Joshua Hill's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers Reviews: 23
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Astonishing X-Men (2004) #25

Jul 4, 2008

However, all in all, I didn't hate this book. I give the story 4 out of 5, and the artwork 4 out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astonishing X-Men (2004) #26

Aug 19, 2008

Astonishing X-Men #26 gets 4 out of 5 for me. I'm really looking forward to seeing where this 'Manifest Destiny' stories goes too, and whether Ellis can keep Cyclops and Co. in a modicum of realistic storytelling. If you're an X-Men fan, and not reading this, go out and pick up #25 and #26, you probably won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Confidential (2006) #18

Jun 28, 2008

All in all, Batman Confidential #18 gets 5 out of 5 for me, something I haven't done in awhile. I know the artwork doesn't necessarily score that high, but Nicieza's story and the 80% good artwork simply cannot be denied a full mark. Make sure you try and get your hands on this storyline as soon as possible; you will not regret it! And try and do it for something other than the rampant nakedness of the first 9 pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Confidential (2006) #20

Aug 18, 2008

Once again, I can't find anything wrong with this book. I won't go in to the artwork, because I would only be repeating myself from the review of #19: I just really like Maguire's work! Another 5 out of 5 for me, leaving me to go off and find myself a crap book to review for all of you who don't like it when someone likes reading. Of course, I kid" kinda.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Confidential (2006) #21

Sep 19, 2008

This book, not to mention the entire 5-issue arc, gets 5 out of 5 from me. And though I'm not certain that you'd be able to get your hands on all five issues, make sure to get the trade paperback when it comes out! Definitely worth the while, time, and money!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Booster Gold (2007) #9

May 19, 2008

Booster Gold #09 gets 4 out of 5 from me, as Johns and co-writer Jeff Katz have once again delivered a fearsome story to rival anything being written at the moment. If you haven't jumped on the Booster Gold train then you better do so soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Countdown to Final Crisis #1

Apr 24, 2008

It's all coming down to this. Next week we have DC Universe #0. This week, Countdown #1, get's 3 out of 5 for the art, and 2 out of 5 for the story! Another week of 'meh'!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Final Crisis: Rogues' Revenge #1

Jul 21, 2008

I give this book 5 out of 5 all round, because it really is just such a good book. Make sure you pick this up, even if you aren't picking up any other Flash or Final Crisis books; you don't need them for this, and you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern (2005) #30

May 6, 2008

And, as DC will no doubt love to hear, has only heightened my anticipation for Final Crisis, and in particular, the Green Lanterns storyline. Green Lantern, issue #30 get's a 4 out of 5 on the artwork, and a 4 on the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Green Lantern (2005) #32

Jun 28, 2008

I'll say again, the art was great, and possibly worth getting if you just want to look at pretty pictures. Add to that the ret-conning, which speaks to the greater Green Lantern war that is brewing, and this is a passable issue. But it confused me, and I don't like to be confused. I don't get confused a lot when reading Green Lantern issues, and that baffled me, leaving me confused and baffled. I give Green Lantern #32 3 out of 5 Stars, mainly for the art. Add it to your collection if you are collecting them, but if you aren't, just wait for the TPB and skim through this issue when you get to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Green Lantern (2005) #33

Aug 4, 2008

This is definitely something that will be a great addition to the TPB collection, earning Green Lantern #33 4.5 out of 5 Stars (4 for the story, 5 for the art).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rann-Thanagar: Holy War #2

Jun 8, 2008

Overall, this book is brilliant. It is not flashy or mindblowing, but it is similarly perfect science fiction; a touch of the unreal mixed with realistic characters dealing with said unrealism. I give the book a four out of five; make sure you get your hands on this!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Reign in Hell #1

Aug 4, 2008

Overall, Reign in Hell gets 3 out of 5 from me. I absolutely love what is happening, and I just can't wait to see where this goes. More of the mystical and the magical is what I want, but preferably a little less dialogue, or cleaner art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
She-Hulk (2005) #31

Jul 27, 2008

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised with this book, and I give She-Hulk #31 4 out of 5 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Star Wars: The Old Republic: The Lost Suns #1

Jun 9, 2011

In the end, this book is one that I wouldn't rush out to get your hands on. Maybe wait for a trade to collect them all, but that's working off the assumption that the story that emerges in the last quarter of this book continues to grow, strengthen, and intrigue. If it doesn't, then I'd be a little hard pressed to find a reason you'd want to buy this series at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Titans (2008) #3

Jun 20, 2008

After last months tragesty (travesty and tragedy) of an issue, I was a lot happier with issue #3. I give it 3 out of 5, with room for improvement, but with a nod towards the fact that the creative team are aware of this and are improving as they go.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Two-Face: Year One #1

Jul 25, 2008

Two-Face Year One gets 3 out of 5 from me. The artwork was nice, but I couldn't help seeing Eric Roberts in Harvey Dent, and that is a problem considering the books links between Harvey Dent and Sal Maroni, the latter being played by Eric Roberts in TDK. Either way, maybe just wait on buying this until you can get the trade paperback. At $5.99, this book just isn't worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine: First Class #4

Jul 5, 2008

Overall, this book gets 3 out of 5 for story and 4 out of 5 for artwork. I really do suggest you go out and pick this book up, especially if you are a Kitty and/or Logan fan. But even if you just like good, clean and fun comics, this is definitely one for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Factor (2005) #31

Jun 2, 2008

All in all this book gets a 3 out of 5 on both counts, and continues to leave me baffled as to why no one is making a rescue attempt on Layla; especially Jamie who, despite everything, really cared for her.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Factor (2005) #32

Jun 20, 2008

X-Factor #32 gets 3 out of 5, a point detracted for the art and another point detracted for the continued refusal to go look for Layla Miller, despite the protestations that this book is about the team! Still, worth getting on to X-Factor, and "" we'll wait and see "" but issue #33 may be a jumping on point for anyone interested.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
X-Factor (2005) #34

Aug 25, 2008

The artwork so detracted from the story, that I cannot give X-Factor #34 more than 2 out of 5. I am well aware that X-Factor has not been great, but I have not hated it "" the story that is. I won't be giving this book up either, simply because I enjoy Peter David and his X-Factor characters. But Larry Stroman has to go, now!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Factor Special: Layla Miller #1

Aug 26, 2008

X-Factor Special "" Layla Miller #01 easily gets 5 out of 5, because it is simply fantastic, nothing short of it in fact. It is proof that the problems with X-Factor are not lying in Peter David's hands, but " well, elsewhere! Make sure you pick this up, you will not regret it, 'cause it's a romping great time!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Force (2008) #4

Jun 2, 2008

All in all, I'll give this a 5 out of 5 for the art, because I really do like it (but personal preference is everything when it comes to art), and 4 for the story, because I am still a bit confused about what we know, and what I'm missing out on having not read every X-Men comic in existence. Either way, make sure you make an effort to get your hands on these books!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More