Jonathan Boes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek'd Out Reviews: 21
8.1Avg. Review Rating

6.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #38

Jan 24, 2020

All in all, Im still waiting for more from this series. Its a lot of fun, but Spider-Man can be more than that. The first issues of Spencers run captured everything I love about this hero. Im waiting to feel that again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #50

Oct 16, 2020

This is an essential issue if you're following Spencer's Amazing Spider-Man run. But if you're looking to jump in for the first time, this probably isn't the best place to start. Go back to Spencer's first Amazing Spider-Man arc and work your way up. Trust me, it's pure Spider-joy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman: Three Jokers (2020) #1

Aug 28, 2020

The next issues will tell whether this story truly has lasting implications for Batman and his nocturnal crimefighting family. But for now, Johns and Fabok have set the stage for a new Batman classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Blade Runner: 2019 #1

Jul 10, 2019

Heres my biggest question after this first issue: Will Blade Runner 2019 meaningfully continue the dialogue of Blade Runner and Blade Runner 2049? Or will it simply reproduce the Blade Runner vibe on the pagea sort of paper-and-staples replicant?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Dark Knight Returns: The Golden Child #1

Dec 16, 2019

It has the surface-level stylings of a great Dark Knight story: sharp writing, visceral art, high-level concepts. But beneath that surface, I can't find anything but anger. Like so much discourse today, it's just another Howard Beale from the film Network, raging from the rooftops: "I'm mad as hell, and I'm not going to take it anymore!"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Dead Dog's Bite #1

Mar 3, 2021

This is a book to watch. Join Joe and the denizens of Pendermills in the mysterious world of Dead Dogs Bite this week at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Fantastic Four: Grand Design #1

Nov 1, 2019

But while better pacing would enhance the issue, its primarily a visual work. More than that, its a love letter to comicbook history. I doubt youll find a more gorgeous book on the shelf this week. Check out Tom Sciolis Fantastic Four: Grand Design #1 in comic stores now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Fantastic Four: Life Story #1

May 19, 2021

This issue covers a lot of ground, but there are decades left to go. And even though the plot points here feel familiarstolen spaceship, cosmic rays, guy turns into rock monsterthe characters and the setting make me eager for more. Its bound to be a fantastic journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
HaHa #5

May 26, 2021

This issue is one part killer art and one part insightful storytelling, with a great recipe sprinkled on top. Delicious is the word that suggests itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #1

Jul 29, 2019

But overall, this unique and wildly ambitious book deserves a read. The completed series promises to make a great companion on any Marvel comics shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Leviathan Dawn #1

Feb 26, 2020

If youre a DC fan, this is a great mystery/thriller starring some fan-favorite anti-heroes. Bendis knows how to weave a compelling detective tale, and Maldeevs art grounds the larger-than-life heroes in that aesthetic. But if youre just a casual DC fan, this might be one to sit out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Major X #0

Aug 7, 2019

Theres just not enough fresh story here to justify the over-sized issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
New Mutants: War Children (2019) #1

Sep 27, 2019

But pick it up, and if you love the tone and style, go treat yourself to the original Claremont/Sienkiewicz New Mutants run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spider-Man: Spider's Shadow #1

Apr 14, 2021

So I hope youre not too sick of symbiotes, because Zdarsky and the team spinning what might be a classic Spider-Man tale. Grab a copy of Spider-Man: Spiders Shadow #1 at your local shop this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Wars: Age Of Rebellion: Jabba The Hutt #1

May 22, 2019

Thats right. Side by side. But these criticisms ultimately don't detract from a fun adventure. The issue has lots of goodies for Star Wars junkies. Fans of the sequels and the prequels will love the way it unites elements from across the saga. But the story also delivers quality time with the desert planet we fell in love with at first, even exploring new aspects of native Tatooine cultures along the way. So if you dig that Original Trilogy vibe, or if youre just a fan of scum and villainy, heres a great one-shot for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars: Bounty Hunters #1

Mar 13, 2020

The current ongoing Star Wars titles set a high standard. Several have become must-reads for me as a Star Wars fan. I dont know if this book will do that, but Im sure it will be a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Star Wars: The Rise of Kylo Ren #1

Dec 17, 2019

It's a story with real consequence. Up to this point, the canon books and comics have given us tons of character backstory, location details (who remembers that we had a Canto Bight novel?) and scattered side adventures. Compared to the cataclysmic epics of the Expanded Universe, the canon stories have felt supplementary at best. A notable exception is Soule's own twenty-five Darth Vader comic run, which I consider to be one of the best Star Wars comics of all time. This book is lined up to be another fantastic exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman: Red & Blue (2021) #1

Mar 19, 2021

If youre a Superman super-fanor if youre just looking for something pure in our divided timesgive this a read. These are the kind of stories that remind us what were meant to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Umbrella Academy: Hotel Oblivion: Hazel and Cha Cha Save Christmas #1

Nov 22, 2019

But all in all, this is a fun adventure in the Umbrella Academy universe. My Christmas wish is for many more spin-offs with Hazel and Cha Cha. When theyre on the page, its hard to look away. I mean, theyre time-traveling assassins in cartoon animal maskswhat else are you going to look at?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Venom (2018) #26

Jul 15, 2020

This is another solid issue in a thoroughly entertaining series. And it looks like things will only ramp up from here, because the King in Black is coming. But for now, Venom has a Virus to defeatand Ill bet you $3.99 (plus tax) that he does it while wearing a mask.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
X-Men: Grand Design: X-Tinction #1

May 29, 2019

With one issue left to go, its hard to tell where Piskor plans to land this plane. Where, in this tangled history, will he find a conclusion that doesnt feel arbitrary? But Piskor has earned my trust. Im along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More