Kyle Simcox's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 27
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #794

Jan 29, 2018

Amazing Spider-Man #794 is a beautiful and exciting book. Its hard to believe that were nearing the end of an era as Dan Slotts exit draws ever closer. While Scorpios exit is quick, it's a blast to follow and he needs to make way for the threat that is Norman Osborn. The Goblin is returning and Spider-Man isnt ready for whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bonehead #1

Jan 1, 2018

I can whole heartily say though, that if you're looking for a new sci-fi comic series that promises a lot of action, then Bone Head is off to a very promising start. Hell, I think I'm in love with it honestly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bonehead #2

Jan 31, 2018

While the momentum slows down considerably and the energy isn't anywhere near as high as the first issue, Bonehead's second entry is still really good. For what it lacks it makes up for in its narrative. There's a lot more story telling and quite a few doors have been opened like Blackdeath and 56's mysterious past. I still can't wait for the next issue, especially with the Kings looking to take on 56.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bonehead #3

Mar 19, 2018

Despite issue #3s shortcomings making it easily the weakest entry so far, I still very much enjoyed it. Hideki and the VVD plot line feel rushed in its current state, but if they pump the breaks a little and give him some time to develop his character and Blackdeath persona, that wound can be mended. 56 continues to be the best part of Bonehead though, and I look forward to seeing what exactly is going to happen when he meets Blackdeath and what exactly his new status with the Kings will bring. So far, I really like the Kings and I cant wait see more of Pumpkinjuice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crowded #1

Aug 15, 2018

Crowded is a very cool and fun concept with a style to match. It takes the term “there's an app for that” to the next level. The book almost feels real given that a portion of today's society is constantly connected and tethered to a device in some way, whether it be social media or some other app on our smartphones. Like using Yelp to check a restaurant's quality, Vita's future jobs rely on her reviews from surviving clients and like any potential client, Charlotte wants to know why it's so low. It's biggest issue is the fact that Charlotte and Vita's relationship is a generic one. That doesn't really hold the book back much at all though as it's still a great read and staging point for future books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Damage #1

Jan 22, 2018

As it stands, if you're a DC fan and you want a story akin to that of the Hulk, then Damage #1 is right up your alley. It's full of non-stop action and wanton destruction. You may be intrigued to learn how Ethan became Damage and stick with it, but the first issue lacks any meat to hook the readers, and it's an all too familiar road we've been down before. A guy becomes a monster, destroys some stuff, fights the government, and inevitably gets away. Until the next issue that is when Ethan's time runs out and the hour of Damage is upon him anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool vs. Old Man Logan #1

Oct 21, 2017

Overall, its an entertaining issue to say the least. Logan is a good choice for Deadpool to clash with. If you like these two characters then this is going to be a fun five-part series. However, if you're feeling fatigued by Deadpool and all of his versus titles, then you won't really be missing out if you skip this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Death or Glory #1

May 7, 2018

Death of Glory #1 is one of the best things I've read in a minute and so much better than the last comic I reviewed. If you're looking for a new comic, read this one. I know I can't wait for the next issue to hit my doorstep.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Death or Glory #2

Jun 7, 2018

Simply put, Death or Glory #2 keeps up with the momentum from the first issue really well despite it being all dialogue. Remender keeps the pressure on as the introduction of Korean Joe adds a real sense of weight to Glory's actions from the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flavor #1

May 17, 2018

Flavors biggest flaw lies in the fact that its just a bit too slow of an introductory dump. It throws a lot of what should be emotional turmoil at you but its hard to connect with the characters when we dont know anything about them. With that being said, the last page of the book definitely helps salvage itself by making the world even more intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Imaginary Fiends #1

Nov 23, 2017

All in all though, Imaginary Fiends is an interesting concept that I am very much entertained by. Things we thought we dreamt up in our minds to be our friends really turn out to be these creatures that feed off of us. As a kid, I remember watching Fosters Home for Imaginary Friends, a show where kids dropped off their imaginary friends as they grew up so that some other child in need of companionship could come along and adopt them to a loving home. Now Im an adult reading a comic about parasites that invade the minds of the young in order to sustain themselves, with the slight chance that theyll become real monsters and give them that nudge they need into doing something they can never come back from.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Infinity Wars: Weapon Hex #1

Oct 19, 2018

I think my biggest gripe with Weapon Hex #1 is that it doesn't feel like an original concept. Instead we get another re-telling of Laura's origin except this time there's you know… magic involved. There's very little “Scarlet Witch” to be had in this melding of the two heroes. I understand that it's a mini-series set during the current “Infinity Wars” event but overall it just feels pointless and doesn't do much to add on to said event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
John Wick #1

Dec 1, 2017

While I'm looking forward to seeing John kill more people while I wait for Chapter 3 to hit theaters, I'm afraid that his comic is off to a really rocky start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Oblivion Song #1

Mar 8, 2018

I absolutely loved it all, honestly. So much so, that I'm actually really bummed out I missed out on a chance to get one of the Collector's Editions when I had the chance. What the first issue does best is that it sets up the world without bombarding the reader with too many questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Punisher (2018) #1

Aug 23, 2018

While it's heartbreaking to see his time with the Warmachine armor come to an end, The Punisher #1 still manages to show that there isn't anything wrong with the classics. Although it might be feel a bit disjointed at times, you'll learn Frank Castle is a man at the top of his game those dastardly villains better beware because hes done hunting your average everyday gangster.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Skyward (2018) #1

Apr 23, 2018

As an optimistic reader, I had a hard time finding anything that I liked about Skyward. It tries to spin too many plates at once for a first issue and just doesn't seem to even have a coherent grasp on gravity which is the central plot mechanic. Overall though, I just found it really boring and its just too bad it's art work can't save it from being a bad comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skyward (2018) #2

May 24, 2018

Skyward has thankfully stepped up its game with it's second issue. It was nice to see what G-Day has done to everyone including Willow's father and the effects its had on the social hierarchy. Its also a bit more fun than the last issue without seeming too absurd, and the narrative it a bit tighter too. While it certainly isn't perfect Skyward is heading in a better direction, especially now that we have a villain on the scene to make matters worse for our heroine.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Skyward (2018) #3

Jun 22, 2018

It's rather unfortunate for Skyward honestly because I really felt it was starting to aim itself in the right direction. However, #3 seems to be back on the path of boring and uninteresting. Barrow's villainous reveal is just too poorly executed to have any real impact. We knew he was the bad guy already. Briefly imprisoning Willa and beating on her was just unnecessary, especially if he wanted to find her dad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Geddon #1

Oct 11, 2018

The important issues leading up to this event are “The Superior Octopus” and “Spider-geddon #0”, so if you skipped those two then it may feel a little rushed, especially where Doc Ock is concerned. However, the first issue of Spider-geddon is a fast paced and brutal start to the event as for the Marvel universe and it's Spider-Men? They're going to be in for quite a fight and more of them are undoubtedly going to die.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Gwen (2015) #25

Oct 20, 2017

While it is light on action, Spider-Gwen #25 does a good job at showing the emotional fallout of Gwens new status with the symbiote. We dont see much of what the symbiote is doing to her emotionally, but its only a matter of time before the damn breaks. Gwen may end up doing something she cant come back from. We can only hope that her friends help save Gwen from herself in time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superior Octopus #1

Oct 4, 2018

If you were a fan of the Superior Spider-Man series, then do yourself a favor and pick up The Superior Octopus #1. The ending is great and offers a really cool revelation about Otto's current state. If it doesnt get you hyped for the upcoming Spider-geddon event, then itll certainly give you something to look forward to when December rolls around and The Superior Spider-Man returns.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Last Siege #1

May 30, 2018

Overall, The Last Siege has a very good first issue. Each panel flows together well and it certainly isnt boring. It hits the “Spaghetti Western Game of Thrones” nail square in the center of the head and leaves you wanting more. The storytelling is something I never realized I wanted and the artwork is phenomenal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Last Siege #2

Jul 5, 2018

The “Game of Thrones” vibe feels much heavier in this issue of “The Last Siege” and it's a wonderful vibe indeed. It really helps carry the calm and bloody moments of the book, especially when combined with the stunning artwork. The Last Siege #2 certainly succeeds at what made the first book so good and even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #700

Oct 20, 2017

The Thors are stretched fighting a war on many different fronts and its going to be interesting to see how it all turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Transformers vs. The Visionaries #1

Jan 6, 2018

Transformer vs Visionaries #1 is a great book. It's a perfect match up, and it's nice to see IDW reviving an old brand and putting them up against the titans that are the Transformers. It's cool to learn that they have an upper hand against them. They're not just going to be swatted by the Transformers and all their advanced technology. As long as it can keep up the steam along with its beautiful artwork, readers can expect a great five issues. Hell, consider me sold on a Visionaries comic series too if all of this works out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #22

Nov 13, 2017

It was nice to see Victor interact with one of his old Doombots and be open and honest with his creation. Iron Doom and his journey for redemption are honestly always great no matter where they seem to be. It was also wonderful getting a glimpse into Gwen's abilities and how she feels about being stuck in the 616 Universe and it still managed to find ways to be funny.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
VS #1

Feb 7, 2018

War being turned into a spectator isn't exactly a new concept, but VS handles it in an incredibly interesting way. While it is a little jarring when the book transitions you from Satta's civilian life to the warzone, it does make it feel more like a television show than a comic book. If you're looking for a beautifully, bloody good time and a new comic to add to your collection, don't miss out on VS.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More