Josh Vermillion's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 26
7.3Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Savage Things #7

Sep 6, 2017

Not only is the action in this series great each issue, butthe story progression and character work feels genuine and natural. Usingflashbacks to tell part of the story can be tricky, but Justin Jordan fusestogether flashbacks and current story seamlessly. This is the most fun I've hadreading a book in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Savage Things #8

Oct 4, 2017

This is a great ending to a fantastic story. It has been anabsolute joy to read this book every month and I am very sad to see it go. Theaction has been awesome, the story has been engaging, the characters have beeninteresting, and it has all looked great. I would love to see this creativeteam revisit Abel and the rest of this world in the future. Bravo, Mr. Jordanand Mr. Moustafa. Bravo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bone Parish #1

Jul 29, 2018

While you wouldn't expect to care about a group of grave-robbing drug dealers, Cullen Bunn has a unique way of turning them into sympathetic characters in just one issue. This is a new, interesting concept that could go a number of different directions from here. The story is off to a great start, and the art is a big part of the way the story is being told thus far. Jump on this book now, before everyone realizes just how good it is!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Imaginary Fiends #1

Jan 5, 2018

This book is a ton of fun! Tim Seeley has crafted wacky story that adds a creepy, suspensful element as well. There is a great mix of goofy characters and cool concepts about the imaginary friends of children. Combine that with great art and coloring, and you've got yourself a winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Imaginary Fiends #2

Jan 6, 2018

This may be a much slower-paced issue than the first, but it provides some character work as we see this world laid out for us. With great art and an interesting premise, Tim Seeley is delivering a great book through 2 issues. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a fun story with a hint of creepiness as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Imaginary Fiends #3

Jan 26, 2018

I don't have the slightest idea as to where the overall story is heading, and that is really exciting. Tim Seeley is crafting a crazy narrative around great characters and the art team delivers an awesome looking book to go along with that. This series definitely gets my stamp of approval.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Imaginary Fiends #4

Feb 28, 2018

Imaginary Fiends has been exciting and beautiful since the first issue, and that excitement and beauty is ramped up even higher with this issue. Tim Seeley continues to tell one of the weirdest, most entertaining stories I've read in a long time, while Stephen Molnar and Quinton Winter combine that story with some truly great art. If you aren't reading this book, you're missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Imaginary Fiends #5

Mar 28, 2018

This continues to be one of my favorite series not just from Vertigo, but one of my favorites in general. Tim Seeley continues to craft a story that is equal parts fun and disturbing. The IMPs are menacing and the humans are fleshed out enough to keep you invested. On top of that, the art started strong and has gotten stronger as the series has progressed. Pick up this hidden gem of a comic before it's over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Imaginary Fiends #6

Apr 25, 2018

A fantastic end to a fantastic series. Tim Seeley took a really cool concept and built it up into a story that was fun, creepy, and kept the interest level up the entire time. The book has always looked incredible, which just adds even more to the overall great storytelling. I highly recommend this book to everyone out there looking for something different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #1

Jul 21, 2018

While this may not be an action-packed first issue, it does give some very interesting setup and provides some good character work for Antonius Axia and friends. The art is good throughout and the story is starting off in an intriguing way. If you're a fan of the Brittania series up to this point, I don't see any reason you wouldn't pick this one up and give it a try. And if you've never read the others, this is a great jumping on point to get invested in the characters. I've been aching for a good detective story lately, and I trust that Peter Milligan will deliver just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathbed #1

Feb 21, 2018

While Riley Rossmo surprised me with some solid art here, I'm not sure where the tone of the story is headed. I did have some fun with it, but I hope the storytelling becomes more consistent as the series progresses. This book has started off on a decently high note, but the next couple of issues need to up the ante to keep me interested. I could see it going either way, but for right now I'm cautiously optimistic that Joshua Williamson will put together a fun story and keep the Vertigo train rolling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathbed #2

Mar 21, 2018

After a first issue that seemed like it wasn't sure what it wanted to be, I enjoyed this issue a whole lot more. The tone of this book definitely isn't dark like I thought it was going to be coming in, and the goofy storytelling was a lot of fun in this one. The art continues to surprise me with how much I like it and the story has just enough intrigue to keep me reading. This was a big jump up from the last one, so I'm going to hope that it keeps with that upward trajectory moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Deathbed #3

Apr 18, 2018

This story continues to surprise me at just how goofy it is. While the art is down from where it has been, Joshua Williamson's story and dialogue are just as crazy and fun. I can honestly say that I don't have the slightest idea as to what is coming next, but I am excited to find out. This book is definitely worth it if you're looking for a few laughs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathbed #4

May 16, 2018

While the art was down a little bit for me, the story keeps going at this frenetic pace that is a lot of fun. I've stopped trying to predict what is coming next for our characters and instead I'm just going with whatever happens. This is definitely one of the more fun and wacky books on the shelves today, and one that I would definitely recommend purely for the entertainment value.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Deathbed #5

Jun 20, 2018

This was a perfectly serviceable penultimate issue. It didn't do anything to blow me away, but the story keeps chugging along and I was very happy to see that Val's character development stuck and we didn't have to retread that territory. There is still a lot of ground to cover, so hopefully the last issue wraps everything up in an entertaining way without feeling too rushed. The finale could end up making or breaking this entire series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathbed #6

Jul 18, 2018

This series has been all about insane fun since the beginning, and that continues here in its final issue. If you've been enjoying the series so far, this one feels like a pretty satisfying conclusion. If you haven't picked it up and are considering giving it a shot, it's well worth a read. It's not the deepest story out there, but it is enjoyable and a breath of fresh air in an industry that seems to be going more and more towards the dark end of the spectrum.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
American Way: Those Above and Those Below #3

Sep 27, 2017

This book just isn't something that appeals to me as a comic book reader. I think the art is great and the characters are really interesting, but I just prefer some fun from my comics. I think there is a good story forming here, but I'd like to see it pick up the pace a little bit. While the subject matter being addressed is important to talk about, the story surrounding that is taking a while to get up to speed and hasn't yet grabbed me or given me that "I need to read the next issue right now" feeling.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
American Way: Those Above and Those Below #4

Jan 5, 2018

After three fairly solid issues, I think this one was a bit of a dud. The story hasn't moved forward very much and the characters haven't had any development in these four issues. The art is still good and I think there could be a good story in there, it's just buried under mounds of forced dialogue. I hope John Ridley turns it around and give a solid end to the series, but I can't say that it's looking that way right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
American Way: Those Above and Those Below #5

Jan 13, 2018

After a subpar fourth issue, this one picks up the pace and cuts out some of the unnecessary dialogue. The art looks better than it has all series, and the story is all coming together. For the first time since the series began, I can say that I'm excited to see what comes next in the final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
American Way: Those Above and Those Below #6

Feb 21, 2018

A while from now, I'm not sure if I'll look back on this series with a positive feeling, but it definitely won't be as negative as it would've been earlier on in the series. The last two issues tied things together and did it in a way that was actually exciting and enjoyable to read. The art has been good all the way through, and I'm glad that the writing caught up to the art towards the end of this mini. This is one that feels like it will read much better in trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Motherlands #1

Jan 31, 2018

While the concept and characters here seem interesting enough, I feel like the mature aspect of this book was pushed a little too hard for a first issue. The art grows on you the more you read and the story could end up being a lot of fun, but there wasn't a lot of information to go on here. I do think Simon Spurrier can turn this into a pretty cool series moving forward, but I'm lukewarm on it at this point. I'm going to remain cautiously optimistic and give it a couple more issues before writing it off because there is just enough in this opening to make me want to see where this is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Motherlands #2

Feb 28, 2018

After a disappointing first issue, I still had high hopes for the series moving forward. But after giving it another shot, I'm still not buying into the story, the characters, or the art. I still think there is a lot of potential for a great series here but up to this point it has been a let down. While I'm not quite ready to write the book off entirely, it needs to improve in a lot of areas for me to consider it a win for Vertigo.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.1
Motherlands #3

Mar 28, 2018

Despite some improvement over the first two issues, this book just isn't hitting very well with me. I'm holding out to see if Simon Spurrier can capitalize on the interesting worlds that he's created, but at this point I'm not into it. The art is growing on me a little bit, so that's something for me to go on moving forward. I just hope the story catches onto that trend.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Motherlands #4

Apr 25, 2018

Much like the rest of the series so far, this one isn't doing it for me. The conflict between mother and daughter is getting very old as it has been repeated in every issue. A lot of the plot developments in this issue seemed very forced in and the story continues to fall short of the premise. This is one Vertigo series that I would pass on.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Motherlands #5

May 23, 2018

I haven't been a fan of this series since the beginning, and this issue continues that trend. While I used to enjoy the art enough, it seems to have taken a turn for the worse lately. Along with that, I'm just bored with it. I can't get behind any of the characters or their motivations, and the story surrounding it all feels forced to create a never-ending family conflict. I'm hoping for a strong ending, but I'm not confident that's going to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.8
Motherlands #6

Jun 27, 2018

Despite an intriguing premise, this book has never been able to grab me. Nearly all of the interactions between mother and daughter, including the ones here in this issue, have felt forced and unrealistic. The art has been on a decline since the beginning, none of the characters are likable in the slightest, and the story is all over the place. I have been a fan of a lot of the Vertigo books here lately, but this is one that I'm not going to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More