Kristel Yeager's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 26
8.8Avg. Review Rating

6
Batman: Prelude to the Wedding: Red Hood vs. Anarky #1

Jun 20, 2018

This prelude issue definitely started out strong with was a decent escalation then just fell pretty flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #3

Dec 5, 2017

Exquisite art and the best DC mini series I've read so far!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #4

Dec 27, 2017

Flawless art and writing. Continues to keep me on my toes!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: White Knight #8

May 9, 2018

This was just such a unique take on the Caped Crusader. It showed a human side of both him and The Clown Prince of Crime I'd never expect to see in a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bone Parish #2

Aug 28, 2018

I feel like Bunn has gone above and beyond in this title. The creativy it takes to write something like this is or even think of the idea of the story is just insane. I'm not totally sure where it's going. It's seriously an awesome read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Catwoman (2018) #1

Jul 4, 2018

I know people have some heavy expectations as this is the telltale result of the wedding of us comic nerds' century, it definitely met mine!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cosmic Ghost Rider #1

Jul 4, 2018

The visuals are outstanding. The way each universe is drawn has its own look, yet signature to Burnette. His Thanos is one of the best in recent comics. The cosmic surrounds were definitely my favorite. I can't give it away, but who and why Ghost Rider decides to give the Penance Stare was drawn and written so insanely perfect I had to reread the last few pages twice. The twist at the end of the story is one of the craziest, fun and unexpectedly odd that I've seen. Ever. This is what Frank thinks will fix everything. Instead of fighting, go back and end it all before it began. The final page is, well I honestly don't even know what to say about it without saying exactly what it is. If you enjoy way out there stories, totally of the map, pick this title up. There have been a few sneak peek panels revealed of what's coming. A character named "Juggerduck". So expect crazy! A good crazy. It's a shocker.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #1

Feb 28, 2018

Mera is capturered perfectly. The story is so unexpected, yet moved in the perfected direction. The surprised possible alie is just...WOW!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #2

Mar 27, 2018

Mera just as bad*ss on land as she is in the ocean!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #5

Jun 27, 2018

To me, issues 4 and 5 could've just been one issue basically. They ran together with drawn-out politics and reunions. Mera seems to be a little more naive than I would expect. As I said, visually this comic has been perfect. Down to each detail in the ocean. Mera' character is drawn exactly how she should be. I'm just starting to see that the character that's written doesn't always match up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #6

Jul 26, 2018

As I've said in every review ofMera: Queen of Atlantis,it's visually stunning. So much detail. The Penciler, Inker, Colorer, and Letterer really work well as a whole. I see Mera and Xebel and all of its creatures and scenery jump right out of pages. The writer jives as well as you can see expressions on faces and other even minor details that sync up. There were a few harps I've had about the series. My issues with the series were mainly things being drawn out too much or moving slowly, but the storyline as a whole is actually a great story. In fact, if it'd been a five-issue series it could've been way better. I know it's not this comic, but after readingAquaman 38,Abnettdid my girl justice! Just too bad I didn't see it as much as I should've in her solo series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mera: Tidebreaker #1

Apr 1, 2019

The princess of Xebel got the spotlight she deserves in the perfect platform. I recommend this book for people of all ages if you're a fan of the character, or graphic any graphic novels. My teenager eagerly picked it up and started reading when I finished. Byrne's art popped right out of the pages. The absence of most color and showcasing her red locks was the perfect way to put emphasis on Mera's personality, not just her looks. The aquatic scenes were some of my favorite.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Minky Woodcock: The Girl Who Handcuffed Houdini #1

Nov 13, 2017

I don't read these types of comics, yet it kept my full attention and I'm excited to see what's next. Amazing art and unique storyline

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Minky Woodcock: The Girl Who Handcuffed Houdini #2

Jan 18, 2018

Visually stunning. The cover art itself is why I had to read this! It has the unique and captivating writing to back that up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Moon Knight (2017) #192

Mar 25, 2018

This issue has added yet another level of insanity. Marc has finally met the one whos crazy matches his crazy. Or does it?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Moon Knight (2017) #193

Mar 30, 2018

It shows a lot of improvements in Spector's strengths after show casing his weaknesses. There are separate personalities, yet United.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
No. 1 With A Bullet #2

Dec 4, 2017

Shockingly terrifying in a great way

View Issue       View Full Review
9
No. 1 With A Bullet #3

Jan 2, 2018

I'm amazed by how in depth this title has become. It's now in my top 10 comics I'm reading right now! The real life aspects are the scariest. Mind set of the main character, how fast paced it is, and the very detailed art is what keeps me needing to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
No. 1 With A Bullet #4

Feb 5, 2018

Another awesome dive into the life/mind of a social media and overall assault victim. In a world where #MeToo is so widespread, we need a kick*ss female lead like Nash! At the end of this issue, my favorite yet, we see her ready to fight back again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
No. 1 With A Bullet #5

Mar 13, 2018

Bone chilling. Yet another reason for technology to scare the hell out of me. The ending has my head twisted.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
No. 1 With A Bullet #6

Apr 7, 2018

The conclusion to the 6 issue serious didn't disappoint! It's the ending of Nash Haung's crazy journey through the hell that is cyber stalking and social media bullying she deserves! She became one of my favorite female leads! Although I'm sad to see it end, this comic was a huge step towards the understanding of what women are put through in the modern times.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Twisted Romance #1

Dec 15, 2017

Unique art and writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Twisted Romance #3

Jan 26, 2018

Another fresh take on romance and comics. Proof that love can happen to for any one, in any setting. The most hardened, close minded man's heart was opened, and it warmed mine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Twisted Romance #4

Feb 12, 2018

In a world of stories of perfect pretty Princesses, this is about a very average looking princess dealing with the same issues a lot of the "average looking" non princesses out there. The fact that it's not your average fairytale makes it the perfect fairytale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Venom (2018) #2

Jun 14, 2018

If you're not reading this already I highly recommend you add it to your pull list. It's only issue 2 so easy to catch up. Spectacular writing with strong visuals to back it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Void Trip #1

Nov 20, 2017

Wicked cool art. Fun and unique story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More