Kelly Gaines's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 25
7.0Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Assassinistas #2

Jan 17, 2018

As for the Assassinistas art style, artist Gilbert Hernandez gives the book a very straightforward look reminiscent of punk rock album covers and 1990's 'zines'. The main question I ask myself when critiquing a comic's art is whether or not the art fits the story, or distract the reader from fully engaging with the text. Hernandez's art fits the gritty flash of Assasinista's style like a custom bullet in an illegally purchased gun (ahem, Octavia). Assassinistas has the potential to appeal to comic fans of multiple genres. It's a read worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassinistas #4

Apr 18, 2018

This whole series has been refreshing, fast-paced, and full of clever twists. Simply put, I'm enjoying the ride. If you haven't read the first 3 issues it'll be difficult to jump in, so I recommend backtracking to #1 and giving the title a shot. Who doesn't love a quirky spy story with complicated parents and even more complicated backstories? It's like a more female-centric Archer, minus the wealth and double the mommy issues. If you're interested, it's not too late to catch up. And if you're not interested, well, you must not be any fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Crown Quarterly #2

Jan 31, 2018

Every page was a pleasure to read, and I am fully looking forward to the next installment. Simply put, this book is doing diversity EXTREMELY well. If you enjoyed Assasinistas, High School Hooker Vigilante Witch, or any of the clever, irreverent comics that have been gaining popularity lately, I would recommend trying out Black Crown Quarterly (and picking up issue #1 as well).

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Eternity Girl #1

Mar 14, 2018

I genuinely enjoyed reading Eternity Girl. It's a title I know I'll continue to pick up and watch develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Eternity Girl #2

Apr 11, 2018

I'm hooked. I love Eternity Girl thus far, and I'm excited to see what comes next. I can also say wholeheartedly that this book took a turn I did not see coming. I guess I was expecting more of a 'saves a little kid and sees life as worth living' or 'decides revenge is not the way at the last second' sort of thing, and #2 took a HARD left. Bravo, I'm into it. And if there is anyone out there debating whether or not to just erase all of human existence as a favor to us- maybe take a vote first? Maybe don't do that. Please. Sure, life is hard and most of us suck, but there's good in us too. The fact that that's coming from me is another twist I didn't expect this week- so once again, bravo Eternity Girl. This is a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternity Girl #3

May 9, 2018

#3 brought us closer to the cliff, and I'm hoping #4 pushes us off. I'm not ashamed to say Caroline's nihilistic new creed is magnetic, and I am very excited for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Fantomah #4

Feb 7, 2018

Paz is in tune (whether she wants to be or not) with the call of those in need of justice, and though the issue did feel a little short, I'm invested in seeing where that call takes her. If you're looking to spread your comic wings and find a different sort of superhero, a fan of The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, or a fan of Jon Morris and his 'Regrettable' hero and villain books, Fantomah #4 is definitely worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harley Quinn (2016): Be Careful What You Wish For Special #1

Jan 10, 2018

Despite the book's shortcomings, Harley Quinn Be Careful What You Wish For is visually a good time. As a personal fan of Amanda Conner (yes, the same Amanda Conner that co-wrote the book), I am never disappointed with her artwork. Harley Quinn has never looked so close to bursting with life than she does when drawn by Amanda Conner. Overall, I'd recommend this special for fans of fun, quick reads- and any diehard fan of Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #3

Apr 25, 2018

Mera: Queen of Atlantis is a great addition to DC's current line up. It's a chance to look at Aquaman's mythology through another lens while his story continues to play out simultaneously. Whether or not you're keeping up with Aquaman, give Mera a try. So far it just keeps getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Milk Wars: Mother Panic/Batman Special #1

Feb 7, 2018

Like most long-time comic fans, big crossover events make me nervous if not somewhat pissed off. They tend to be disappointing money grabs that insert themselves into arcs we were enjoying and demand to be read. Previous prejudice aside, I'm kind of pumped for Milk Wars. This issue pulled me right to the edge of my seat, and come hell or high water I'm just going to have to go along for the ride. So here's to Milk Wars- an event I really want to believe in. And here's to Mother Panic, I hope she gets to say fuck someday.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Milk Wars: Shade The Changing Girl/Wonder Woman #1

Feb 14, 2018

I won't tell you that you should go out and pick up Shade the Changing Girl/ Wonder Woman #1. If you haven't read much of either character, I would actually advise against it. This is not a good first impression of either. However, if you have been following Shade, the Changing Girl or you're a long-time fan of Wonder Woman, I would absolutely recommend reading this issue. After reading this review, you'll be prepared for the initial blow and able to just appreciate the striking detail that went into making what is essentially anti-Wonder Woman. It's gross. It's creepy. And it's impossibly well done. If this is an omen of what Milk Wars has to offer, I'm excited. It's good to see DC making good on their promise to weird us all out. I'm weirded out, and I feel like I bought a one-way ticket to a week of nightmares and a newly developed aversion to Dustbusters. Well played, DC. Well played.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Milk Wars: Doom Patrol/JLA Special #1

Mar 1, 2018

The best way I can sum up Milk Wars is to say this: it was one hell of an event. I doubt this will be a universal fan favorite, and for some readers, it might be a complete waste of time. However, if you're a fan of playing with the concept of narrative, or a DC virtuoso, I would recommend giving it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Milk Wars: JLA/Doom Patrol Special #1

Feb 14, 2018

If you'd told me five years ago that Gerard Way is going to be the person to save DC, I would not have believed it for a second. I was never really even a fan of My Chemical Romance, so the idea that their lead singer might take the reins on my favorite comic universe would have been unfathomable. But he did it, he took them, and he's pulling it off magnificently. Milk Wars is going to be a fun ride. For any fan of DC, I consider it a must-read. Forget this whole Doomsday Clock nonsense, take a break from Dark Nights Metal, and pick up some of the Young Animals titles. You'll regret missing out on this hurricane of insanity and milk.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Milk Wars: Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye/Swamp Thing Special #1

Feb 21, 2018

Overall, Cave Carson has a Cybernetic Eye/ Swamp Thing #1 is as fun as the other Milk Wars tie-ins have been. The groundwork for an amazing DC event has been placed carefully and cemented with unpredictable (and sometimes gross) setups for each of the major players. I was not as glued to the page with this issue as I was with the first three, but it is none the less necessary to properly set the stage for what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Feb 14, 2018

Whether you're a long-term comic fanatic or new to the fanbase, Mister Miracle is a title to read. It's a special take on a superhero narrative with a unique and carefully crafted tone. I'm willing to bet that someday this book will be on the textbook list for a college course (probably similar to the ones I took) as an example of a literary work that can be deconstructed and analyzed in a dozen significant ways and still have more to offer. I can't stress this enough- READ THIS TITLE. It's a superhero story about love, sacrifice, personal tragedy, and struggling with the dark things that may lurk in your mind. While Mister Miracle is certainly not for the easily triggered, I truly believe there is something in the pages that can speak to everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #6

Jan 10, 2018

If you've been following Mister Miracle since #1, you're already familiar with the sheer quality of this series. The story is riveting, heartbreaking, and still violent enough to keep readers on the edge of their seats. Artist Mitch Gerads manages to convey the world inside Scott's head through the style and coloration of the panels- a feat that takes Tom King's writing to even greater heights. If you know someone on the fence about starting Mister Miracle, or if you yourself have not actually read the title, I would absolutely encourage you to pick it up. This is a title that seems to get better with each issue, and an absolute must-read for any DC fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #8

Apr 18, 2018

Once again, I encourage any and all comic fans to read this run of Mister Miracle. Give me the unappreciated free time of college and a new Adderall prescription and I could probably write a Master's thesis on the merits of this book. Secretly, I really hope someone out there is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Persephone OGN #1

May 16, 2018

As overplayed as myth and fairytale retellings may feel right now, I'm still a sucker for them. Persephone feels fresh despite being based on a story that's been told for thousands of years. This is about as lighthearted as the Underworld can get, and as beautiful as it can possibly look. I wouldn't call this a story for all comic fans, but if your tastes range closer pastel colored magic than gritty superhero stories, it's certainly worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #1

Jan 29, 2018

I have to admit how relieved I was while reading this new title. The previous Raven arc ( ALSO written by Marv Wolfman) started out promising but seemed to slowly develop into a cliche. I lost interest toward the end of the first volume, which was somehow more disappointing than the entire run being garbage from the start. I was terrified that Wolfman had lost sight of the character, and let her get lost in the shuffle of damaged teen heroes. As a long time Raven fan, the thought was completely unacceptable. Luckily, this #1 has convinced me that Wolfman has stepped back up to the plate refreshed, and I have high hopes for what his Daughter of Darkness will achieve.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #2

Feb 28, 2018

If you haven't checked out this run of Raven yet, it's not too late to jump in. Marv Wolfman is writing a superhero story that looks at power in a way we don't get to see very often. Specifically- when do we use power, who do we manipulate with it, and how do we navigate a moral code knowing something more powerful can be right around the corner. This is not a book that will get your adrenaline pumping, and as of #2 I would not call it a page-turner yet, but Raven: Daughter of Darkness has not let me down yet. I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #3

Mar 29, 2018

I think it might be time for me to call it with this title. I feel like I've gone back to a cheating ex and got burned again. It's the same exact problem the last title had- Big potential, little payoff. Don't waste your time. You'll have more fun going in circles on a slow merry-go-round.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Raven: Daughter of Darkness #4

Apr 25, 2018

My impression as of Raven Daughter of Darkness #4 is the same as it's been for a few issues now. There's too much noise and not enough substance. There's so much going on without exploration that the whole thing starts to feel disconnected and uninteresting. I love Raven, and Angela presents a perfect opportunity to explore sides of her we don't often see. I can't say I'm optimistic, but issue #4 was slightly more readable than #3, so maybe there is hope. We'll have to pray to Alice's fairytale god.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rick and Morty Presents: the Vindicators #1

Mar 9, 2018

Rick and Morty comics are typically very funny, but this spin-off relies completely on the humor created by the show and does nothing original to make the comic stand out. I finished my reading with the feeling that I could have just watched the original episode instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shade, the Changing Woman #2

Apr 4, 2018

Don't let the bright colors and swirling patterns fool you- Shade the Changing Woman #2 takes Shade's new arc down a darker road than before.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman/Conan #5

Jan 18, 2018

The lasso is an interesting choice of gift for a man like Conan. From issue one we have seen his animalistic ability to lie, cheat, and kill when he deems it necessary. The title of "barbarian" is well deserved. I'm interested to see where the lasso takes Conan, and if compelling others, to tell the truth, brings out extra honesty within himself.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

May

April

More