Joshua Lapin-Bertone's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 8
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8
Detective Comics (2016) #989

Sep 26, 2018

A great "breather" or "back to basics" tale of Batman being a detective. The art is splendid and the dialogue is fun. I hope the rest of the arc continues with the momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass OGN

Sep 3, 2019

"Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass" is the fun and unexpected reimagining of the Lady of Lunacy that we didn't know we needed. A new world is built around this version of Harley, and I look forward to visiting it again to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #21

Jul 14, 2017

This isnt the Fantastic Four or Teen Titans. Suicide Squad should always be a different type of team book, and Williams is continuing that tradition. Nobody expected Harley Quinn to be the new field leader but isnt Suicide Squad supposed to be about the unexpected?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Super Sons #16

May 25, 2018

I agree with the Super Grandkids; I want to know what happens next. This series was a fun twist on the World's Finest dynamic and a great book for young readers looking to get into the greater DC Universe. I'm counting down the days until the next volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Super Sons (DC Zoom): The Foxglove Mission #2

Oct 29, 2019

Another victory for DC Zoom. The latest chapter in the Super Sons saga is a classic young adult adventure that will thrill middle school-aged readers, and remind adult fans of the feeling they had back when they were kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans (2016) #7

Apr 28, 2017

The series continues to be fun. It has all the fun of a Saturday morning cartoon, with just a faint touch of Wolfman/Perez era nostalgia. Damian may be struggling to help the team find their groove, but comic has certainly already found their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans: Earth One #1

Nov 29, 2014

The Bottom Line: An enjoyable Elseworlds take on the Titans but a bit compressed. For hardcore fans only.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Lost Carnival: A Dick Grayson Graphic Novel OGN

May 5, 2020

In short, this book was a great blend of comic book storytelling and young adult fantasy (think Harry Potter or Percy Jackson), combining the two mediums into an unforgettable adventure. The Lost Carnival is a fun coming-of-age tale that will capture the imaginations of young readers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More