me this issue is easily 5 Stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #996

Jan 18, 2019

It wasnt just the story in this issue that made it remarkable but also the art: this team of artists really brought this story to life with the action sequences. I absolutely enjoyed this issue and look forward to what Tomasi and the team have lined up next for us as we continue the countdown to issue #1000. This is easily a 5 star issue and I encourage everyone to pick it up. If you are not caught up on the what's happening so far, go back and grab the others. Youll want to enjoy this full story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #997

Feb 2, 2019

If you haven't been keeping up with this series since Tomasi came onboard then I highly suggest you do so. This has been an action packed and thrilling ride that is sure to make any Batman fans happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1000

Mar 30, 2019

I want to give a special thanks to DC Comics and all the writers and artists that pour their hearts and souls into this medium that I absolutely adore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1004

May 24, 2019

This issue is mostly just character building for the main villain, and honestly it is really good. Peter J Tomasi once again delivers and is backed up by a killer art team. The only bad thing I can say about this issue is that I would have liked to have seen the story progress a little more than it did, but other than that, it was good stuff. If you are really into this current run of Detective Comics then obliviously this is a must have. Ive giving this issue a 4 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #1009

Aug 16, 2019

The writing in this issue was top tier and, along with that,Tomasi has an incredible art team backing up his story. In the first few pages alone, I couldnt help but just fall in love with the detail and look of this issue. The title page where Batman stands upon the gargoyle head overlooking Gotham is my favorite and really shows how professional DC Comics artists can be. The art and story of Detective Comics #1009 is a must-buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doomsday Clock #11

Sep 8, 2019

Geoff Johns really amazed me with this issue, bringing so much of the story to a head and building up to what I hope is a finale for the ages. I really enjoyed this issue and highly suggest it to anyone, who has read up to this point. Its Ozmandias reveals are worth every penny. Im giving this issue 4.5 stars and will continue to look forward to the ending of a pretty great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #42

Jul 5, 2018

This writing in this issue was great because it really made Oliver question some things and at the same time tackled some issues often left untouched. This story with this amazing art team made for some beautiful pages that was just fun to read. Im giving this issue 4 stars and would suggest anyone interested in this issue to go back and read the previous ones to get the full story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2018) #6

Apr 10, 2019

If you are a Green Lantern fan or a fan of Morrison, this is a fantastic issue and I highly suggest you pick up this series. Its a must have for anyones pull list that loves the wild sci-fi stories. So for me this issue get 4.5 stars out of 5 and I look forward to this series with Grant Morrison at the helm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #42

Apr 11, 2018

My final thoughts for this issue is though the story may have moved slowed, I think Venditti brilliantly set up a story that will put our heroes at odds with an old friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #47

Jun 29, 2018

I will not speak too much of the last part of the issue as it gives away too much and honestly, if you love this series, please go read it for yourself. This was a great issue and really builds things up to be an epic conclusion. I love what Venditti and his art team has done with this story as the two just work so well together. With a great story and amazing art this issue earns 4 stars. The end of this story arc is coming and it could end up being one of my favorites stories from Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #43

Apr 21, 2018

If you haven't read anything from this story arc I would say give it a hard pass and wait for the new Justice League series coming out soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Man of Steel (2018) #4

Jun 23, 2018

This mini-series never ceases to amaze me nor does the work produced by the art teams that have worked on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man of Steel (2018) #5

Jun 29, 2018

This mini-series will be one for my collection and I think a must have for any fan of Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #8

Apr 21, 2018

My final thought for this issue is that it is a must read for any DC fan. Between the writing and the art, this limited series has been an absolute gem! I advise anyone who hasn't read issues 1 through 7 to do so immediately. The brilliance of this issue is built on the story as a whole, and should be enjoyed with the other 7 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shazam! (2018) #2

Jan 28, 2019

Though the story might have been a little slow and didnt go much of anywhere, it was absolutely beautiful to look at. The art was incredible, with the lighting in on some of the pages feeling like it could jump right off the page. It was just stunning to look at and really reminds me as to why I love the medium so much. With a good story and amazing art, its easy to lose oneself in a comic book. Even with my complaints about the slower story, I still feel this issue deserves praise for its work, so Im giving this issue 4 stars, and look forward to seeing Johns and the rest of the team on the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2018) #1

Jul 11, 2018

Bendis did a wonderful job showing us the emotions that Superman is currently going through. This was a wonderful story with a great twist that will surely have Superman pushing his limits. The cover art for this issue is gorgeous and goes well with art them that put this issue together. Bendis really started the new Superman series out with a bang, earning a 4 star rating from me. I really hope to see his enthusiasm carry over to Action Comics and seeing these two series blend nicely together.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tap Dance Killer #1

Oct 16, 2018

Now that is not to say this story is bad by any means and I feel like the story could really flesh out into something amazing. The art in this alone is also something that I loved. It felt like something straight out of the late 80s and just looked beautiful. There are a lot of things one could find to like about this series but for me these two issues could only bring up a 3 out of 5 stars for me. Its not bad but it could be better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Tom Clancy's The Division: Extremis Malis #1

Jan 7, 2019

If you are a fan of the Division and you are looking for a little fix to get you by until Division 2 launches, it might be enough. However, if you know nothing about the story of The Division, then I would say this is a hard pass for you. Im giving this issue 2.5 stars out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More