Joe Bainbridge's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 19
7.4Avg. Review Rating

9.6
Aquaman (2016) #38

Jul 30, 2018

A spectacular ending to this arc and I cannot wait for Abnett to continue writing his stories. King Rath was an intimidating foe and I do not believe this is the last we have seen of him. As good as Gho and Federici were for this I hope that Cifuentes brings another art style that is just as good as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Aquaman (2016) #39

Sep 5, 2018

With a possible underwater suicide squad vs suicide squad about to happen, I am very excited for the coming issues, and I also want to see Mera develop more as a Queen. Though she commands power in her panels, we need more ruling Atlantis to understand what makes her better than Arthur at being King.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Aquaman (2016) #40

Oct 4, 2018

A fun and exciting end to the crossover, but I am waiting for the next true issue of Aquaman. This still made for a good issue that was ultimately enjoyable

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Aquaman (2016) #41

Nov 7, 2018

My excitement for the Drowned Earth Saga has increased massively through this issue with Aquaman's world becoming more prominent with Mera ruling the scene and Orm out of prison. The team behind this story are doing a great job so far and I hope the quality keeps steady

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Aquaman (2016) #42

Dec 11, 2018

Though the issue is nothing special. It acts more as a recap and an end of an era for Aquaman as he understands what he is meant to be rathe than a solid comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mister Miracle #10

Aug 30, 2018

The issue is an amazing insight into Scott's desperation which spreads throughout the issue and culminates in an awesome ending where he decides he wants to kill Darkseid. I cannot wait for the next issue and I expect it is going to be incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #11

Oct 2, 2018

A truly superb issue from King and Gerads. The appearance of Darkseid has been built up since the beginning and was awesome. I cannot wait for the next issue

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mister Miracle #12

Nov 24, 2018

The ending to this series was interesting and thought provoking which was exactly what I expected from this. It was never going to be an easy ending and they did it masterfully. I am upset that it has to end but I hope that something else is released to carry on the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Nightwing (2016) #45

Jun 26, 2018

Lemire has created an intriguing and preachy story and is following through in a slow fashion. His issue is muddled to the point where I don't know where any of the different stories connect with each other. However, Lemire's dialogue continues to keep me entertained while Mooneyham's art impressed at every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Nightwing (2016) #46

Jul 19, 2018

Percy's work has brought all the different stories together which is ultimately satisfying, but there is very little to keep me interested in the current arc, though the next issue should pick up with the greater inclusion of the Bludhaven gangs.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Nightwing (2016) #47

Aug 30, 2018

Nightwing has given us a new kind of story with the terminals, and though the story will be changing Bludhaven, only the end of the story can tell just how far the writers will go.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Nightwing (2016) #52

Dec 2, 2018

The issue is enjoyable and Ric Grayson is a good character, just not as Nightwing. Im intrigued as to where they take this new arc and would like to see Ric put on the Nightwing suit.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Plastic Man (2018) #2

Jul 29, 2018

This issue was more fun than the last and Plastic Mans infiltration of Man-bats gang looks promising for the future issues, but this still felt like more of a build up than a story on its own and was lacking in true excitement, but hopefully the next issues will be different.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Plastic Man (2018) #3

Sep 11, 2018

The comic is set in a bland, dull city with no real personality and has a story to match it. We are halfway through the story and if it doesn't get good soon it will be forgotten amongst other miniseries. Sammy's story may spice up in the coming issues...

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Plastic Man (2018) #4

Oct 4, 2018

This issue left a lot to be desired and as we near the end of this series I pray for a good, satisfying ending that I fear will never come. I can only say that the art was pleasant at time as they can draw Plastic Man's abilities nicely. Apart from that, Simone needs to up her game.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Plastic Man (2018) #5

Oct 20, 2018

The issue is much better than the previous ones and Plastic Man becomes much more of an understandable and enjoyable character. I believe that Simone may be able to make the final issue of the series worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
The Terrifics #7

Sep 8, 2018

As Lemire advances his story and finally takes the Terrifics to a place that has a bit more plot and a little less fun, he creates an interesting story that keeps the reader engaged with help from Dale Eaglesham. As the story continues I want to see what is in store for Tom Strong and what he means to Dr. Dread.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Terrifics #8

Oct 9, 2018

The issue has moments that mean that the next one will be awesome but I need more from this series than the promise that something good will come along. The Terrifics arc is interesting and keeping me entertained with the clever writing and artwork and I just hope that we get something that is truly spectacular

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
The Terrifics #10

Dec 31, 2018

A relatively boring conclusion to the running arc with the high points being noted as the team discussing their relationship, something I never thought Id enjoy more than the action or plot.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More