Martijn Form's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 116
7.0Avg. Review Rating

5.0
100 Bullets #78

Nov 23, 2006

I will stick with 100 Bullets to the end, but I hope there will be better stories like what we read in the first 50 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
100 Bullets #79

Dec 22, 2006

Lets just move on to the Trust vs. Minutemen.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #541

Jun 28, 2007

That Ron Garney isnt my kind of artist doesnt help this story either. He draws a weak Spider-Man anatomy, making my beloved hero a anorexia patient. Look at the cover: his legs and waist seem wrong to me, and again on the last page. And for Garney this isnt an exception, but more a rule. Well, I like my Spider-Man athletic and robust, not a Paris Hilton on a South Bitch diet clone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Virgin #9

Dec 4, 2006

So when you want to read an off beat story, an art house comic so to speak, pick up the American Virgin trades... or be a real super-hero and collect the monthlies.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
American Virgin #12

Mar 5, 2007

As a Vertigo fan I want this series to be great, but so far it cant stand in the shadow of some new books like The Exterminators, DMZ or Testament.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Virgin #13

Apr 6, 2007

Freud: Sorry, times up. See you next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Virgin #16

Jul 9, 2007

All in all, Im still loving this book, but I dont think that a lot of other folks do. Hopefully, Vertigo doesnt have to cancel this title because its one of Steven T Seagle's best works.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Virgin #18

Sep 4, 2007

I think Charles Bukowski would have loved American Virgin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Virgin #20

Nov 6, 2007

Non-readers of American Virgin who love Preacher and/or Transmetropolitan, why are you still reading this mundane review!? Go to your comic shop and get those American Virgin trades! Why? Because reading them will make your own family look good.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Army@Love #4

Jun 26, 2007

Maybe Army@Love will be a better read in trade paper format, so you can read it in one sitting, but so far it's not entertaining enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2004) #26

May 28, 2007

So now what? Well, there is at least one guy who knows, and Im ready for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Chuck #2

Jul 14, 2008

Chuck won't earn an important place in the history of comic books, but it's still good for several funny jokes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
City of Dust #1

Sep 19, 2008

This is for sure one of the best first issues I've read in quite a while. I cannot think of any excuse for not picking up this book unless you don't like a fantastic story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War: Front Line #1

Jun 11, 2006

If you are into Civil War, you should pick this up. If not, you passed it big time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Civil War: Front Line #2

Jul 3, 2006

This is definitely a series that provides different views of the "Civil War," and the combination between the stories does have a nice literary quality. After you put the book down, it forces you to think about war and what it does to people. It makes the other Civil War tie-ins stronger, because it makes you re-read some other books like Amazing Spider-Man, Wolverine or New Avengers again trying to discover new views and angles, trying to figure out whats right and wrong. What is good or evil? Philosophical questions which arent easy to answer. Paul Jenkins is writing this book with great enthusiasm, making the whole Civil War saga something not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Clockwork Girl #0

Aug 9, 2007

But keep in mind this is just a teaser; this can easily be Disneys next animation project.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Clockwork Girl #1

Oct 16, 2007

This book is best served with a cup of hot chocolate and some freezing winds outside. I vote this as one of the best all age comics in recent years.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Comic Artist's Photo Reference: Men and Boys #1

Oct 29, 2008

Also there are tons of photos with props, like guns, bows, knives and swords. Very useful, since I can imagine many of us artists don't have a prop gun or sword lying around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Criminal #1

Oct 10, 2006

All the elements are right for Criminal, let's hope for a excellent run here. (And by the way, the first issue is all story with no ads. So what are you waiting for!?)

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Criminal #2

Nov 10, 2006

So far Criminal is not a bad book, but it isnt shocking either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Criminal #5

Mar 12, 2007

Lets see what kind of coward he will be then.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cross Bronx #1

Sep 12, 2006

But Im gonna stick to this limited four issue series and maybe it will be become much better. Lets hope so.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cross Bronx #2

Oct 9, 2006

And the cliffhanger at the end? Not one of the best to say the least. The big bonus for me are the rejection letters that Oeming provides for our entertainment. I really like those. The rest? Pfffffff.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cross Bronx #4

Dec 12, 2006

The only mystery in this book for me is the mystery why this series got so hyped. There are other books that deserve far more attention. Oh well. Just another limited series that will collect dust in my comic boxes filed under: Waste of money.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crossing Midnight #1

Dec 4, 2006

Not the greatest first issue, but it has the potential to become a great book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Crossing Midnight #4

Mar 5, 2007

Mike Careys dialogue has no real surprises or memorable lines. The plot is developing slowly, and his story ideas are not breaking any boundaries so far, but I will give the creative team the benefit of the doubt and will stick to Crossing Midnight for a couple more issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Crossing Midnight #5

Apr 6, 2007

The cover of this issue is a great metaphor for Crossing Midnight. Its chaotic and pushing hard to pretend to be multilayered, but it just isnt there.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadman #1

Aug 17, 2006

After reading Deadman #1 I wasnt satisfied. The last few pages have more structure, but lack a strong cliff hanger. I dont think that the cover will persuade people to get on board this new monthly.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Deadman #2

Sep 22, 2006

No, I have to say with pain in my heart for Vertigo and Bruce Jones that I will have to let this book go. Maybe in the future I will pick up a trade, but thats not very likely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death and The Man Who Would Not Die #1

Jun 12, 2007

The Saint of Killers from the Preacher books can finally retire because Death is here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Deathblow #8

Dec 3, 2007

Carlos DAnda will be be contracted for a high profile series (preferably with colorist Strachan.)No more Wildstorm on my pull list for years to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
DMZ #12

Oct 16, 2006

As I said earlier, this isnt a good jumping on point for new readers, but for me as a fan since the first issue, it makes the mythology of DMZ even better and profound.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
DMZ #18

Apr 24, 2007

Man, this book is a rush, and as perfect as a comic can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DMZ #20

Jun 18, 2007

Y: The Last Man is in its final issues, but luckily we still have DMZ.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
DMZ #21

Jul 13, 2007

This feels a bit like an intermission paving the way for an all out issue #22. The last page may be the starting point of more chaos in the DMZ then we already seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DMZ #22

Aug 14, 2007

The tears Matty sheds are real. DMZ does not present the "make believe" world that most comic books present. DMZ is a work of fiction, but the drama portrayed within is just as real and scary as the hell in Iraq.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Escapists #1

Jul 17, 2006

And for one buck, you'd be a loser not to buy this first issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Escapists #2

Aug 17, 2006

If you are not on board The Escapists, get on it. Catch up and start reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Escapists #3

Sep 15, 2006

So far there have been three great issues of The Escapists; let the next three be even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Escapists #4

Oct 16, 2006

This isnt an action book. Its mature reading, and its a blast. Vaughan is handling the material so well that I cant wait for his next major project.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Escapists #6

Dec 22, 2006

I have to say this is a great ending for this limited series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Exterminators #12

Dec 11, 2006

This series has been funny and scary at the same time, and the creative team is totally pulling this off big time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Exterminators #13

Jan 9, 2007

Simon Oliver knows his characters well. He develops them into real people, with depth, dark twists and turns. The whole series is excellent drama, which has become a distinctive part of the Vertigo line.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Exterminators #22

Oct 18, 2007

of a lifetime supply of cockroaches to decorate your house with!

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Fantastic Four (1998) #542

Jan 22, 2007

Shame on you Joe Quesada and Tom Brevoort for letting this issue be printed. Time for readers to go back to their comic book store and demand a refund.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fell #6

Sep 4, 2006

Suffering is what Fell is all about, and its done top level.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Foolkiller #1

Oct 21, 2007

I dont like what I call Marvels four bucks experiment. I have this strong feeling that Marvel is going to raise the price tag of all their books to $3.99. Why? Just look at Septembers market report: Two $4 Marvel books top the list of best-sellers. So raising the price isnt going to stop readers from buying these comics. I think Marvel is going to test the waters with its Max titles. A cardboard cover, no extras and a pricetag of $3.99. Hey, its for mature readers! Theyve all got jobs, right? They dont care about the extra dollar and the lack of a solid story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Friday The 13th #3

Feb 19, 2007

Good olfashioned entertainment. No more, no less.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Friday The 13th #4

Mar 16, 2007

So buy this, leave it on the coffee table, and wait for your teenage nephew to pick it up. He will be scared for his summer camp trip. And for that he will thank you when he is in his mid-thirties.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Giant Size Hulk #1

Jun 23, 2006

So is this book worth $4.99? If you don't have "Hulk: The End," then definitely yes, but if you're one of the lucky ones who already has that story in your basement then pass this one; the other two stories arent exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Greatest Hits #1

Sep 25, 2008

That could be the main theme of this review: I don't get it. I have read the issue three times, but the comic just doesn't appeal to me at all. And for a Vertigo lover like me, that really hurts. Maybe when I've read all six issues I will see the light and the brilliance of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow Year One #3

Aug 14, 2007

If there will ever be a Green Arrow movie, Hollywood should pick this script and hire this creative team. If you think Kevin Smith did a great job on Green Arrow, this is better. Much, much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellblazer #235

Nov 27, 2007

No, its time Casey Seijas, Hellblazer's editor, get himself a dinner meeting with Diggle over a bowl of fresh cut chilis to spice up the next big event for John. It feels like this book has reached its limits, but even I can come up with a storyline that will stretch some Hellblazer boundaries. The only thing the creators need is fresh chilli!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellblazer #240

Jan 31, 2008

Hellblazer still is the best horror book out there, especially with Leonardo Manco on board. He knows what makes John Constantine tick.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellblazer #243

May 17, 2008

One last observation: when you dissect the last two numbers of this issue (#243), you get four plus three adding up to seven, the holy number from the Bible. When you do the same with the first two numbers, you get two plus four adding up to six, one of the numbers of the beast, just to let you know.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Incredible Hulk (1999) #93

Mar 30, 2006

As a single issue this is jam-packed, which will probably work better in TPB format.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Incredible Hulk (1999) #97

Aug 15, 2006

Overall, it is a very nice to see The Incredible Hulk on a foreign planet and smashing the hell out of every issue, but dont expect real development in the beloved monster persona called Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Incredible Hulk (1999) #104

Mar 12, 2007

The other thing that bothers me is the near total absence of Hulks friends. Korg, Brood, Horoim, Elloe were carefully chosen to be Hulks gladiator friends. Their introduction was meticulous and spread out over several issues, but Pak dropped them like stones. They became background noise. This reveals a flaw in the story telling, I believe. This grand saga was just meant as a prologue to "World War Hulk" it seems.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lions, Tigers and Bears Vol. 2 #1

Apr 13, 2006

You can find Martijn Form's website here

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lions, Tigers and Bears Vol. 2 #2

May 24, 2006

The scenes where they fall into the water and are soaked are fun to look at, but I hope the next issue is going to pick up the pace of the story, so I can give it more bullets.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Lions, Tigers and Bears Vol. 2 #4

Sep 10, 2007

I wonder if there will indeed be a third volume of Lions, Tigers and Bears. Maybe in five years or so, but count me out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Local #7

Nov 9, 2006

Ive been following Brian Wood's writing for the last two year. Vertigo's DMZ is a great series, but Vertigo could also use a series like this. I wish that Vertigo had picked up Local as a new series, because this book deserves more readers than Oni press can provide. Dont get me wrong; Oni Press is a great publisher, and I check their website every week. But I like to see more exposure and more readers for this series. Its mature reading at its best, and it will make a hell of a tradepaperback.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Local #8

Feb 26, 2007

The way Megan lives her life is simultaneously heartfelt and warm, which makes this series worthy of some awards.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Local #10

Sep 4, 2007

When all twelve issues of Local are collected into a trade, this will be one of the best independent graphic novels ever!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lone Ranger #1

Sep 15, 2006

Lone Ranger #1 took me by surprise, and I will stick to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lone Ranger #5

Mar 16, 2007

Although my first remark still stands, that this is the weakest issue so far of the series, this title must be read. The creative team is making a good run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lone Ranger #6

Jun 7, 2007

There can be no other conclusion than this: The Lone Ranger deserves a healthy long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight #2

May 22, 2006

We comic readers and fans must give Charlie Huston some more issues to see if he can boost up his stream-of-thought dialogues. The thoughts Marc Spector has are not very strong and in some pages weak. They do not contribute anything extra that Finch hasnt already drawn. Its like the writer thought, "Lets put in some more words." But I'm still looking forward to the third issue, and when this story arc is done, we will have the opportunity to read all issues in one sitting and I hope the story will make a more powerful impression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight #9

Apr 24, 2007

As I stated, Suayan handled this tough scene well, which is remarkable when you consider that this is his first issue. On the contrary, look at Ashley Wood's first work in Ghost Rider 2099 and what he has become now. If Suayan can develop his art at a steady rate, he will become the industry's next top artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mouse Guard: Winter 1152 #1

Aug 28, 2007

If you love fairytales, this is a must have for you, and if you havent already bought the excellent hardcover of Mouse Guard: Fall 1152 the first part of this epic, do yourself a favour and order it, because Mouse Guard is the comic book equivalent of Watership Down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mouse Guard: Winter 1152 #2

Nov 6, 2007

There is no better guide than Petersen to take you back to your beloved childhood.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Narcopolis #1

Feb 11, 2008

Delanos story initially disappointed me. Really it did. Mainly because Im not the biggest fan of the typical static Avatar art. Nacropolis contains this same "house" art style: one dimensional character drawings, extremely sterile ink work and adequate but unexciting coloring. But the average artwork can be overlooked, because Delano is back in town and his pen is fully loaded.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Avengers #17

Mar 27, 2006

The power the entity has shown so far makes me almost feel like he's a real danger. But this is the day, unlike any other, when Earths Mightiest Heroes found themselves united against a common threat! On that day, The Avengers were born to fight the foe no single super hero could withstand!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
New Avengers #30

May 11, 2007

No, Bendis should let someone else step up to the plate to make The New Avengers a homerun again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Northlanders #4

Mar 13, 2008

This book is strong and harsh like any good old fashioned winter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Northlanders #6

Jun 1, 2008

It's a beautiful day on Orkney Islands. It's a beautiful saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Northlanders #8

Aug 3, 2008

Whatever your answer will be, I will be there to watch and learn, just like a good student.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
One Last Song #1

Apr 24, 2007

Overall, One Last Song is an intriguing story and a nice independent comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Parade (With Fireworks) #1

Sep 18, 2007

Parade (With Fireworks) is a warm story with excellent art that is worth your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scalped #1

Jan 5, 2007

Oh and by the way, one guy already got scalped in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scalped #2

Mar 12, 2007

So pick it up, tell your friends and read this book to your family during a boring birthday party. It will be a day they wouldnt forget.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scalped #4

Apr 10, 2007

There are no answers in this book only more questions. And a good story always raises questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scalped #5

May 7, 2007

This creative team is working on a strong narrative that hopefully will run for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret #1

Feb 12, 2007

Without Alexander's art this book would only be a little above average, but with it, its a wonderful piece of work.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret #2

Mar 12, 2007

So if you feel generous you can donate to my paypal account so I can buy an original page of The Secret artwork. Ha ha ha.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret #3

Apr 9, 2007

So remember: next time you got a date, dont bring flowers or candy; give him/her The Secret.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret #4

May 14, 2007

I'll conclude with this; as soon as you can, schedule a party at your home. At the right time, dim the lights, present The Secret and creep out all your guests! Then go to the bathroom and call one of your guests and whisper:

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spawn #169

Jul 13, 2007

There is definitely something spurring in Spawns new world order, but we have to be patient.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spawn #174

Jan 24, 2008

See ya in Hell.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spawn #185

Nov 2, 2008

If you were ever a Spawn fan, you should pick this up. If not, don't bother.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Spawn: Godslayer #6

Feb 1, 2008

So my hopes are all on the next issue, but keep in mind this is still a better fantasy comic than Wildstorm's World of Warcraft will ever be. And Death Dealer fans should own this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Strange Embrace #1

Jun 12, 2007

Strange Embrace isnt only well written and illustrated, its funny with a lot of mystery. A rare gem indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Strangetown #1

Apr 10, 2006

Because this is the first issue I dont know what this book gonna bring, but it sure was a funny read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
SubCulture #1

May 21, 2007

Tomorrow Im going on a bolt quest and re-reading this without shaving, a shower or deodorant. Wish me luck!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Tank Girl #1

Jun 19, 2007

*Sigh* I hope the next issue will be a whole lot better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Damned: Prodigal Sons #1

Apr 13, 2008

I can't wait for the next issue, so in the mean time I will be re-reading volume one of The Damned and probably Hard Time after that, because I need my Brian Hurtt fix badly.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Walking Dead #37

May 3, 2007

And if you dont know, where to begin, well, The Walking Dead is a good start. It contains more story depth than any other comic book costing $2.99!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Vinyl Underground #1

Oct 7, 2007

I just have to wait for the first story arc to wrap up in order to determine what to make of The Vinyl Underground.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wasteland #1

Jul 17, 2006

The upcoming issues hopefully will help us understand why this series is called Wasteland and not Thebigwet. I hope Johnston and Mitten are pushed by Oni Press to meet their deadlines, because this reader cant go a month without Wasteland anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wasteland #2

Aug 21, 2006

Give yourself a treat and follow this one from Oni Press.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wasteland #4

Nov 7, 2006

Im sticking to this series because its a nice adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Wasteland #7

Feb 26, 2007

This series deserves your attention, so if you arent already reading this, buy the trade, skip this issue and look for the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wasteland #8

Apr 20, 2007

The only downside to all of this is that the cover price got raised from $2.99 to $3.50, which seems to be the standard price for Oni Press. A small price to pay for an excellent comic. Just drop some Marvel titles for this one. Hahaha (yes Im laughing, but not joking!). Its ten times better then your monthly Friendly Spider-Man or Sensational Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
What If? (2006): Spider-Man: The Other #1

Nov 20, 2006

And to conclude this review, let me declare What If? Spider-Man The Other to be the worst book of the year (so far, ha ha).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
White Picket Fences #1

May 25, 2007

I cant wait for the next two issues. Can you?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine (2003) #42

May 30, 2006

For any fan of Humberto Ramos or Wolverine, this issue is money well spent.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wolverine (2003) #43

Jul 4, 2006

One of the strongest Civil War titles and a great Wolverine story. Buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
World War Hulk: Front Line #3

Aug 14, 2007

I'll keep reading World War Hulk, but I will skip this title because it will not get any better I think.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
World War Hulk: X-Men #1

Jul 3, 2007

Strong writing, but not essential reading for those following World War Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X Isle #3

Oct 13, 2006

So if you like some pulp mystery and got too much money in your wallet and want to support a independent publisher, try this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X Isle #5

May 7, 2007

If you are into pulpy Sci-fi, this is your thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Fairy Tales #1

May 23, 2006

You can visit Martijn Form's site at MartijnForm.com

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Y: The Last Man #53

Jan 22, 2007

The next issue of Y: The Last Man will also feature a stand alone issue, which only makes me impatient for the final story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Y: The Last Man #57

Jul 9, 2007

You dont have to feel ashamed of putting these TPBs between Philip Roth and Don DeLillo on your book shelves. Roth and Delillo would have wished they had come up with this Great American Novel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Y: The Last Man #60

Feb 3, 2008

Thank you Brian, Pia, and Jos for sixty gems.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Young Liars #1

Mar 10, 2008

Lapham plays some pounding beats with some ragging chords, and it sounds hard and loud, but I hope that after a few issues these chords will make a great song.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More