kevin hoskinson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pastrami Nation Reviews: 33
8.1Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Assassin's Creed: Locus #1

Oct 2, 2016

Overall, it was worth the read. But anyone trying to fill the void until a new Assassins Creed game is released, I would recommend looking somewhere else. Hopefully on December 21st, when the Assassin's Creed movie is released, that void will be filled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #1

Jan 17, 2019

Overall, it is an excellent SCI-FI book for people looking for something a bit different. If you haven't read any books in the series, it will get you interested in reading some past issues, which is precisely what I'm going to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Atomic Robo: The Dawn of a New Era #2

Feb 18, 2019

Atomic Robo and the Dawn of the New Era is an excellent book for all ages. It's smart, funny and has a very adventurous edge to it. I highly recommend you give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/The Maxx #1

Oct 14, 2018

Much like the character of the Maxx himself, this first issue is as weird, twisted, and funny as you imagine it will be. It's exciting, dark, and full of twists and turns along the way. The ending paved the way for more chaos to come, and I'm very curious how it's all going to play out in the future. If this first issue is any indication, it's going to be great!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bulletproof Coffin: The Thousand Yard Stare #1

Jun 11, 2017

Without knowing anything about the Bulletproof Coffin series, I can say this book is in a league of its own. This story is about comic creators and its fans. Its also about consumerism, entitlement, paranoia and getting too close to your creations. Reading the book, the amount of pure love that the real Hine and Kane (writer and artist, respectfully) have for comics is made perfectly clear. It is also clear the amount of frustration and distain they have for the craft as well. Its a uniquely honest book, with an entertaining narrative at its core.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faithless #1

Apr 16, 2019

Faithless is self-described as “An erotic depiction of faith, sex and the devil in the tradition of the divine comedy.” I would be hard pressed to find a better description for this story. Of course, this is just the beginning of Faiths journey. It serves as a great set up for a story that I'm sure will surprise and awe for many issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
From Under Mountains #1

Oct 7, 2015

This series has potential to be a fun, magical, unique look at a world that we have never been introduced to before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godshaper #1

Apr 24, 2017

The first issue of Godshaper is a well written and intriguing story of a dustbowl like future. Ennay is a flawed character, someone who the world doesnt believe deserves a god. He found his own god though, one who is willing to follow him through thick and thin. This is a great first issue, of what I hope is a great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Going to the Chapel #1

Jul 12, 2019

“Going to the Chapel” is a lot of fun and doesn't hold anything back. It is a romantic comedy, but judging from the first issue, it's going to do very unexpected things. Much like how writer David Pepose's ongoing “Spencer & Locke” series turns the crime noir genre on its head, this series is bound to do the same for the romantic comedy genre. I can't wait to see what's in store for the future of the series. You should be excited about it as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Goosebumps: Monsters At Midnight #2

Jan 14, 2018

While the movie captured the spirit of the books, there is something about reading Goosebumps, and seeing it at the same time, that makes sense. The original series of books hit when I was 12 years old, just the right age to jump in and get lost in the world. Reading Monsters at Midnight, the feeling of nostalgia kicked in, and I loved every part of it. This series is off to a great start, and I look forward to reading more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Haphaven #1

Feb 26, 2019

Haphaven is one of the most imaginative stories I have read. It's got everything: adventure, danger, drama, heart and lots of humor. It's a bundle of everything in one package. I highly recommend checking it out when you get the chance; you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lodger #1

Nov 1, 2018

This book certainly appeals to readers of the genre. It is precisely what you think it is. It isnt pretending to be something its not. Lodger is the real thing. Check it out if you get a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Middlewest #1

Nov 18, 2018

This is a great start to a new series. The first issue does a great job setting up the world. The artwork is beautiful, every panel like a painting and the story is intriguing. I look forward to seeing the further adventures of Abel in the Middlewest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #1

Mar 3, 2016

The writing in this new series is smart and the artwork is incredibly well done. Combine all of that with an intriguing story, you have a must read series, for fans and newbies alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #2

Apr 17, 2016

One thing that particularly stands out from this series so far is the writing. Being based around high school age students, they are smart and never written as a stereo-type. The typical teenage stuff is there, but its not overwritten to the point of annoying. That is what I like; its fun, takes itself seriously but not too serious, and is an overall fun ride so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nobody Is In Control #1

May 26, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Minor problems aside, it's an enjoyable, exciting read. There is a lot to take in here, but if you have the right balance of patience and curiosity, it's a great story. This was an excellent start to the series, and it's premise and mystery is intriguing enough to want to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punk Mambo #1

Apr 8, 2019

Punk Mambo is the voodoo infused mystery you never knew you needed. It's a fantastic book with a fascinating lead and a great story. My interest in the supernatural, Voodoo and punk rock could very well make me a bit biased, but I would recommend this book to anyone. I'm hooked from the first issue, and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punk Mambo #2

Jun 3, 2019

Punk Mambo is a series I am getting deeply invested in. Issue #2 keeps the ball rolling in an excellent way. With new characters and new revelations, it's definitely worth a read. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Punk Mambo #3

Jul 4, 2019

The artwork by Adam Gorham and Jose Villarrubia is beautiful as always. With this series, they created a vision of areas of the world that we have seen before, but never like this. The characters are so well envisioned, it's tough to find anything wrong with them. It's just about perfect.The combination of a great story, characters, and artwork make this series a great read. It's super fun, very suspenseful and kind of violent, which makes for a great story to me! Definitely check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reaver #1

Jul 14, 2019

With a great story and fantastic artwork, “Reaver” is off to a great start. It's brutal and bloody in all the right ways. The world is alive and vibrant with history and great characters, and it's also full of mystery and has excellent potential. With the essay written by Jordan at the end of the book, this series promises to go in completely different and unexpected places, and I look forward to seeing where that may be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sex Death Revolution #1

Oct 22, 2018

The first issue, which actually is a double sized issue with the first TWO issues, hits stores this Halloween from Black Mask. Make sure to check it out when it hits stores!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Show's End #1

Jul 11, 2019

The artwork and color by Jef Sanzinski and Julian Gonzalez are amazing. The look of the characters are distinct, with their big eyes and clearly defined faces. They nail the aesthetic of 1920's America, everything from the clothing and the environments. The colors are never too bright, and they feel perfect for the era.Issue #1 of Show's End is a promising beginning for a new series. It has it all: mystery, drama, adventure, monsters, freaks, and a great story. I look forward to seeing where it goes from here!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Snowfall #1

Feb 24, 2016

We are all familiar with the corporate owned government too often seen in futuristic dystopian stories. In Snowfall, we get something a little bit different. We get a glimpse of a world that a government has tried to force its power, but has failed. A world where the weather can be controlled by forces greater than Mother Nature herself. With the first issue, it is an exciting start to what looks to be a promising series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Songs for the Dead #1

Oct 1, 2018

The writing is one of the highlights of Songs for the Dead. The dialogue is serious when it needs to be, and often very funny. The artwork is bright and colorful, which is a bit odd considering it's a story about a necromancer, but it works so well. It all blends to make an exciting story, and I can't wait to see where it goes in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spencer & Locke #1

Jun 18, 2017

As a whole it flows well, cutting between the modern day and flashbacks seamlessly. If youre looking for something to read that is familiar, but feels like something completely different, Spencer & Locke is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spencer & Locke 2 #1

Apr 28, 2019

The second part of the Spencer & Locke series is off to a great start. With solid writing and a great art style, it's a must-read. It's a smart, intense, suspenseful story full of mystery and action. If you haven't read any of the series yet, go pick up the first collection, then dive into part 2. It's excellent, and I promise you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke 2 #2

Jun 2, 2019

Another thing that makes a Spencer & Locke story so fantastic is the beautiful artwork by Jorge Santiago Jr and the colors by Jasen Smith. It's so beautiful and fun to look at. It's got an exciting noir feel to it, but it's often contrasted by bright colors and an almost cartoon-like art style at times. It's a beautiful aesthetic.The Spencer & Locke story just keeps getting better and better. With thrilling action, intriguing story, and fascinating villains, there is never a dull moment. I've been invested in the story since the beginning, and I would recommend this series to anybody. Go out and grab this issue and all the ones that came before!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spencer & Locke 2 #3

Jun 15, 2019

Although it's packed with plenty of action, this issue is one of the most interesting, story-driven issues in the series. We learn more about the heroes, as well as the villain. There are some genuinely surprising twists in the story that you won't see coming. It's a roller coaster ride of emotions, revelations, and action. It's a fantastic read!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spencer & Locke 2 #4

Jul 6, 2019

It was an absolute blast going on this adventure with Spencer, Locke, Hero, Melinda and even Roach. This final issue brought a satisfying end to this chapter but also left it open for a lot more to come. It was thrilling, exciting, and full of real human emotion. It's everything you could ask for in a book, and I highly recommend picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Bounty #1

Jul 10, 2016

There are lots of things to like about this first issue, but I especially liked the dynamic between all of the characters. The situations they are put in are dire, but they all work together so well. They interact like they have known each other forever, and I hope in future issues we find out more about who they are, and possibly what some of their real motives are.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Freeze #1

Dec 28, 2018

Written by Dan Wickline and with art by Phillip Sevy, this is the start of a great series. The writing is perfect in this book, building up the mystery with every new page. By the end of the book, you know what is happening, but the how and whys remain a mystery, and that is what I loved about it. And I can't wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Case Files: The Florida Man #1

Apr 25, 2018

If youre a fan of The X-Files, this book is an easy one to recommend. Even if youre not a fan, and enjoy things a little bit on the weird side, its worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
This Love So Brief #1

Jun 18, 2019

“This Love So Brief” is an incredible, one of a kind, relatable work of art. Although Fred's life and experiences are unique, it's not hard to find the similarities in our own lives. If you want to read something a bit different that's also full of heart and humor; I can't recommend this book enough. Don't hesitate to check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More