Michelle Felizarte's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Blue Raven Comics Reviews: 41
8.3Avg. Review Rating

7
Alpha Girl #4

Aug 1, 2012

My only concern is that I'm slightly confused. The series doesn't fit into a particular genre. It's a strange combination of horror and humor. However, I think this series is different enough from other zombie themed reads that it's worth a read. I give this issue a 7/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
American Vampire #26

May 10, 2012

Issue #26 introduced a refreshing side arc from the Skinner Sweet storyline. I was very impressed and can't wait for next month's installment. 8.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
American Vampire #27

Jun 5, 2012

All in all, this issue was alright. It was a bit of a letdown, considering how exciting and fleshed out the first part of this story arc was. As introduced at the end of this issue, issue #28 will focus on Pearl as she calls Calvin asking for his help. Hopefully the new story arc is more enticing as this issue fell flat. I give this issue a 6.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
American Vampire #28

Jul 12, 2012

Issue #28 is a great start to a new story arc that's bound to push Pearl's character to new heights in this series. I give this issue a 7.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
American Vampire #29

Jul 28, 2012

I'm enjoying this story arc and eagerly await the next issue. I have this lingering feeling Henry is going to die, transforming Pearl into a force to be reckoned with. We'll just have to wait and see. I give issue #29 of American Vampire a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
American Vampire #30

Sep 1, 2012

With the tension finally being broken between Pearl and Skinner and the looming mission from the VMS quickly culminating to an end, issue #30 of American Vampire appears to be just the start to an intense story revelation. I give this issue a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
American Vampire #31

Oct 15, 2012

I really like the direction Snyder is taking with this series. He's taken the vampire genre and turned it into a fantastic, emotional narrative. Pearl's character is insanely well written and I can't wait to see where Snyder takes her. I give this issue a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Chew #25

Apr 29, 2012

Chew is a great comic. It's no wonder it's critically acclaimed and a New York Times bestseller. Plus there are cute cat pictures in the letters section to look forward to every month. I honestly cannot overstate how great this series is. I give this issue a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Chew #26

May 25, 2012

Writer John Layman does a great job storytelling. Not only was this issue complete with Chow and Antonelle's case declared closed, but we're already set up with next month's storyline. With the return of the vampire cibopath at the end of this issue and Tony's future still questionable, I'm eagerly anticipating next month's issue. I give issue #26 an 8/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Chew #27

Jun 25, 2012

Overall, this issue is still a solid read. If not for the storyline, read it for the Easter eggs hidden throughout the issue. Note the cards and balloons on Tony's hospital bedside table or carefully read the words on the degrees hung in Antonelle's office. You'll still get a kick out of the creators' humor. I give issue #27 a 7.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Chew #28

Sep 12, 2012

All in all, this issue was alright. It still featured the fantastic art the Chew series is known for as well as a few bits of humour here and there. But for the most part, the plot felt average. I give this issue of Chew a 7/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Chew #29

Oct 17, 2012

All in all, this issue was alright. The current story arc is taking it's time, slowly building. I hope once Tony is back to work, this series will pick up and return to its typical awesomeness. I give this issue a 7/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Chew #30

Dec 1, 2012

I simply cannot wait for the next issue in the series. True to Layman's style, it will be inventive, quirky and truly incredible. I give this issue a 9.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Creator Owned Heroes #4

Sep 10, 2012

The great thing about this series is the transformation it will undertake next month. With our two miniseries completed, next month will give Creator Owned Heroes a whole new outlook. In addition, I liked how it read like a well developed magazine: the interviews were a fun and the ads for future comics excited me. Finally, the miniseries were a fun read; not amazing, but definitely an enjoyable experience. I give this issue a 7.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Epic Kill #4

Aug 3, 2012

The art is simple but far from bland. Ienco's focus is clearly more on the action and plot than background details or character features. However, with such a strong female lead and a well developed storyline, I can look past the art and still come out with a positive outlook on this series. I've enjoyed these few issues and can't wait to see if Song's mission is ever accomplished. I give this issue an 8/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Epic Kill #5

Sep 5, 2012

Although still exciting to read, I found this issue somewhat clunky at times. On the other hand, I absolutely love the pacing and style of this series and can't wait to see the extreme situations Song will find herself in, in the next issue. I give this issue a 7/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Happy #1

Sep 27, 2012

So, did Happy meet its high expectations? In a word: yes. It definitely has me intrigued and furrowing my brows, wondering where this story goes. And I just can't help loving the bizarre addition of a blue unicorn. I give this issue an 8.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jennifer Blood #15

Aug 24, 2012

In typical Dynamite Entertainment fashion, the art is sharp and lifelike. It really adds to the experience of this comic, matching the dark, grittiness along the way. Artist Kewber Baal does a great job depicting dream sequences, raw human emotion and incredibly raunchy gore all in one issue. I've enjoyed this series so far and look forward to much more. I give this issue of Jennifer Blood an 8.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Jennifer Blood #16

Sep 10, 2012

Issue 16 of Jennifer Blood was truly entertaining. The art, plot and character representation in this issue were remarkable and the issue is over before you know it. I give this issue a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jennifer Blood #17

Sep 18, 2012

I'm still amazed at the turnaround in this series. Jennifer's change of character is so captivating and I can't wait to see her ultimate fate. I give this issue an 8.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jennifer Blood: First Blood #1

Sep 17, 2012

As a fan of the series, I'm highly interested in the development of Jennifer Blood: First blood. I give this issue a 7.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nowhere Men #1

Dec 10, 2012

All in all, I liked this issue as a start to a series. Characters were introduced well and each storyline held up on its own rather than being overshadowed by another. I'm intrigued but not quite in love. I give this issue a 7/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Boys #65

Apr 6, 2012

The Boys is coming to an end in just a few issues and an insane conclusion is definitely around the corner. The series will make you cringe and your jaw will drop but if you have the stomach for it, it is absolutely worth the read. I give this issue a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Boys #66

Jun 13, 2012

I give this issue a 7.5/10. It was well written and set a good tone for things to come. The writers are clearly building up to more next issue and I look forward to reading it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Boys #67

Jun 13, 2012

Issue #67 of The Boys is another great installment of this series. Focusing on character and plot development has driven this story arc in a great direction. I give this issue an 8.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Boys #68

Jul 12, 2012

I really liked this issue. It had a great mix of action and plot development. With an ending so shocking, it's hard not to reread this issue over and over again. I give it a 9.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Boys #69

Aug 2, 2012

I simply cannot exude how much I have enjoyed this series over the years. The characters are complex, the storylines are outrageous, and the art has been both breath taking and repulsive all at the same time. This series has delivered time and time again. The last two issues are definitely not to be missed. I give this issue a 10/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Boys #70

Sep 5, 2012

I've thoroughly enjoyed this series over the years. As the end approaches, I am eagerly anticipating the bittersweet end. Although this issue didn't deliver the impact with regards to plot as the last few, I still enjoyed this issue as a fine recollection of Butcher and Hughie's friendship. I give this issue an 8/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Boys #71

Oct 3, 2012

Next issue is sadly, our last addition to this series. I can't get over how attached I got to all the characters. Instantaneously, this series grabs your attention and you lose yourself in this outrageous world. It's been exciting, intriguing, hilarious, and downright revolting but all in all, I've truly enjoyed this series. I give this issue a 10/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Boys #72

Nov 11, 2012

With every loose end tied up, I can't help but simply be speechless. For this comic series to be so extreme at some points, a nice, simple ending is all a reader could ask for. In the end, the simplicity of this issue really won me over. I will miss this series but of course, all good things must come to an end. I give it a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Goon #38

Apr 18, 2012

Typically, The Goon consists of story arcs where Goon must defeat some paranormal threat from destroying his town and favourite bar. This issue threw a curve ball into the Goon formula. Rather than focus on some supernatural entity, this issue grabs at your heart strings as it recounts the life of Aunt Kizzie. Showing the ups and downs of her life, the reader gets a chance to learn about how strong a woman can be and the sacrifices one makes when they become a caregiver. The reader even forgets the lack of Goon in the issue until his heartbreaking appearance at the end. This issue gets a 9.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Goon #40

Jul 31, 2012

Next month has Fables Mark Buckingham taking on the Goon. A fresh set of hands to help with the art might produce an incredible new story. But with regards to issue #40, I give it a 7/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Goon #41

Aug 31, 2012

This issue feels like a great revival to the series. Although the last few issues weren't terrible, I just wanted more in terms of storytelling and plot development. Issue #41 is a promising start to a new, exciting story arc. I give this issue a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Walking Dead #96

Apr 20, 2012

I felt that this issue was alright. It didn't wow me or leave me speechless like most issues in the past. In the editor letters, Kirkman hints at a violent upcoming story arc. There are also released teaser images possibly hinting at the introduction of Daryl, the beloved lone wolf character from the TV show in upcoming issues (google "Something to Fear"!). Although this story arc wasn't as action packed as the previous ones, the next arc is sure to shock readers as the series reaches 100th issue. I give this issue a 6.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #97

May 10, 2012

I'm eagerly anticipating a bloody battle with Negan's group because as The Walking Dead has demonstrated in the past, no character is safe. Some exciting stuff is just around the corner! I give this issue an 8/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #98

Jun 5, 2012

Issue #98 has left many questions up in the air. How will Negan react to this attack? Will TV series favourite Daryl (ever) make an appearance? In addition, I'm excited to see if Kirkman will be bold enough to kill off Maggie, Glenn, or maybe even Rick or Carl. If issue #98 was this exhilarating to bring my interest back into this series, then issues 99 and 100 are sure to blow my mind. I give this issue an 8.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #99

Jun 22, 2012

By now we know issue #100 is going to be impressive. I'm already bracing myself for tears and disbelief. And we already know Negan's group is planning an attack. It'll be fascinating to see how Andrea acts as the sole protector of the community. You know next issue will be good. I give this issue a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Walking Dead #100

Jul 16, 2012

I'm thoroughly excited to see where this story arc goes. For many fans, I'm sure the Governor story line was the highlight of the series. Having a new overwhelming, emotionless bad guy is definitely a way to keep me thoroughly invested. Because Negan's wrath has already been established, this feeling of hopelessness and desperation completely permeated the second half of this issue. I have no clue how the rest of this story arc will play out. Robert Kirkman still knows how to keep readers invested, even after all these years. I give this issue a 9.5/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #101

Aug 23, 2012

I like how this series is starting to pick up again. With different characters given the spotlight to shine and new plot twists, the Walking Dead is once again becoming interesting. I give this issue a 9/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Walking Dead #102

Sep 23, 2012

With so many issues under its belt, a comic series can often feel tiresome. However, because of the great character progress and plot twists that can be devastating to some fans, The Walking Dead manages to stay highly entertaining. I give this issue of The Walking Dead an 8.5/10

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #104

Nov 18, 2012

The Walking Dead has shifted its attention from zombie threats to human threats. Negan has already proven himself to be quite the match for Rick. With Carl and Jesus both driving the story with difficult adversities to overcome, this issue has really amazed me.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

May

More