phil's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 14
7.6Avg. Review Rating

8
27 #1

Dec 2, 2010

Over all I really enjoyed this comic. As I mentioned above mysteries with a supernatural twist are me all over and add in great art you get an outstanding first issue and leaves me waiting for more. My opinion Pick this up and give it read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
27 #2

Jan 18, 2011

As I mentioned above Charles Soule has done a good job of answering enough questions without giving too much away, just enough to keep me interested and looking forward to the next issue. If you missed the first issue then this is not the one to jump in on, what I would recommend is going back and picking it up and while you are doing that you should pick up issue two right along with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
27 #3

Feb 17, 2011

If you haven't read any of the issues then there is not much point jumping in now, but if you do get an opportunity to pick up the first two issues along with this one then I say go for it. With only one issue left (I think) I can't wait for issue 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
27 #4

Apr 19, 2011

I really enjoyed this series as it was on going (the previous issues scored 8, 8 and 9 respectably) so maybe when it came to this one I was expecting a bit too much and maybe for the same reasons I'm going a little too hard on it. Still I couldn't help but feel disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
27: Second Set #1

Sep 13, 2011

Overall this issue doesnt feel as new and exciting as the beginning of the first series but it does seem to want to bring it into new directions. Im interested to see where it will bring me and if you are a fan of the first series I recommend hopping into this one too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #638

Jul 27, 2010

The last 3 years have produced the most consistently good issues of Spider-man in decades wiping away and bad taste left over from the event that was necessary to create them. With an ark like this that addresses it directly I couldn't help but have some negative feelings left from before and I think that this leaves One Moment In Time facing an uphill battle. All that said I really enjoyed this issue, though I would have been happy for them to ignore OMD and just continue with great stories it probably needed to be addressed eventually. Filling out a full 42 pages I can't help recommend picking up this issue and giving it a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers (2010) #3

Aug 3, 2010

The first issue had established multiple villains and a destination for the new team to explore, now at the end of issue 3 we seem no closer to it. At the rate this is going I would not be very surprised if this is still the case at the end of issue 4. Also the banter which I enjoyed so much in New Avengers again feels forced and out of place which I found to be a huge disappointment. As a whole this issue works better then issue 2 but I can't help the feeling that it is still just spinning its wheels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Carbon Grey #1

Mar 9, 2011

After all that I do still think that this is a comic that I would recommend. I didn't quite understand it but I have to admit that I enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to the second issue, all the time hoping that it will open the world out a bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Lantern Corps (2006) #50

Aug 3, 2010

I think what brings this issue down the most is probably my expectations, after Green lantern #50 six months ago I was expecting Green Lantern Corp to do something similar adding to the mythos of the GL history and the like. What we got was a perfectly fine middle issue of an arc already in progress and if you have been following it so far this is pretty enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hellboy: The Bride of Hell #1

Oct 20, 2011

As I mentioned before, I love this comic and I love this volume. While it would be nice to see how the main story is progressing, I think the series works best when it tells the fantastically weird, silly, haunting, touching and funny stories like the stories presented in this volume. One complaint I do have is that Im really not a fan of Richard Corben's art and there is quite a bit of it here. Apart from that I really cant recommend this book enough, and if you havent already, I highly recommend picking up the other ten volumes too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lady Mechanika #1

Dec 23, 2010

Check out the preview http://comicbuzz.com/lady-mechanika-1-preview

View Issue       View Full Review
9
New Avengers (2010) #2

Aug 3, 2010

This is an issue that does exactly what it needs to do, it drives the story forward while giving you an action packed good time. If you didn't read the first issue I think it would be a good time to pick both it and issue 2 up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ultimate Comics Mystery #1

Aug 3, 2010

If you have been following the goings on in both Ult. Spidey and Ult. Enemy there is much to like here though, at this point the story could really go anywhere and the potential exists for this to be something really good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #526

Oct 26, 2010

Uncanny #526 does a good job of showing the multiple story lines and where they are going leaving much to get excited about while certain issues with art bring it down a peg.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

7th

November

More