Mike Annerino's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 12
7.0Avg. Review Rating

4
Action Man #1

Jun 22, 2016

Its a shame because I was having a lot of fun with this book at first, but it just kind of falls apart towards the end. The characters are generic, the dialogue is bad and the whole second half is completely dull. That isnt to say that there arent good qualities here, such as the great artwork and coloring, the great action pieces, and a tone that creates a world that I would love to dive into with better characters. The deciding factor really comes down to the important question: do I want to read the next issue? No, I dont. I just dont give enough of a shit about these characters or their story for me to go out of my way to read on. Its fun for what it is, but I dont look forward to a whole run of this. Its a good read on a train ride or something, but other than that you can pass on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Aliens: Defiance #2

May 23, 2016

As I said before, the geek in me was very pleased with this. As not only an Alien geek, but a fan of compelling storytelling, this is exactly what I want from a story like this. It moves at a great pace, creating an uneasy atmosphere in a very hostile setting, with interesting characters and a story that fits right into the Alien universe That Ridley Scott and H.R. Geiger created with the first film. Even if you find the look of the book annoying, Id say that its still worth checking out for the brilliant writing alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Archangel #1

May 19, 2016

Overall, I really dug this issue of Archangel and look forward to the upcoming issues. Sure there are some minor technical problems, but the story is gripping, the mystery is compelling, and the atmosphere is very effectively familiar, yet still fresh and exciting. Will the rest of the series follow through with the potential set up here? Only time will tell, but this issue itself sets up a scope and a story that I cant wait to dive back into. You should definitely check it out as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

If you found DC Universe: Rebirth to be a little too jam-packed and dense, fear not because the story here is very simple and contained. I know Im geeking out quite a bit here, and I could be a bit biased since Ive been a Batman geek since the first grade, but as a Batman geek who hasnt read a Batman book in years, this is exactly the type of story that Id want to suck me back in. And it's safe to say that Batman: Rebirth #1 has done just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bill & Ted Go to Hell #4

May 24, 2016

This doesn't feel like the product of brand recognition. This feels more like someone wanted to tell a Bill and Ted story and put all of their heart and soul into it. Even if you're not familiar with the source material, this whole mini-series is a very quick read, great for passing the time in an entertaining way, so Id definitely recommend it. It may not be something as methodical or deep as V for Vendetta, but I smiled the whole way through and it left me with a warm, satisfied feeling afterwards.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Chum #2

May 31, 2016

Is this a book that you should instantly rush out and get? No, not really. But for what it is, I think its entertaining enough. Its great toilet material, which may sound like an insult, but its not meant to be. When youre killing some time and need a quick read, this is something that fits the bill just fine. This is the equivalent of saying that you should catch a movie on Netflix or Red Box.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fear & Loathing In Las Vegas #1

May 24, 2016

Although this inaugural issue runs a tad bit too long, its still a total blast to read. As a fan of the source material, its a perfect adaptation. It keeps the look and feel of Thompsons book and Gilliams movie while looking at it through a comic book lens. Even if youve never seen the movie or read the book, this will be a wild ride for you. You definitely should be checking this out and I know that I cant wait for the next issue. In fact, I wouldnt be surprised if I pick up the whole graphic novel when its released down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Godzilla: Oblivion #3

May 31, 2016

What disappoints me so much is that early on in this series, I saw potential, and I keep seeing potential pop up here and there but the writing keeps shifting towards the old school movies instead of doing something new. If youre someone like me whos looking for something new, this will be a disappointment to you. That being said, if youre an old school Godzilla fan that just wants to see Godzilla fight King Ghidora again, maybe youll dig this more than I did. If nothing else, this issue is a quick read. Its basically all action panels, so youll flip right through that, but is it worth that $3.99 price tag? For me personally, no. But for those old school Godzilla fans, maybe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
James Bond #7

Jun 21, 2016

For a book that I love so much, Im going to be very brief with this review. My reason for that is that this is a book full of surprises. I was constantly surprised by not only the clever writing, but also by the books ability to truly create a new Bond, while still keeping that classic Bond feeling. Its the best of both worlds, channeling something old to do something new. Whats great about this particular issue is that you dont have to read issues #1-6 to know whats going on, this starts a new story of its own. Its a story that I loved reading, cant wait to read again and cant wait to dive deeper into with the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lucas Stand #1

Jun 22, 2016

I had to write a very similar review recently, where its a book that I want to gush about but Im also trying to be as vague as possible. I usually really like to go into big detail when reviewing something, but this is one of those cases where Ive told you everything you need to know before jumping in. The writing is sharp, the story is compelling with the perfect amount of edge and the character is one of the better comic anti-heroes to come along in quite some time. This is a book that unravels in the perfect way I love a story to, with reveal after reveal being even more intriguing than the last. This may not exactly be the best book out there right now, but Id say that you should go out of your way to check this one out. This was a total blast to read and I cant wait for what surprises are in store for next months issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Predator: Life and Death #4

May 31, 2016

The issues leading up to this have been okay, but this is the first issue in this arc that has been flat-out bad, which isnt something you want from your finale. Theres a long history of Predator comic books to delve into for interesting, rich storytelling if thats what youre looking for. As for Life and Death, skip it. You arent missing anything except disappointment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #1

Aug 10, 2016

At the end of the day, this is a good starting point. The dialogue and story moves along well enough and the art is top notch. It creates a world that I want to get invested in, so Im willing to wait it out for a few more issues to see where it goes. The character designs of Black Mask and the lack of overall edge hurt it, but certainly not enough to turn me off the book completely. DC is putting out a lot of better books right now, but even for the art alone Id say that this one is worth a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

4th

February

January

More