Lucas's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek-O-Rama Reviews: 26
6.0Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jul 6, 2017

Overall, Batman/Elmer Fudd works as a joke at the expense of noir films and Batman by way of Looney Toons. Its not laugh out loud funny, but its amusing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodshot's Day Off #1

Jul 20, 2017

The stories of the two main characters carry the comic, and while I don't have much desire to follow this as a series, it works well as a stand-alone comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bloodshot: Salvation #1

Sep 29, 2017

If you're invested in Valiant or Bloodshot as a character, then this will be an enjoyable read. For everyone else, it'd still be enjoyable if you decided to read it, but there's no real draw if you don't already have an interest in this world or this character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Calexit #1

Sep 8, 2017

Calexit is a timely, important story. Balancing striking political commentary, catharsis, action, world building, and character; all with an excellent art style. I can't wait to see what happens next in this immediately gripping story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Dead of Winter #1

Aug 13, 2017

Dead of Winter isn't terrible, but it does almost nothing right. It's an unoriginal, unfunny comic with below average artwork, and you'd be better off reading almost anything else.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Divinity #0

Aug 24, 2017

Even if I were a fan of Valiant and knew these characters, this would still be an entire comic of boring exposition, and I'd be frustrated that the truly excellent artwork by Renato Guedes is being wasted on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Faith and the Future Force #1

Aug 14, 2017

On the whole, Faith and the Future Force is pretty average, maybe slipping to below average in a few places due to some weird plot decisions and weak writing. As a first issue, it's pretty bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Faith and the Future Force #2

Sep 12, 2017

Faith and the Future Force has a fairly interesting concept, but two issues in and it's shown to be incompetent at bringing that concept to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Faith and the Future Force #3

Oct 13, 2017

The tone of this review probably feels overly harsh, but if I'm being honest I'm a little sick of this comic after three issues of it getting progressively worse. As I say with most Valiant comics, if you're not already a fan of it, then this probably isn't worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Harbinger: Renegade #5

Jul 27, 2017

I'm really not sure what my final judgement on this comic should be. I have no idea who these characters were or why they were fighting, and the cliffhanger ending means nothing to me, so I just don't know what to think about a large part of this comic. To me, this comic was a well-drawn, but somewhat confusing action-scene, and that's it. I can't exactly recommend it, so I'm leaning on a negative score, but again, someone who has more context might feel differently.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Hercules: Wrath of the Heavens #1

Sep 3, 2017

There's a mystery to unravel here, why the gods are once again messing with Hercules, and how exactly everything from myth with translate into this sci-fi reimagining, but if I'm being honest, it's hard to care when about the only thing Hercules: The Wrath of the Heavens #1 gets right is spectacle. With a very hit or miss art style, cliched and flat dialogue, one-note characters, and a story too convoluted to follow, I can't say I'm looking forward to reading more of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Lazaretto #1

Sep 15, 2017

The two central characters are compelling enough that I want to see how the story continues, and how Levang continues to capture charm and horror with a unique art style.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Made Men #1

Sep 16, 2017

Made Men has the potential to become one of the best series currently being published. That may seem like an overstatement, but this first issue is rife with so much phenomenal story and art, delivering such a unique concept, that I assure you the potential is there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Night's Dominion Season 2 #1

Aug 18, 2017

Still, Night's Dominion has a strong cast of characters that are compelling individually and as a group, and it relies on those characters in setting up a new conflict for our heroes to deal with.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rai: The History of the Valiant Universe #1

Jun 29, 2017

So, I got nothing out of it myself, I dont know what fans would think of it, and there really isnt much to talk about as far as writing and art are concerned All I can really say is that I didnt enjoy it that much, but if youre interested in the history of Valiant, you might enjoy it a lot more than I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rapture #1

May 28, 2017

While I personally would have preferred time to get to know the characters and the world of Rapture a little more, Kindts likeable characters and sharp dialogue combined with Cafus beautiful artwork that brings the world of Deadside and the characters to life make Rapture #1 an enjoyable read, and Im interested to learn more about this world and these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redlands #1

Aug 18, 2017

Ultimately, Redlands might be a bit too dark for some people. It's definitely aiming for a specific style and aesthetic, and for the people who enjoy that style, it hits the bullseye directly. For fans of horror or southern-gothic, this is the comic for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Samaritan: Veritas #1

Jul 13, 2017

If youve heard of the Edenverse before, or are just a fan of political thrillers, then you should probably pick up Samaritan Veritas. It doesnt do as much as I hoped it would to stand out, but what is there works well enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Samaritan: Veritas #2

Jul 14, 2017

Samaritan Veritas #2 ends on another cliffhanger after having moved the plot forward. If you liked the first issue, then youll like this one, though I still wish this series had something to make it stand out more outside of its particular target for political commentary being religion and religious figures (which is a little out of place in the whole assassinate the President plot, but its something).

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jul 8, 2017

Part of me wants to like Secret Weapons, but I just really cant get into it. Again, if youre already a fan of Valiant, then maybe youll like it, the art is solid and in combination with the writing it can create what seems like could be pretty powerful moments, but for people unfamiliar with Valiant, I really cant recommend this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Sherlock: The Great Game #1

Aug 19, 2017

Sherlock: The Great Game #1 isn't bad by any measure, but I certainly didn't enjoy it. I was bored and unengaged, but that might just be because I'm jumping into the middle of a story told in a style I'm not used to. If you're a fan of Sherlock or manga, then maybe it'd be worth reading this comic, but I can't say for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Evil Within (2017) #1

Sep 11, 2017

However, no matter how many unique flourishes the art style has, it can't elevate this comic above the level of a bridging story for a game series, and it doesn't offer enough to be of worth to anyone not invested in the games. It's a decent read, but there's no reason to read it unless you've played The Evil Within and are looking forward to The Evil Within 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Hard Place #1

Sep 3, 2017

While there might not be much depth to The Hard Place, and the plot plays out like any number of similar crime-thrillers, the style, dialogue, and characters make it engaging and feel incredibly fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Zodiac #1

Jun 9, 2017

The Mighty Zodiac is a fun, light-hearted fantasy world with a unique aesthetic and good writing and art. Issue #1 seems like a solid start for new series, and its definitely worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
War Mother #1

Sep 5, 2017

While War Mother #1 is quite good, there isn't much depth to it. The art is good, the story is good, the characters are good, the action is good, but none of it is anything more than just good. Not that it needs to be, it just means that this is a good, if shallow comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Wolfenstein #1

Sep 28, 2017

However, that's not enough to save a comic with no focus with its writing. The execution of this comic is fairly good, but the overall structure of it made it flawed to begin with.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More