Nick Liu's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 14
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
All-Star Batman #4

Nov 9, 2016

In the penultimate issue of “My Own Worst Enemy”, Batman smashes, blasts, and rock-and-rolls his away to a short-lived victory in one of the most bombastic, kinetic comic book action scenes in recent memory. Bringing the series’ high-octane energy together with incredible art, continuing character development and a gut-wrenching cliffhanger, All Star Batman continues to be one of the best books in DC’s current lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batgirl (2016) #5

Nov 23, 2016

Batgirl #5 is the conclusion to the first arc of Hope Larson’s run on the title. Larson’s Batgirl is well-written and placed in situations that highlight her best attributes, but the weak plot, boring side characters, and underdeveloped villains make the story hard to emotionally resonate with. Does anyone really care what happens to Kai? Will people remember Teacher and her Students a year down the line? The result is a mediocre conclusion to a mediocre title that leaves me wondering if it was worth the investment by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #4

Nov 10, 2016

In my opinion, Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #4 isn’t the most compelling comic in DC’s current lineup. Ultimately, it comes down to having a shaky, convoluted plot plus what might be the least interesting group of villains in all of Rebirth (although the other Batgirl series might take the cake for that one). We do get some stellar background art, but Antonio’s character art ranges from decent to distracting, which is kind of a shame considering the legacy of these characters. If you’re a fan of Batgirl, Huntress, or Black Canary, then I’d say go and pick this one up, since the team dynamic and character writing is really quite good, but otherwise there are definitely better choices out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

Batman #11 offers a thoughtful, fast-paced plot that is intriguing enough to captivate and please, even though it might feature some awkward characterization and poorly executed dialogue. On the art front, Mikel Janin continues to showcase some of the best work he has ever done, and that’s high praise considering his exceptional run on Grayson. I continue to look forward to seeing where this arc is headed. Surely nothing is as it seems? If you’re looking for a cerebral plot that you can really dig into and muse over for the next couple weeks, you could do much worse than Batman #11.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #12

Dec 8, 2016

Batman #12 is a triumphant display of Tom King’s incredible ability to dissect a character to its core and give us a yarn that can resonate both emotionally and intellectually. On display also is Mikel Janin’s immaculate artwork, which brings us Batman’s journey into the heart of Santa Prisca in an incredibly colorful and detailed manner. For fans of Batman stories that are just as mentally engaging as they are entertaining, Batman #12 is required reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) Annual #1

Dec 1, 2016

Batman Annual #1 shows us that Christmas is a special time even in Gotham City, and this holds especially true for fans of the Bat. Annual #1 brings together an ensemble cast of some of the best Batman creators spanning multiple generations of the character to bring us a series of touching, fun-filled, holiday-themed stories that shows us that perhaps even the Batman has a little holiday cheer in his stone-cold heart. If you’re looking for touching character moments, beautiful art and a series of Batman stories that doesn’t try to take itself too seriously, make sure to pick up a copy of Batman Annual #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catwoman: Election Night #1

Nov 2, 2016

All-in-all, Catwoman: Election Night isn’t exactly a bad comic, but what that means depends on what you’re looking for. Are you looking for an excellent Catwoman story? Finch’s Catwoman never really feels like the cunning, sultry Selina Kyle that fans love. Couple the poor character development with a plot heavy on exposition and light on action, and you have the formula for an unfortunately mediocre story. Are you looking for some hard-hitting, raucously funny liberal satire? Then the Penguin’s political depiction in this issue is so apropos that it’s sure to turn heads and get some laughs. And if you’re here for Mark Russell’s Prez sendoff, then you’re in for a big (yuuge!) treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #944

Nov 9, 2016

All-in-all, Detective Comics #944 features a fast-paced nail-biter of a plot, unforgettable new villains, and the best team lineup in a Batman book ever. This issue is another example of why this series has proven itself to be one of the best books in DC’s lineup week after week. If you’re looking for top notch action scenes, touching character moments and the amazing, incredible, ongoing creative development of Batman’s greatest sidekicks, look no further, Detective Comics is here!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #945

Nov 23, 2016

Detective Comics #945 takes a quick breather from the breakneck pace of the last issue to let us revisit and reground ourselves with the Batfamily. Every character gets their chance to show us how the repeated tragedies and events over the past couple months have taken their toll on them. All of this adds up to a powerful, emotionally resonant issue that once again places Detective Comics within the ranks of DC’s best current books. Fans of Batman, Batwoman, Azrael and the rest of the extended Batfamily should not miss out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 12, 2017

As a fan of the Batfamily and great character work, do not miss this issue. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #7

Nov 2, 2016

Harley Quinn has consistently proven to be one of the most outrageous, funniest, and colorful comics in DC’s current lineup. Just like her crazy blue and pink hair and her never-say-never attitude, Harley #7 shows us just how vibrant and fun a crazy clown girl can be when she’s backed up by a cast of lovable outcasts, lookalikes, and egg-shaped sidekicks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #1

Nov 9, 2016

Mother Panic #1 is a bold attempt to take bits and pieces of the weirder, sleeker, more experimental Young Animal imprint and splice them into DC’s venerable Batman DNA to produce a piece of art that is as strange and magnificent as it is erudite. Violet Paige, our main protagonist, might come off as harsh and standoffish, but I’m curious to learn what exactly is driving her to take on her crusade. Add to that this issue’s beautiful, thought-provoking artwork, and Mother Panic is looking to be one of the most solid and interesting introductions to a new character we’ve seen this year. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #9

Nov 16, 2016

Nightwing #9 continues to showcase Tim Seeley’s incredible understanding of Dick Grayson, what makes him special to the other characters in the DCU, and what makes him special to us, the reader. Even more impressive is Seeley’s characterization of Superman, and his ability to bring hope to the people around him. This issue is filled with touching moments, funny moments, awesome action scenes, and of the coolest splash pages this year. For those of you who are interested in the greater DC Rebirth storyline, this issue also includes a few more clues that might calm your appetite. And finally, for all the Chuck Dixon fans out there, this issue also sets up Dick’s trip down to Bludhaven!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #4

Nov 10, 2016

Red Hood and the Outlaws #4 continues the series’ trend of delivering a story filled with great character interaction, great character building and beautiful art. The greatest accomplishment of this book month after month is how Jason is written as a character that anyone can emotionally resonate with. If you’re looking for a feel-good story with some cool action sequences too, make sure to check out this book!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More